Skip to content

56 days to go – Ovechkin in the Olympic Superstore!

December 18, 2009

It was a mad-house!  I wasn’t working for Alexander Ovechkin’s visit to the Olympic Superstore but I stopped by with my camera so that I could post up a few pictures here.  I’m really glad I did – less to see Ovechkin though than the crowds that were there to see him!  The store was packed!

The area around the stage where Ovechkin was signing autographs. We even cleared out some racks and shelves and it was still packed!

The line started at the back of the store near the Concierge desk, wrapped around to the Georgia Street exits and then back past the cash registers! Mad!

I did take a little video of when Ovechkin came out onto the stage where he’d be signing autographs.  The crowd was pretty excited.  I left shortly after he came out, and didn’t get a good photo of him myself (forgot to check the batteries in my camera with good zoom, oops).  But if you want to see more photos of his visit check out this photo gallery on the Vancouver Sun website.

*     *     *     *     *

Quite a few people were heading out to see the Torch Relay go through Toronto yesterday but I haven’t heard any stories yet, nor seen any photos!  Christina?  Hardeep?  How did it go??  I hope you all had a blast!!  Let us know! 😀

*     *     *     *     *

It’s going to be a crazy long week until Christmas so I’m going to keep it short.  The next post probably will be too as I only have 10 hours between Olympic Superstore shifts and will need at least a little sleep 🙂  Hope you have a very Olympic day!

PS – I have been requested by quite a few people to Tweet when we get Red Mittens into the Olympic Superstore, and I will be doing that.  So if you’re anywhere near downtown Vancouver and would like to be included in my update, just follow me on Twitter @2010vanfan!

*     *     *     *     *

Oh, and I nearly forgot!  Don’t forget to post a holiday message to your friends and family to enter them to win a Mascot Christmas pin!  I’ll be doing the draw from the entries (and the 2010vanfan Facebook group) on Saturday night!  Here are the details!

(I’m not very good at keeping things short am I? 😀 )

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 10:09 pm

    Well it was a good thing that all the fans and HBC kept Ovie busy last night, because he disappeared on the ice tonight at GM Place. Just finished watching the game and the Canucks played amazing. A lot of hype around Ovechkin, but Kesler, Luongo & Co. would have none of it.

    Love your blog, just followed you on twitter, and catching up on reading your last few posts. I’m one of the many around the country that can’t wait for the Olympics, so I look forward to reading and connecting. I attended the last two winter olympics in Salt Lake (university road trip) and Torino (honeymoon) so four years later i still can’t believe its coming to my home town!

    My 2 yr old daughter and i take the train downtown from Kits as an afterwork activity before dinner now and then, and often stop in the HBC SuperStore. She LOVES the giant Miga and Miga “silo” display. Really she loves ANYTHING Miga, so it would be great to surprise her with a Christmas Pin. Merry Christmas Prairie !

    Keep up the great work.

  2. December 19, 2009 10:17 am

    Hey there Andrea,

    I posted a few pictures from the torch celebration… unfortunately there are no pictures from the relay because the torch was diverted past where I was waiting due to protests!!!

    However getting back to the celebration — The energy was amazing :o) Toronto sure knows how to throw a party.. The fireworks display was beyond amazing!!

    Ohh.. by the way .. Apparently I will be sporting a COLD-FX gear during the Olympics so we will definitely get in some Model pictures (LOL)!!

    Cheers
    Hardeep Gosal

  3. December 19, 2009 6:45 pm

    Hi Andrea
    I included some photos of Toronto Torch Relay on my blog. As Hardeep said, the route was diverted so I didn’t get to see it either. I did continue on to the Torch Celebration and that was a lot of fun.
    I am really enjoying the Torch Relays I have been too since. I never get tired of seeing the flame.
    Christina

Leave a Reply

