Skip to content

57 days to go – Christmas windows at Hudson House Trading

December 17, 2009

It was a lovely day.  A bit rainy, but generally relaxing (as a day off should be 🙂 ).  Mostly I was sorting out paperwork at home, trying to catch up on emails as well as making sure that I have mailed all the pins that people have won here (I’m very sorry I’ve been so slow at getting them out, they should all be in the mail today, or if I haven’t heard from you then you will be hearing from me!).  I also took a bit of time today to head down to Hudson House Trading (with a detour past the Olympic Superstore) as they had phoned to say the have new pins in.

My stop past the Olympic Superstore meant I got to have lunch with Mo, say hello to a lot of people who I hadn’t seen yet this week, and have Krystal join me on my way to Hudson House, which made the trip way more fun!  Plus George found out we were heading down and promised to meet us there.  It became a little expedition!

I know we weren’t expecting it, based on how excited Krystal and I both got, but Hudson House had decorated their windows for Christmas!  Not that we weren’t expecting holiday decorations, but it was the products, colours and creativity that went into the windows that really thrilled us!  We spent ten minutes outside just looking at (and photographing!) the windows before we made it into the store!

The first window we saw - Olympic Green and Canadian Christmas Red!!

Canadian Christmas red & white - with a Mascot 'totem pole'!

Olympic Christmas in blue, green & white - The colours of winter in BC!

Classy Christmas in black, white and gold!

When we finally made it into the store it was also special.  Everyone was there with a happy smile and a welcome!  It’s always such a nice place to visit!  Suraj had set aside a ’30 days to go’ Mascot pin for me which was very sweet considering there were none left in store!  And as we were talking Patti appeared!  Patti is a reader here at 2010vanfan, but more too!  She sends me photos for future use, and information on significant buildings or events, and keeps me up-to-date on news, particularly when I’m falling behind :D.  So it was just a lovely visit!  All sorts of new pins to peruse.  All sorts of friends to share and smile with (George did make it while we were still there).  And generally just a wonderful feeling of happiness and excitement.  That’s pretty hard to beat!  If you haven’t made it to Hudson House Trading yet, I’m pretty sure you will soon!

*     *     *     *     *

Speaking of pins… and Krystal… (who has way more pin discipline than me, she collects Mascot pins and will not allow herself to get others, even when they’re great!).  Anyway, back to what I was trying to say :D.  Krystal is an artist.  I hope that she’ll maybe let me post some of her work on ‘Super Muk’ or maybe something with Quatchi and hot chocolate.  Today though I’d like to share a little comic book that she gave me a couple of months ago because the day reminded me of it, and it is really adorable and special.

Thanks Krystal for sharing your wonderful art!

*     *     *     *     *

Just a reminder – Alexander Ovechkin will be at the Olympic Superstore between 5-7pm on Thursday, December 17th!  I believe that there are still some pucks, posters and prints available if you would like to get one signed.  Find out more here!

*     *     *     *     *

And I have a pin contest on!  You could win a Mascot Christmas pin for your friend or family-member by posting a holiday greeting as a comment right here (don’t forget to include their name!).  Or… by joining my Facebook group – 2010vanfan (just search on FB for it).  Want more details?  Click here!

*     *     *     *     *

Alright, I’m off to explore another day!  Happy holidays and Olympics to you all!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 12:05 pm

    What a good blog you have here. I am a massive fan of the festive season and with a little more free time I love to browse the internet. I have bookmarked your site and plan on coming back again soon. In times past we would kill time and expand our knowledge by reading the daily newspapers, nowadays I would encourage everyone to read random blog posts each day and gain a personal insight into unique subjects and fascinating ramblings. Keep up your great blog posts.

  2. Patti permalink
    December 17, 2009 4:22 pm

    Hi Andrea,
    I was so happy to have ended up at Hudson House when you and Krystal were there. I can see why the two of you are friends – you both have so much enthusiasm for all things Olympic and Krystal is the biggest Mascot fan I’ve met. I LOOOOOVE the Mascots but her joy when she’s talking about them is truly contagious. It was fun and the staff at Hudson House is so helpful and friendly. I’m glad you got photos of the fantastic window displays because I was wishing I had brought my camera. I too got a few great new pins with my favourite being the Opening Day pin with Quatchi and Miga marching in front of BC Place. And that I was able to trade you for one of yours just made my day. Thank you.

    P.S. I love the little snowflakes falling from your title.

  3. Bob permalink
    December 18, 2009 12:20 am

    Hudson House Trading windows look great … I will have to take my camera next time I go to buy pins!’

    By the way, I love the falling snow flakes!

  4. Sarah permalink
    October 2, 2010 7:48 pm

    Those windows are so gorgeous!! Great that you photographed them for prosterity. You don’t always get to incorporate mascots into a Christmas theme 😉

Trackbacks

  1. 29 days to go – Vancouver Walkabout Round 2 « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

