Skip to content

53 days to go – The city continues to transform!

December 20, 2009

I had a lovely walk through Yaletown today, partly just to walk past the LiveCity Yaletown site.  I went by earlier this week but didn’t have a camera with me.  It’s amazing to see the differences that are happening at David Lam Park!

The new 'floor' of the LiveCity Yaletown site, to keep everyone's feet dry! And they're starting to build tents!

I had hoped to do a bunch more walking, past some of the FlagWalk and over to the Molson Canadian Hockey House at Concord Place, but I’m afraid that chores and the rain kept it brief today.  I think I’ll make it my mission for my next day off which is on Tuesday.  I’ve heard the weather will be good that day so it should be the perfect opportunity to check out some more of the transformations happening in the city!

I think I will finish up my Tuesday walk-about by heading to Canada Place to watch their Sail Light Show.  It looks truly amazing.  Just click on the photo below to visit their site.  There is a video you can watch if you won’t be able to make it while the show is on.  The show is viewable from areas west of Canada Place including Stanley Park, West Vancouver and North Vancouver and it runs from 6 – 8am and 5 – 11pm nightly until December 31st.  If you like the show they ask that you donate $5 to the Strathcona Community Centre Food Security for Children program (see their website for details).  If you do donate you will be entered to win a trip for two to Jamaica!

*     *     *     *     *

I’ve got an early start to the day tomorrow, but that’s okay ’cause it means I’ll be done early too and have time to track down something new, exciting and Olympic to write about tomorrow night!  Until then… Happy Holidays Joyeux Noël!

Oh… and one last thing… how cool would it be to have an ice cream named for you??  An American snowboarder just had a Ben & Jerry’s ice cream named for her.  Nifty!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam Mason permalink
    December 21, 2009 5:25 pm

    Merry Christmas

    Just received my pins – your 2010 vanfan pin is great – as is the card!
    Thank you.
    Have a great Christmas and rest up for your very busy months ahead.
    Pam

Trackbacks

  1. London 20Twelve Olympics
  2. 51 days to go – My Olympic walkabout, what a great day! « 2010VanFan
  3. 45 days to go – Quick Christmas visit to Kamloops « 2010VanFan
  4. 5 days 10 hours to go – Walkabout and “I should know better” « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

