Skip to content

61 days to go – 2 months until the Olympic Opening Ceremonies!

December 12, 2009

And 3 months until the Paralympic Opening Ceremonies!

Babysitting for friends tonight - from their hotel I can see the Olympic Countdown clock (blue light to the left of the Hotel Vancouver), the new Omega shop in the Hotel Vancouver, the CTV studios, and nearly the new decorations on the sides of the Royal Bank on Georgia! Quite the view!!

The days keep sliding by!  In no time at all the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games will be here and I really can’t wait!

Tonight has been a bit busy for me… I’ve uploaded some photos of my Torch Relay Trip to Montreal to Picasa if you’re interested in taking a look.  Yes, I did have as much fun as it looked like I was having!  I have also uploaded the videos that I shot to Youtube, so you can let me know if my live reporting skills are improving or not…  I hope they are, though I’ve learned that I make a lot of faces when I talk! 😛

I also managed to draw names for pin winners tonight!!  So (in no particular order 😀 ) the four winners drawn to win an HBC Mascot pin from my blog are: Louri K, Jane Y, Rob S and Jason S!  And the two 2010vanfan Facebook group winners are Peter R and Christina W (who writes a blog called “Journey to Vancouver 2010 – Diary of a fan!)!!  Congrats to all of the winners!!  And thanks so much for sharing your HBC stories and trivia!  Let me know if you can come into the Olympic Superstore to pick up your prize or if you’d like it mailed (I’m a bit behind on my mailings but everyone will be getting their pins!  I promise!! 😀 ).  You can get a hold of me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com!

*      *      *      *      *

With another pin contest done, that means it’s time for a new one!  And since we’re getting awfully close to Christmas, I think it should be one of the Christmas pins!  I don’t have a photo of it handy, but I do have the design drawing, so here is what is up for grabs!

Christmas Pin design - so cute!! The star Miga is placing is a little glittery stone on the actual pin!

Hmm… now, how to win…  I think I have 4 of these available, so it will be 3 for a comment on the blog, and 1 to one of the members of my 2010vanfan Facebook group…  To have the opportunity to win from Facebook, all you have to do is sign up as a member of the group (search 2010vanfan to find it).  You will get daily messages from me on the post topic with a link to the site.

To have the opportunity to win from here you will need your name mentioned in a Christmas or holiday greeting from one of your friends or family members.  So what do you do?  Ask your friend or family member to visit 2010vanfan.ca and to post a comment that includes your name and a Christmas/holiday greeting!  If you’re feeling the holiday spirit, be sure to post up a comment with the names of people who you think would like to win one of these pins!

*     *     *     *     *

I’m still behind on sleep so I think I’ll leave this post as it is.  Christmas hours have started at the Olympic Superstore (we won’t be closing until 9, 10 or 11pm depending on the evening) and as a result I may be posting at some slightly strange times (I suspect some more morning posts will be happening).  Just wanted to let you all know before it gets too crazy!  Tomorrow I will add details about the Coca-Cola 60 days to go pin release planned for Monday, as well as any other events going on.  Goodnight bonsoir!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Pam Mason permalink
    December 13, 2009 9:08 am

    The frosty mornings definitely help put a Christmas spirit in the air. Wishing all 2010vanfans a very Merry Christmas and a Healthy, Happy 2010.
    Love reading your blog, the exciting is growing. Leslye P would love to add a pin to her collection.
    Cheers
    Pam M

  2. Mike D permalink
    December 13, 2009 3:53 pm

    I’ve been hearing nothing but praise about this blog from Nancy H, I’m sure this would take the cake if she be winner of the Christmas Pin!

    Happy holidays and merry christmas to all!

    Mike

  3. Beth permalink
    December 13, 2009 4:09 pm

    Happy Holidays everyone and a Peaceful New Year. Really looking forward to 2010, esp. Feb. Pam M would love to win a pin.
    Merry Christmas
    Beth

  4. Bob permalink
    December 13, 2009 7:23 pm

    Other than the release of the new 60 Days to Go pin, is there anything special celebration happening tomorrow at the Olympic Superstore? If so what and when?

  5. Gail Anderson permalink
    December 13, 2009 9:48 pm

    Well Michael it’s -50 degrees Celcius in Fort McMurray which is something really new to you! Perhaps you’ll be lucky and win this very cool Christmas tree of Quatchi & Miga decorating the tree with it’s beautiful glittering stone star! VANOC has put the ‘Christ’ back into Christmas because the dazzling star on top of tree covered with snow is the only decoration!

