Skip to content

55 days to go – Red Mitten Mayhem!

December 19, 2009

I’m not sure how it happens, but when we get a shipment of Red Mittens at the Olympic Superstore, word gets out pretty fast.  People then start milling about waiting for them.  And stopping staff members asking about them.  And the asking is a bit tricky, because sometimes the customer seems to know more about the shipment than we do, and I’m back to ‘I don’t know how this happens’.  But it is a very interesting phenomenon.

Anyhow, we did get about 1000-1500 pairs of L-XL Red Mittens in, said milling and enquiring ensued, they hit the floor just before 7pm to a medium-sized crowd of Mitten hopefuls and were all sold out before 9pm.  It was, as the title suggests, mayhem!

Red Mittens in the Olympic Superstore - for less than two hours. Click the photo for a little video clip!

So we are hoping to get more Red Mittens in before Christmas, but unfortunately I don’t know what sizes or what days.  The best I can do is Tweet when I hear.  If you’re not on Twitter you can just update this page regularly and check the Twitter feed on the right hand side.  I would say you will have about two hours from the time the Mittens arrive on the floor to when we’ll be sold out, unless we get a very large order in (please, please, fingers and toes crossed!).  Do check Bay and Zellers stores though, because we all should be getting Mittens in!  Good luck, bonne chance, in your Mitten hunt!

*     *     *     *     *

Somehow, I kept forgetting to look up the photo that RBC took of Amy and I with an Olympic Torch while we were in Montreal, but I did last night, and the photo is sorta cute.  It was pretty cool to hold a Torch, though I’m looking forward to getting to hold Vicki, Robyn and Patti’s Torches more, since they’ll have actually been carried by three wonderful Torchbearers!  So exciting!

*     *     *     *     *

I would have written more when I got home from work, but the power was out for repairs in the building, and now I have to get ready to go to work, so it is a short one for 55 days to go.  I do have Sunday the 20th off of work though, so I am planning on having a lot more to say then!  Oh! and don’t forget to post a holiday greeting!  Today is the last day to enter your friends and family to win a Mascot Christmas pin right here on 2010vanfan!

Happy holidays, happy Olympics!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam Mason permalink
    December 19, 2009 8:18 am

    Kay Mason wishes everyone a Merry Christmas and terrific 2010. Great blog.

  2. Pam Mason permalink
    December 19, 2009 8:19 am

    Beth Glover wishes a happy, healthy and peaceful New Year and looks forward to a great 2010.

  3. December 19, 2009 8:54 am

    RBC did the same thing to your photo that they did to mine, when they put the border on they chopped of the top of the torch.

    Hey you won a pin on my blog…send me your info and I will mail it out, i don’t think I’m going to get to the Superstore before Christmas.

  4. Rowena permalink
    December 19, 2009 12:32 pm

    I was at the Mississauga Torch Celebration today…had I known RBC was doing photos with the torch I would have totally done it! *sigh*

  5. December 19, 2009 12:36 pm

    Hi Andrea, its me again! Just wanted to let people know I have seen the Red Mittens for sale at the HBC booth at the Torch Relay Celebrations. If the Torch is coming to a city near you, you can check that out as a possible place to purchase them. I’m so glad I have mine!
    Just a reminder, I’m still looking for photos of Olympic Spirit from around the country. If anyone sees something, email me the picture please.
    Happy Holidays to all! 2010 is going to be FANTASTIC!
    Take care,
    Christina

    • Patti permalink
      December 19, 2009 3:02 pm

      Hi Christina,
      I’ve read some of your blog after seeing the link through Andrea’s. I just love your enthusiasm and all you’ve done to get here for the Olympics. I’d be doing the same if I didn’t live here.

      To show my Canadian Olympic Spirit, I plan to decorate my yard in Red and White after I take down all the outdoor Christmas decorations. I’m using red and clear lights, I have the Canadian flag as flags, kites and wind socks and I’m making a GO CANADA sign complete with Maple Leafs. I will send photos to both you and Andrea once it’s all done.

      Happy Holidays to you,
      Patti

      • December 19, 2009 6:31 pm

        Patti
        That sounds wonderful! You have to send me an image for sure. That is a great example of Olympic Spirit. I think we’ll see more as the Olympics gets closer.
        Sounds like you are a Torchbearer! You are so lucky! Are you on Twitter? How can I keep up with what is going on with you?
        Spoke to a Coca Cola guy today at one of the Relays and he told me he saw a huge replica of the Torch yesterday that someone built. I going to try to find an image of it.
        Thank you so much for reading my blog. It means so much to me.
        Christina.

      • Patti permalink
        December 20, 2009 1:05 am

        Christina,
        My sister told me after I sent the first reply that she’s seen a large lighted display of the Olympic rings in someone’s yard. I will be near where they are on Christmas day and I will try to take a photo. I’d love to see a picture of the huge replica Torch if you find one.

        I am on Twitter but I rarely ever go there or tweet. Maybe I will closer to February 12 but I think if Andrea doesn’t mind, I’ll just comment here.

        I look forward to your next blog. Patti

  6. Patti permalink
    December 19, 2009 2:46 pm

    Andrea, you can definitely hold my Torch after I’ve run with it on February 12. Hopefully if your schedule allows, you’ll be able to be there when I’m running. I’ll let you know when I find out the exact time and location – which should be soon and I’m so excited.

  7. Vivian L permalink
    December 19, 2009 10:52 pm

    I am wishing Sandy W and Katie W a Merry Christmas and a great 2010.

Trackbacks

  1. 54 days to go – Christmas pin winners and MCHH update! « 2010VanFan
  2. 52 days to go – Pin trading and Red Mittens « 2010VanFan
  3. Olympics Day 6 – A beautiful day in Vancouver + the place for pin trading « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

