Skip to content

58 days to go – I have my volunteer uniform!!

December 16, 2009

And it is so beautiful!  And I’m so proud!  And I really have to thank all of the volunteers at the Accreditation & Uniform Centre for doing such a wonderful job at moving us all through quickly and efficiently.  They have it all laid out in a row.

When I arrived I checked in at the door of the PNE Forum (I was a little concerned at this point as I was not on the list) but the volunteer at the desk took my name and sent me on to the next room, where they checked my ID and their computer and luckily I was there!  At ID check they gave me a slip of paper and sent me on (just follow the red line) to the photography centre.  I had my photo taken (‘just like a passport photo’, really? I always smile, how is someone going to recognize me deadpan??) and then from there onto the printer.  We all lined up behind our designated printers and waited for our accreditation, which of course was promptly laminated and put onto a lanyard.  So cool to have my accreditation in hand (even if the photo is goofy!)!  Then off to uniforms (follow the yellow line this time).

There was a bit of a line for uniforms, conveniently right beside a small Vancouver 2010 merchandise shop (I didn’t buy anything at all!  So proud 🙂 ).  Some of us chatted in line, so that was nice.  Then they checked my accreditation and gave me a sheet of paper and sent me around another corner (grey line this time) and I pretty much immediately went into the fitting room area.  Everyone must try on the uniform pieces to make sure you get a good fit!  Marianne helped me with mine, she was so sweet!  I just barely managed to not cry as I put on the different pieces!

Marianne helped with my uniform fitting at the Accreditation & Uniform Centre. She was great! The space was fascinating!

Marianne marked down my sizes on the paper I had been given and then sent me along to the pickup room.  A volunteer there took my paper (smiled with glee that it was an ‘easy’ order as everything was the same size) and started filling my tote bag with my volunteer pants, two long-sleeve t-shirts, vest, jacket, toque and welcome gift (I was grinning by this point!).  From there I headed to the check out area, where they scan through all of the items to make sure that you have what you’re supposed to have.  The final check is on your way out the door, at the far side of the Forum, a very nice volunteer is sitting there wishing everyone “Bonsoir”.  If you answer en français he asks if you know enough to wear a “Bonjour” button during the Games to identify that you can speak French.  I sadly cannot speak enough French to be comfortable with this, but I will try to improve quickly (I have a lot of people who can help at the Olympic Superstore!).

I didn’t entirely pull the bag of goodies apart until I got home, but as I had a late shift it was pretty late indeed before I had a chance to peruse what they’d given us.  So, besides the uniform pieces we also received a “Team 2010 Pocket Guide” that has answers for most things that volunteers will need to know on the job.  In the goody bag there are all sorts of things!  I admit, I am most excited about the Cold-FX snowboard pin!  But there was also some Cold-FX!  Excel Gum!  A FarCoast travel mug (mmm… coffee!)!  And coupons for Petro-Canada, and the Bay including the Olympic Superstore!!  Very cool!  OK – so yes, I did a bit of self-portraiture last night, with my snazzy new uniform, so here are some photos (not quite as exciting as JawnBC’s video mind you! 😉 ).

Vancouver 2010 Accreditation and Uniform? Check!

OK - I look like a goof in my 'model' pose, but it does show some more of the uniform pieces! 😀

Canada's Next Top Model I'm not - Vancouver 2010's very proud volunteer, yup, that's me!

The long-sleeve shirt and the pants, and my accreditation! Yay!

This one is for H. with @COLDFX2010 and for @AtosJenn! Our lanyards say Atos Origin and since I got a new Cold-FX pin I wanted a new photo with it and my sliding goalie Cold-FX pin!

Hey – I think you can hardly tell that I did cry when I put my very own volunteer uniform on for the first time!  It really is a very special thing!

*     *     *     *     *

OH!  And I had another wonderful surprise yesterday!  Kerstin, from the Vancouver Deutsches Haus dropped of a SFU 2010 Winter Games Community Contributor pin for me!  Sadly I missed her when she came through (come see me another time Kerstin!) but I really appreciate it!  It’s fabulous!

Oh la la! SFU pin! Thanks Kerstin!! 😀

*     *     *     *     *

Have you wished anyone Happy Holidays right here on 2010vanfan yet??  Time is ticking down to win a Christmas pin!  Post a comment with a holiday greeting and your friend or family-member’s name and that person will be entered to win!  (Get them to enter you if you would like to win!).  Find more details here!  I look forward to all sorts of holiday cheer!

*     *     *     *     *

Until 57 days to go…. Happy Holidays and Happy Vancouver 2010!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Coral permalink
    December 16, 2009 8:15 am

    Congrats on the new outfit i want one!!! hahah you look great 🙂 miss you hope to see you soon 🙂

    oh what are you doing for your volunteering

  2. mook permalink
    December 16, 2009 8:16 am

    JEALOUS!

  3. December 16, 2009 8:40 am

    Woo Hoo…

    Thanks for dedicating the pic with the Atos Origin lanyards & COLD-FX pins to me and Jenn!!!

    I am so honoured and touched :o)

    You look so great and happy, happy, happy in your pics!!! The pic with model pose Rocks.

    I do love the volunteer outfit as well~ You can totally wear the indivual pieces pre & post Olympics as well! WAY TO GO VANOC!!

    Cheers,

    Hardeep (H’ from @COLDFX2010)

  4. December 16, 2009 9:48 am

    Hi Andrea!

    You are adorable…I love, love that model pose. I will find you during Games time and we can do that pose: you in your VANOC uniform, and me in my Atos Origin uniform!

