Skip to content

100 days to the Paralympic Opening Ceremonies (plus 2010vanfan pins are ready!!)

December 2, 2009

We are there!!  Less than 100 days until the Opening Ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Winter Games!!  It really is crunch time now!  There’s training, overlay, prepping, welcoming and a tonne of other things that need doing and less than 73 days to get most of it in place (much of the work for the Olympics will continue on into the Paralympics).  Athletes are vying for positions (Luongo or Brodeur?? You know I’m all for Lou!).  And with Christmas tossed in there for good measure it’s going to be a very busy, exciting and exhausting 121 days (counting from now until the end of the Paralympic Games).

But I think tonight, my exciting news is that I have my pins ready to go!!  (Well, nearly, I still have to run to the stationery store to get cards… but you know… anyhow, the design is done!!).  So here is how my pins will look if you are lucky enough to win one!!  (Oh!  I’m so excited!!).

I will be hand numbering and signing each of these, and as you can see from the card, there are only 250!  And for the debut of my pins I am going to hold a contest to give away five, yes five! of these pins!!  And I have a really fun idea for how to enter… 🙂

I like hearing from all of you, and sharing your experiences…  To get your name entered into the draw to win one of these five 2010vanfan.ca pins all you have to do is post a comment and include a sentence or two on the thing, person or event that you are most looking forward to during the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games!!   And get it in before the evening of Monday, December 7!  See!  That’s not so hard!!  But I bet there are going to be a lot of different answers… and what a wonderful thing that will be that we’re all looking forward to different experiences.

OK – so just to clarify on how to enter:

1. Comment on this post, or any post between now and the evening of Monday, December 7th (my mom’s birthday!).

2. In your comment, tell us what you are most looking forward to during the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

That’s it!!  I will make one more request though… if you know someone who loves the Olympics, or Paralympics, or pins, or Vancouver, please pass this on to them!  The more people who enter the more fun this will be!!

*     *     *     *     *

It’s gotten late again, so I’m going to say goodnight.  I can’t help but wonder… how long will it take before someone posts the first entry??

Thank you merci to everyone that reads and shares!  I really appreciate building these Olympic memories with you!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Poirier permalink
    December 2, 2009 1:29 am

    You know how people always talk about an Olympic legacy? I’m from Montreal, and was born eight years after they held the Olympics there. I’ve always kind of felt in the shadows; that Montreal had these days of glory when it held Expo in 1967 and the Olympics in 1976, and that I sort of missed out on it. And that the legacy of those days somehow got lost somewhere, buried underneath quarrels over language laws and criticisms of overspending on the Olympic stadium. That I can go and stand on the lawn of the stadium and see all the flags of countries that participated, and see the cauldron, and see the plaque… but no matter for how long I stand there, it never seems that I get any closer. And so what I am really looking forward to in these games is just the idea of not missing out. To be in the center of it and to be able to remember that, and to be able to feel somehow this idea of a legacy and to be able to share that with others. So, maybe the short answer is I look forward to a series of moments during the Olympics, in whatever order and whatever shape they take, and I feel appreciative that I am able experience them. And also, I’m looking forward to the opening ceremonies because I paid a ton of money for tickets to them and I wholly expect them to be wicked awesome!

  2. keith77cdn permalink
    December 2, 2009 1:32 am

    hehe im first one at 130am. I cant wait be volunteering in both but paraolympics be more fun since im in opening show but i hope i dont choke on the role i do since its be seen everywhere. I think this will help every where in bc and get people know we great place to visit and build there business here.

  3. Patti permalink
    December 2, 2009 1:55 am

    How do I pick just one event I’m looking forward to when I think all of it will be magical. However, if I must pick just one it would have to be when I have the honour of being a Torch Bearer on February 12.

    When I got tickets through the lottery and then through the online sales, when I was chosen to be a Volunteer….. none of those made me cry but on August 10, 2009 when I opened up the Coca-Cola email announcing I had been chosen to run with the Flame, I cried and cried and then started phoning everyone I know and some of them cried with me. For the next month, I would open the email many times a day and dance around my kitchen while the “Open Happiness” song played. It’s now one of my favourite songs and I know all the words!