    Aunt Gail wishes Michael K lots of dreams of a white christmas with a little warmer weather for Santa and his Reindeer on December 25!

    Wishing everyone who reads this blog a happy, healthy and peaceful holiday season!

  6. Ron Anderson permalink
    December 13, 2009 9:59 pm

    Well I’m hoping that my wife has a little luck in this contest since I must wish her a ‘Merry Christmas and a Safe Journey’ here on your blog. We were to both fly to Ontario to be with out parents (mid 70’s and 80’s but Gail had to change her flight as she was extremely ill with the flu and she still is 7 days later!

    The good news is that Gail will arrive in Ontario on December 25 at 8:00 p.m. She misses the festivities and the big turkey meal but she will be here to share a Christmas eggnog with some of us.

    That left me, her husband, with delivering the red mittens and Torch Relay Pins to Belleville, Ontario. Gail’s sister and myself will take our 5 nieces and nephews (7 to 16) to Picton, Ontario on December 15 to watch the Torch Relay Ceremony. Gail had hoped to be in Ontario so that she could at least catch the December 22 Torch Relay in St. Thomas but unfortunately that also didn’t work out!

    So Ron, Sharon, Jessie, Jake, Matt, Raye & Nathan wish you a very Merry Christmas and look forward to seeing you in late December!

  7. December 14, 2009 9:34 am

    Just love your blog. I know my wife Christine wanted to be a torchbearer but was
    one of the many deserving ones who were not lucky enough to be chosen. Honey,
    I will always carry a torch for you so please have a very Merry Christmas.

  8. December 15, 2009 6:47 pm

    Mr. Manny Gill thanks for making this holiday season one of the best ever just by being by my side!!

    Wishing you the happiest holidays & beyond!

    xoxo,
    H’

  9. Mihnea Cirica permalink
    December 16, 2009 8:15 am

    Happy Holidays and a lot of love to my wife (Alina) and my kids (Robert and Emma). I am sure they would love one pin as a present!

  10. Katie W permalink
    December 17, 2009 9:27 am

    I would like to wish everyone on 2010vanfan a Merry Christmas.
    And of course especially for Sandy W and Vivian L.

  11. December 17, 2009 10:22 am

    Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays to 2010vanfan! 🙂

    My daughter Sarah B would love to win a Christmas Olympic pin!

  12. Denise Petersen permalink
    December 17, 2009 10:32 am

    Merry Christmas to a great friend, Lori Watson! Happy Holidays and All the Best in the New Year!

    ** I know Lori Watson would really like to win an Olympic pin!

  13. Judy Williams permalink
    December 17, 2009 10:38 am

    Merry Christmas to my grandkids Raven & Daemon. I know Raven would love to win an Olympic pin.
    Thanks to Lori Watson for telling me about this blog!

  14. Martin permalink
    December 17, 2009 12:50 pm

    Just happened to stumble upon your blog. I can really feel your excitement through yor entries. I have my uniform and accreditation soon, can’t wait!

    Oh and, Joyeux Noel to all! =)

  15. Sarah Poirier permalink
    December 18, 2009 11:08 am

    Merry Christmas and a happy New Year (filled with resolutions and chocolates and dreams and Olympics!). I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday season, and here’s to wishing for a little snow. And here’s to also wishing for some pins (in this case for Ryan B, who I will hopefully be persuading to also post a comment)! Can’t believe the year is almost over…

  16. Philip permalink
    December 19, 2009 10:31 am

    Sending out Christmas wishes to my pin buddies Jenn S and Will L. I know they are all excited about this time of year and Olympics. All the best!

  17. Gary permalink
    December 19, 2009 10:44 pm

    Happy Holidays to Jane Y.

  18. Sarah permalink
    October 2, 2010 7:06 pm

    Aww, that pin is particularly fetching isn’t it. I want it! *checks ebay*
    Christmas + Mascots = Best.Pin.Ever

Trackbacks

  1. 58 days to go – I have my volunteer uniform!! « 2010VanFan
  2. 57 days to go – Christmas windows at Hudson House Trading « 2010VanFan
  3. 55 days to go – Red Mitten Mayhem! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

