Skip to content

59 days to go – Starting to earn my pin-trading stripes!

December 14, 2009

Well, it may not be evident from the frequency that I talk about pins, but I am essentially terrified of actually trading pins!  I believe this is at least one of the reasons why I’m so happy giving them away as prizes right here (don’t forget to enter the latest pin contest 😉 ).  But, as we had the Coca-Cola ’60 days to go’ pin reveal at the Olympic Superstore today, and as I had  been specifically requested to bring my traders I did.  And I even made some trades!  But as the people I traded with will attest to… I’m not the easiest person to trade!  I’m indecisive (I still don’t really know what I’m collecting) and I’m a bit protective of my 2010vanfan.ca pins (I want to still have some for Games time plus they’re sort of like children to me! and very hard to part with, though why else I got them I can’t even begin to fathom! 🙂 ).  So I’ll beg your forgiveness here, if you’re trying to trade with me.  I’m still learning, and conservative about such things by nature, but I have to say I’m pretty pleased with today’s acquisitions!

The new Coca-Cola '60 days to go' pin design, at the revealing.

From very sweet George I got the remaining two RBC Mascot pins I needed in exchange for a glowing Coca-Cola bottle from the Torch Relay in Montreal.  From Patrick I traded a Visa pin for a super-awesome NBC One-year-to-go pin!  It’s huge and it has the Vancouver skyline plus a SeaBus!  I also traded a Britco trailer pin for a Jackson Triggs pin (okay, so I have a soft spot for wine pins 🙂 one of my few decided lines of interest!).  And I believe I’m set for a future trade with Erin, and am looking forward to seeing her next week!  So, I guess I was pretty successful!  And maybe with some practice I’ll get less nervy, though I’ll still always prefer to give away pins right here!!  (Hint, hint 😀 – sign up for my 2010vanfan facebook group updates or if you don’t facebook send me an email at 2010vanfan@gmail.com and I’ll add you to my email list! My next contest will include my email list followers!).

Pre-reveal - George, one of our fantastic pin-oriented staff in the blue Olympic Superstore jersey!

Everyone watching the reveal in the Happiness Cafe! - big group, including Bob, Kim, Rosemary, Kate, Frank, George, Beth and Chris, and lots of others (did I miss you, please let me know! So many faces!)

My snazzy new NBC pin - photo courtesy of pincollectorssite.com!! Always a great source for pin info!

*     *     *     *     *

OK – I have more info on Alexander Ovechkin’s visit to the Olympic Superstore!  Here’s the advertisement!

I'm not scheduled to work that night... but maybe they'll need some help 😀

*     *     *     *     *

One last head’s up before I’m off to sleep (thank you all for you concern on that front by the way!)… Doolin’s Irish Pub is hiring for the Ireland House during the Games.  Seriously!  How much fun will the Irish House be?!  Plus, it’s one block from the USA House, 3 blocks from Canada House, 3 blocks from the BC Pavilion/Robson Square, and basically really all of the excitement!  You can find more info here!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tom permalink
    December 15, 2009 2:01 am

    Hello. I’ve been really enjoying your blog from London, England. Are you keen to do a bit of pin trading? Send me an email if you are!

  2. Alan Christensen permalink
    December 15, 2009 11:45 am

    That is a pretty sweet Ovechkin deal! That guy is a star and definatley worth the time and money for an autograph.

    Back to pin trading… nothing I hate more than a pin trading bully! They basically want 6 of your good pins for 1 of there good pins! 2 lessons I’ve learned from trading, don’t be afraid to walk away from a trade and don’t have available the pins you don’t want to trade. If you don’t want to trade a pin, then a pin trader may ask to trade for that pin. As a result, the other pin trader won’t want to trade with you anymore since you won’t trade your pins!

    Just food for thought….

  3. Jim H permalink
    December 15, 2009 2:37 pm

    Since you asked, I was there too. I talked to you a couple of times. Blue jacket in your picture. Please get back to me about getting the pin I won.

Trackbacks

  1. 57 days to go – Christmas windows at Hudson House Trading « 2010VanFan
  2. 52 days to go – Pin trading and Red Mittens « 2010VanFan
  3. 51 days to go – My Olympic walkabout, what a great day! « 2010VanFan
  4. 31 days to go – One month to go!! « 2010VanFan
  5. 29 days to go – Vancouver Walkabout Round 2 « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