    Thanks for the mention and I’ll try find you next time I stop by the Olympic Superstore!

    jenn

    • December 16, 2009 9:56 am

      Love the uniform! Jenn… when are you going to model the Atos Origin uniform? 🙂

  5. December 16, 2009 10:31 am

    Congrats! It looks fantastic! … If I need anything while I’m in Vancouver, I’ll ask you! 😀

  6. nancy lynds permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:08 am

    I CAN JUST PICTURE YOU AND THE EXCITEMENT BEING THERE! GOOD THING YOU ARE NOT COLOR BLIND WITH ALL THE LINES YOU HAD TO FOLLOW! DID YOU SLEEP IN YOUR OUTFIT??? HAHA

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      December 23, 2009 12:29 pm

      Hi Nancy,

      Hee hee… no, I managed to take the uniform off and put it carefully away so that it will be in perfect condition for the Games. It was hard though!

      Happy holidays!!
      Andrea

  7. December 16, 2009 7:11 pm

    I nearly cried when I got mine too. Well, except for the pants….. 😉

    Congratulations!

  8. Bob permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:42 pm

    So exciting! The uniform looks great … and you look so proud to be wearing it! Getting the uniform must have made the Olympics finally really seem “real” (at least that is the way I felt when I got my figure skating practice tickets in my hand!).
    With everyone busy getting ready for Christmas the time is now on fast forward to the Opening Ceremonies (they even have released the Opening Ceremonies pins)!!! After the holidays it will only be 1 1/2 months to go!!! So very exciting!!!
    Merry Christmas to Nini!

  9. Bob permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:48 pm

    CTV reported this evening that 1 million red mittens have now been sold! Amazing! Stores across Canada cannot keep them in stock!

    NBC reported on this red mitten madness … “Now, with just eight weeks until the Olympic flame begins to burn in Vancouver, red mitten madness has taken over the Great White North.”

    http://www.nbcolympics.com/olympicpulse/blogs/blog=northoftheborder/postid=376577.html?_source=rss&cid=&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

  10. Bob permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:53 pm

    I just read another posting … A few days ago the Bay Richmond rolled out 10 unopened boxes at 9:30am when the store opened. Apparently half of them were gone in 10-15 minutes! Some people took as many as 20 pair!

  11. Gail Anderson permalink
    December 17, 2009 4:39 am

    Andrea you look so awesome in your volunteer outfit – it sure brings the blue out in your eyes! I just don’t know how you are going to find the time to volunteer, work and enjoy the Olympics. My husband, sister, nephew and myself are looking forward to meeting you in the Bay Superstore during the Olympics. You make my evening when I read all of the things you have been doing each day! Keep up the great work!!!

  12. December 18, 2009 10:23 pm

    Great looking ‘form !

    I hope i can experience the feeling of trying it on for the first time as well soon… I’ve been offered a volunteer position (webteam?) but haven’t received schedule or further details. The blue uniform looks great on you – and so nice to read about the accreditation / uniform experience at PNE. Great to think of the volunteers working those lines – must be exciting for them to be able to be there for so many people’s first BIG “OFFICIAL” Olympic experience.

    BTW – Spoke to a coworker today that had her husband at the Richmond Center Bay the morning of the ‘big mitten release’ this week. She related that there were over 60 people waiting at the mall entrance before the Bay opened, and they all stormed the store like a Walmart Black Friday sale. Turned out he took the last six pairs (all for family members) and had to face a lot of upset people as he left the still long line ! Forget the H1N1 vaccine, they need a cure for Red Mitten hysteria !

  13. Jo-Anne permalink
    December 19, 2009 7:20 am

    Pretty spiffy looking. Love the uniform and it looks fabulous on you, just your color. We are all so proud of you.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      December 23, 2009 12:27 pm

      Thanks Jo-Anne! It’s always so wonderful to hear from you. I am still working on finding a link or copy of the Montreal CTV news so that I can see the interview too. I’m so envious but pleased that you saw it!

      Happy Holidays sweetie!
      Andrea

  14. Hayley permalink
    December 29, 2009 4:41 pm

    I just happened to stumble upon this as i was re-checking the location for my uniform pickup in 2 hours and LOVE the SFU pin!! WHERE is it from?? And HOW could an SFU student and olympic volunteer get one??

  15. Adam permalink
    January 5, 2010 10:40 pm

    I get to pick mine up tomorrow! I’m psyched!

  16. T.dot permalink
    January 20, 2010 12:31 am

    Great post! I came across this site while looking for some info on the uniform pick-up process (absolutely clueless) and honestly, its been a great help. I’m due to pick-up my uniform tomorrow (late applicant) and I’ve got a better idea of what to expect now thanks to you.

    Oh btw, like Hayley, I’m very interested in getting one of those SFU community contributor pins seeing as I’m a student there as well. It’d be great to be able to represent SFU in some way. Do you have any information on where or how I could obtain one?

  17. January 27, 2010 1:09 pm

    Thanks for the great pics and all the information.
    I was wondering if you could do me a big favour and snap a pic or 3 of the security uniforms… have you happened to see them yet.

    I saw a picture of some guards, and I am concerned.

    It would be so appreciated… I’ll make it a point to give you some pins if your still interested.

    I’ll be in Whistler.
    Thanks!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 28, 2010 4:27 pm

      Hi – Thanks for commenting. I will keep my eyes open (and camera handy) for the security uniforms. I don’t think I’ve seen any of those uniforms yet. Thanks for reading!
      Happy Olympics! – Andrea

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 58 days to go – I have my volunteer uniform!! « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 29 days to go – Vancouver Walkabout Round 2 « 2010VanFan
  3. 23 days 6.5 hours to go – Germany, SFU, Ask Me buttons and more! « 2010VanFan
  4. 14 days 17.5 hours to go – YVR, skiing, and Olympic spirit… « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