    I entered 88 times to be a Torch Bearer when Calgary hosted the Games in 1988 and was so disappointed when I didn’t get chosen. This time I entered 75 times and had to write a short essay and it all paid off. It’s the one thing I wouldn’t trade for anything. A once in lifetime opportunity to represent my country if only for a few minutes.

  4. December 2, 2009 6:57 am

    I am looking forward to watching all aspects of the Olympics with some of my grandchildren and seeing their reactions to the Opening ceromonies followed by the events. We have shared the pins that I have collected for all of them and this will be the icing on the cake. We all cannot wait.

  5. December 2, 2009 7:09 am

    How do I choose what I am looking forward to? Everything will be so awesome as Canada gets set to show the world what it has. I guess I am looking forward to all the athletes performing, win or lose! They have all worked so hard and although it will be hard I hope we don’t just remember the winners but everyone who has worked so hard to make this stage. I guess I am looking forward to cheering on all of our terrific Canadian athletes the most even though it will just be from my living room here in Ontario.

  6. Merritt Canfield permalink
    December 2, 2009 7:11 am

    Olympics Wonderful Olympics – What do I like Best? What a question as the entire event is a lifelong memory and like everyone picking one item is really hard. When the world comes to your doorstep it is time to step out side and join in. Time to talk to people from 90 countries – Time to have coffee and watch the world. It is the relaxed atmosphere, the party, if you will that I like. Join me!

    • Patti permalink
      December 2, 2009 9:47 pm

      Hi Merritt,
      What a great answer and I’m so glad you took my suggestion to read Andrea’s blog. I know she was too busy at the Olympic Superstore last Saturday but hopefully in the future I can introduce you two pin lovers. Hope you win a pin (and me too!).

      Patti

  7. Mihnea Cirica permalink
    December 2, 2009 9:21 am

    When they announced that Vancouver has won the 2010 Winter Olympics my first thought went back to my home country, Romania, and that misty morning of May 1986 when all our school was bused to be part of the Olympic Cross without knowing what had just happened at Chernobyl. I know that looking in the past is not a good thing so that I why I quickly erased that thought from my mind and asked my wife to take a picture of me holding The Province that said, in bold letters, that Vancouver has won. That meant that my new “home” was going to be the center of the world in 2010 and I am looking forward to be a part of the party.

  8. Bob permalink
    December 2, 2009 12:37 pm

    I am fortunate enough to have tickets to 7 events and 2 ceremonies (including the closing)! Of those tickets, the the event that I am most looking forward to is the men’s short program, figure skating. I am a huge figure skating fan, having attended 4 World Championships, including Edmonton, Minneapolis, Vancouver and Calgary, plus a couple of national championships and other international competitions. Through those events I have made a number of great friends in various cities in Canada and in Japan! The men’s competition is going to be fiercely competitive, especially with the return of Evgeni Plushenko! The Japanese and Americans are strong, and of course there is our Patrick Chan who I think has a great chance of medaling.
    However, the entire Olympic experience is going to be awesome! I have watched every Olympics on television for the past 30 years or so. When the Olympics are on the outside world ceases to exist. I eat, drink, sleep the Olympics for as many hours as my body will allow me to stay awake. So, to finally actually attend the Olympics in person in my home town is a dream come true. I cannot wait for the Olympics to begin!!!
    Just a note about the 2010 Olympic pins … they are breaking my bank account!!! There are way too many … but I am addicted. There are so many that I have to have!!!

  9. December 2, 2009 4:24 pm

    Hey Andrea!

