Skip to content

66 days to go – First 2010vanfan.ca pin winners!

December 7, 2009

So exciting!  I’m ready to start sharing my fancy new pins with everyone and am so happy that so many people entered to win!  Congratulations to the first five winners for this pin!  They are: Vivian L, Pam M, Jim H, Seth B, and Keith E!!

Plus… I also had a draw for three pin winners from the members of the 2010vanfan Facebook group page!  The winners are: Peggy Chau, Jenn Rensch and Alyssa Shiel!

Gosh!  Eight pins given away in one day!!  That’s so exciting!  If you’re a winner please email me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com to let me know if you’d like your pin mailed to you or if you’d like to come in to the Olympic Superstore to pick it up from me!   I hope to see at least a few of you 😀

Just a note though – I leave on the morning of December 8th to visit Montreal and watch the Torch Relay go through Canada’s first Olympic city!!  So I won’t be in the Olympic Superstore until Saturday, but I think I’m going to have some awfully exciting posts over the next few days so you’ll want to make sure to stop by and see what’s up!

*     *     *     *     *

I think there are a lot of things that I meant to talk about today but my brain is not really fully connected, and as I’ll have some time in airports and on a plane tomorrow, I think I’ll maybe save a few segments of writing for then.  But I’ll throw out a teaser for at least one of my topics…  I met a lovely German woman named Kerstin today, who works as an organizer for the Deutsches Haus Vancouver and had all sorts of information about both of the German Houses (Vancouver and Whistler) and about the German FanFest which I will tell you more about tomorrow!  Anyhow, it was wonderful to meet another person as excited and happy about Vancouver 2010 as I am.

Hmm… what else for tonight???  Oh!  I suppose I had better start a new pin contest eh?  And I’m pretty sure that a few of you already know what the pin will be, but if you don’t…  I have a few of the new HBC Mascot pins to give away!!  Here’s what they look like!

Such a neat pin! With Sumi, Quatchi, Miga and Mukmuk!!

Alright, like the last contest there will be two ways to enter to win one of these pins!  The first way is right here on my blog!  Here’s how to enter to win one of four pins available from the blog:

1. Comment on this post, or any post between now and the evening of Friday, December 11th (I’ve got a few more pin draws I’d like to do before Christmas so this is a shorter time frame than the last contest!).

2. In your comment include a story or memory about the Hudson’s Bay Company.  The Hudson’s Bay Company has been around for nearly 340 years, making it much older than Canada which is only 142 years old!  The Hudson’s Bay Company helped to build the Canada we live in today.  I am looking for happy stories here, things like having Breakfast with Santa at the Bay, or getting a Bay Signature Point Blanket passed down from your Grandmother.  If you don’t have a Hudson’s Bay Company story or memory of your own, how about let us know some interesting tidbit about the company, such as why the wool blankets are called Point blankets and what the points stand for!

The second way to enter is to be a member of the 2010vanfan Facebook Group (just search for 2010vanfan and then join to be eligible to win).  By joining the group you will get daily notices on what I have posted on!  All members will be entered to win one of two pins!

Sound good?  Of course it does!  So get writing and get joining!

*     *     *     *     *

Oh!  And I was told that we’re having the official launch of the Vancouver 2010 US Olympic Team Apparel in the Bay  Downtown Vancouver on Tuesday, December 8th!  There will be a ribbon cutting at 1pm followed by a fashion show.  The clothing has been designed by Ralph Lauren and draws from the colours and patterns of the American Flag as well as classic Polo styling.  Oddly… we have the clothing in store before it is available in the States!  Neat!

*     *     *     *     *

Alright, bed time so that I can wake up early and pack for my flight!  Montreal here I come!!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    December 8, 2009 12:11 am

    Have a geat time in Montreal, Andrea and hopefully they’ll be in need of an extra Torchbearer. I look forward to reading your posts.

  2. keith77cdn permalink
    December 8, 2009 3:11 am

    thank you andrea for picking me and i will email after this.

  3. Aaron Philipson permalink
    December 8, 2009 7:06 am

    I want to win a Hudson’s Bay pin because I live in the States and we don’t have HB here!!

  4. December 8, 2009 7:38 am

    My first tour at HBC downtown.. remember us? Seeing all the old parts of the building and wooing and awing? I remember! I’ll never forget Kim when she asked if I was “into that” as I examined the dust mites on the old hardwood floor. >:D

  5. Pam Mason permalink
    December 8, 2009 4:36 pm

    Again Andrea – thank you for drawing my name for the vanfan pin!!!
    Memories of the HBC – I remember going shopping with my older sister and eating frosted malts and then taking our pictures in the photo booth. Those pics were fun. 4 for 25 cents.
    Have fun in Montreal
    Cheers
    Pam

  6. Stephanie Ng permalink
    December 8, 2009 9:02 pm

    Hi Andrea, enjoy the torch relay in Montreal…hope the flame will keep you warm!

    My fond memories of the Bay include Cookies by George and months and months of leisurely registering for my wedding. I love shopping!

  7. Ron Anderson permalink
    December 8, 2009 10:16 pm

    When my wife and myself first moved to High Prairie, Alberta in 1975 there was a Hudson’s Bay Store! It was fun because you could even buy some fur pelts in the store. No trading for furs went on of course but it was a wonderful department store that carried many items including those beautiful HBC Point Blankets.

    My wife loved the creamy white rabbitskins that she put on each of wooden cheese barrels. They added a very rustic look to our handbuilt log home! Later we added more skins: a creamy white charolais bull hide on the wall behind our wrought metal spiral staircase; a caribou hide behind our Arctic themed Christmas tree full of polar bears, snow flakes and other arctic aimals; a hereford calf hide on a stool and several pieces of coloured leather cowhides adorn side tables in various rooms. There’s just nothing more exciting than finding a cow hide with a brand!

  8. Louri Ketcheson permalink
    December 8, 2009 10:20 pm

    My great uncle gave me his 4 poiut dark gray camping Hudson Bay blanket which was a heirloom from his ealiers days. The beautiful tag is still on the blanket and the sublt gray with black points in really quite ‘modern’ today! It sits on a wooden storage box just below the section on Native Americans in our library! A coffee table bookd on Native Indians accompanies the blanket which is sitting out for show! No worries this blanket fits in nicely with a western themed house!

  9. Nancy H permalink
    December 10, 2009 6:26 pm

    My fondest and oldest memories of The Bay has to be buying our first family christmas tree when I was young. It was really exciting because it started an annual tradition of my brother and I each selecting a new ornament from the Bay each year for our tree. We eventually ran out of room for ornaments! I now do the same thing with my kids.

    PS I stumbled upon this site and just want to let you know thats its awesome!

  10. Vivian L permalink
    December 10, 2009 9:38 pm

    The first Hbc store in Vancouver was opened in 1887 on Cordova Street!

  11. Jane Y permalink
    December 11, 2009 6:26 pm

    My favorite memory is going Christmas shopping at the Bay! All the decorations totally put me in the holiday mood.

Trackbacks

  1. 65 days to go – Bonjour Montreal! « 2010VanFan
  2. 62 days to go – The road home… « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

