Skip to content

60 days to go – It’s snowing in Vancouver!

December 14, 2009

Yup, we had snow, and it has stuck right down to the edges of the ocean.  I took a little video to try to show you some snow, as well as introduce you to the area right around the Granville Street Bridge.  You can check out the video here!  And you know, snow in Vancouver can only mean great things for our ski hills!  Oh and I found this very cool video of the Olympic Rings being flown into Cypress Mountain, definitely check it out!

Black Tusk on December 9th - sorry, my photos didn't show much snow! This is better!

And, by the title of today’s post, it’s also only 60 days to go until the Opening Ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games!  Wow!  We’re passing countdown markers so fast now it’s starting to make my head spin!  It’s a good thing I like a spinny head huh? 😀

As far as I can tell, the big excitement for today will be the release of the Coca-Cola ’60 days to go’ pin at the Olympic Superstore in the Bay Downtown.  Pin Trading will start at 1pm by the Coca-Cola Happiness Cafe and continue until 3pm.  The release of the new pin is scheduled for 2pm.  I’m not exactly sure what sorts of activities will be going on, but I’m on my day off and think I’ll swing past the store and check it out.  I’ve even been specifically requested to bring some trading pins along so I will probably have some with me (maybe even a few 2010vanfan.ca pins… hmm…).  Maybe I’ll see you there??

*     *     *     *     *

Speaking of pins… don’t forget that there is a new pin contest on!  There are already some wonderful Christmas Greetings going out to people and it would be lovely to hear from you and your friends and family.  The prize that you could win is one of four Mascot Christmas pins!  Click here for the details on how to enter!  (EEK!  I just realized I hadn’t included a finish date… silly me).  Get your entry in before the evening of Saturday,  19th, and I will try to make sure they’re in the mail first thing Monday morning to get to you on time for Christmas (yes, I’m cutting it a bit fine, but I just, just realized how close Christmas is, gah! it snuck up on me!).

*     *     *     *     *

Right, well, this was the first morning post of several over the next two weeks so I’d better get going on my day…  But there are a lot of late nights at the Olympic Superstore coming up to help with your Christmas shopping.  We are getting more stuff in everyday, and hopefully more Red Mittens too.  In the mean time, take a look at this commentary by Shelley Fralic at the Vancouver Sun about the Mittens.  It’s accurate and hilarious!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 10:33 am

    Hey

    Your pin made it on CTV News!

    http://www.ctvbc.ctv.ca/

    See the 5th item down under the video player.

    Craig

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      December 14, 2009 10:49 pm

      Oh gosh!! Thanks Craig!! So exciting! Hopefully everyone will check out the link, and your offer! Is it still good? An extra 50 pins for people that get to you through me?

      Thanks again for my pins! They’re awsome! I’m very protective of them already! 😀

      Cheers,
      Andrea

  2. Louri Ketcheson permalink
    December 14, 2009 5:20 pm

    I am wishing my sister, Sharon Snider, a very Merry Christmas and hope that she is now entered into your ‘Mascot Christmas Pin’ contest. My son and I hope that she enjoys taking Michael’s 5 cousins to the Picton, Ontario Torch Relay Ceremony on December 15! This will certainly be a magical event for these 5 youngsters – a once in a lifetime experience!

    The kids will all be wearing those cool Olympic Red Mittens and mascot torch relay pins as part of the celebration! Your fun attitude and daily blogs have my older sister really hyped up about this 2010 Olympic experience.

  3. Michael Ketcheson permalink
    December 14, 2009 5:22 pm

    Mom, I love you and wish you a Merry Christmas!

  4. Bob permalink
    December 14, 2009 9:12 pm

    Thanks for the video of the Olympic Rings being helicoptered into Cypress!

    The snow was pretty while it lasted (my Christmas lights looked so pretty), but it changed to rain before 9 in the evening.

  5. Sandy W permalink
    December 16, 2009 3:25 pm

    I am wishing Katie W a Merry Christmas.

  6. robyn permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:03 pm

    I want to wish all my co workers and all my customers and anyone else who has touched my heart.Please have a very Olympic Holiday and spend time with family and friends.

    From
    One of the Torchbeares on day 99 of the torch relay on highway 99.

    Robyn a.k.a.” TORCH”

  7. Wendy permalink
    December 18, 2009 10:32 am

    Merry Christmas Jane Y!!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 60 days to go – It’s snowing in Vancouver! « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 59 days to go – Starting to earn my pin-trading stripes! « 2010VanFan
  3. 34 days to go – A shout out to all 2010vanfans! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