    Your pin looks great on the home page! Thanks for the business. I’ll extend my offer of 50 free pins to your blog viewers as well if they want to get their own trading pins made! There is a special page on my web site so people can find out more info! http://www.ultipromo.com/freepins

    Craig

  10. Pam Mason permalink
    December 2, 2009 5:15 pm

    I am looking forward to soaking it all up – the people, the competitions, the hype. I’ve got tickets to see a few events – I love being in the crowd, listening to the cheers and roar of a happy crowd, the oohs and ahhs. I’m looking forward to watching the games on TV – often the best seat – watching the incredible effort put out by so many competitors, and I’ll yell for everyone at the finish line and I’m hoping to shed only a few tears when the Canadan flag is finally raised for a Gold medal win on home turf.
    I’m also looking forward to swapping a few pins – it’s become my obsession.

  11. Jim H permalink
    December 3, 2009 12:32 am

    I love the Olympics. I got a chance to go to Calgary in 88 and saw the Opening Ceremonies and few of the events for the first 4 days. Now to have the Olympics here in Vancouver will be great to shall with my kids. My oldest son is a Torch Bearer and really excited. My kids are excited to see some the events and also this is a great opportunity for me to enhance my hobby of pin collecting getting 2010 pins from the Sponsors etc.

  12. Shawn d permalink
    December 3, 2009 6:01 am

    like Merritt said, it is hard to pin down a specific experience (pardon the pun). Although I am relatively new to experiencing the Olympics in person. I am looking forward to meeting friends, soaking up the atmosphere and being in a festive environment. I was fortunate to get tickets to curling and hockey, but I am cloud 9 as I will be working at the Olympics. It will be a lifelong experience and I will treasure it.

  13. Vicki Yehl permalink
    December 3, 2009 6:12 am

    Andrea, I’m not completely sure what I am looking forward to most but I think it has to be carrying the torch (followed really by Canadian women’s hockey- Go Gals Gos!). I was so excited and emotional when I found out about the torch relay (my day is Jan 24th) and I feel like I am really partcipating in the Olympics! I also have tickets to four women’s hockey game, not the gold medal game (couldn’t get it – just looking for one ticket if anybody has one!). I am so thrilled by the whole prospective of having the world in our backyard. And then there is my work — I am so proud of my company for supplying the metal for the medals — no matter what, the work that I contribute to everyday will be hanging around the necks of all those who make it to the podium — AND there will be lots of Canadians wearing those medals. So much to look forward to…what a phenomenal opportunity. Bring it on!

  14. Rob Sims permalink
    December 3, 2009 6:41 pm

    Hello… Your new pin looks sweet and will be much coveted I am sure! It’s simple for me, I am looking forward to volunteering for both the Olympics and Paralympics and meeting many new people from all over, but most importantly I can’t wait to see Canadian pride ooze all over the the great venues, our amazing host cities , our beautiful province, and to all ends of our gorgeous country!!

  15. Sandy permalink
    December 6, 2009 1:02 am

    I love everything about the Olympics! But what I look forward to the most is to volunteer at the Olympic Village and meet people from all over the world!

  16. Jo-Anne permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:23 am

    I can honestly say my best pat of the 2010 Olympics will be (hopefully) getting to spend time with YOU. We do hope to make it down to Vancouver during the games, no, we didn’t get lucky on any tickets but just your enthusiasm makes me want to be around there, if only for a visit.

  17. April 29, 2010 3:39 pm

    Hi there,

    I have been to various pages of your blog and I love your site. This is, however, the first time I noticed that you had these special pins made! I am wondering (and hoping hard!) if you still have one of this “2010vanfan.ca” pin for trade. It would be wonderful if you do, but I understand that I am very very late in the game, and that you only made 250 of them. Please let me know! My blog is all about pin trading and my collection, please take a look if it may interest you! Thank-you!

    Cheers,
    Joanne

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      April 30, 2010 1:01 pm

      Thanks for reading Joanne!

Trackbacks

  1. 71 days to go – Frustration and Olympism! « 2010VanFan
  2. 60 days to go – It’s snowing in Vancouver! « 2010VanFan
  3. 52 days to go – Pin trading and Red Mittens « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

