Skip to content

77 days to go – Venue training!

November 27, 2009

I got to go to my Venue Training today for Vancouver 2010!!  I have been assigned to the Vancouver Athlete’s Village so training was in the Village tonight!  And I’m so pleased that I got to go!  I’ve been watching the Village be built for several years now and I have to say it’s pretty amazing to get to be inside the community centre and to walk down the streets of the Village at night!

Downtown Vancouver from the Athlete's Village (I think I may need a better camera 🙂 ).

The Athlete’s Village is in such a beautiful location!  You can see the city, the mountains, the ocean!  It truly is an urban oasis!

The training tonight included information on the vision and goals that we as a team hope to accomplish for the Athlete’s Village.  Our number one task?  To make all of our visitors feel at home!  And I have to say, with such beautiful homes as they will be staying in then those of us working there only need to add some personality to really make it more than just a memorable experience!  We also talked about the organization of the Village, and the layout, as well as a tiny bit about the various jobs that the Vancouver 2010 Workforce volunteers will be doing.

I have been assigned to Plaza and Events and this sounds like it will be right up my alley!!  This is the main area where invited guests to the Village will be able to interact with the Village residents.  So this will include media, sponsors, dignitaries and the like, as well as friends and families of the athletes.  All parts of the Village will only be accessible by accredited people.  The Plaza will feature retail space, as well as the Welcoming Ceremony Venue, where each Nation will come to have their flag raised as part of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games!

A lot of my training will come later when I do my job specific course, but that’s okay, I got a wonderful chance to be one of the first of the ‘general public’ to walk along the streets of the Village and that was so very special to me!  It was also wonderful to hear from the people who have been involved in planning the Village for the last several years and to hear their passion and excitement!  This is a very powerful thing we’re all involved in and the anticipation grows every day!

Alright, I’m going to add a few more photos from our tour through the Athlete’s Village and then head to sleep!  Way too late again tonight! 🙂 (PS – It was so late that when my computer decided it was going to stop working I didn’t want to fix it then, so morning time it is!).

The newly restored Salt building is beautiful! The walkway leading to it from False Creek represents water as this building was once on the waterfront of False Creek!

I'm not sure why the lights weren't on at Science World tonight, but it looked neat!

*     *     *     *     *

Don’t forget, the Mascot’s Birthday party is this Saturday at the Olympic Superstore in Vancouver with festivities starting at 2pm, including cake, kid’s goody bags (we should have enough to last a while… hopefully until at least 3pm), face-painting, a dj, Kurt Browning and Gaétan Boucher and of course the Mascots! Look for more details here!

*     *     *     *     *

And one last reminder… don’t forget to enter to win a Visa Mascot pin.  Find out how here!  Contest ends on the evening of Sunday, November 29th!

Thanks for reading!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 8:32 am

    How exciting to be at the athletes village. I’ve been assigned to Whistler venues.

    The lights are off at Science World because they are in the process of switching them to LED lights.

    Have fun at the mascot party tomorrow and have a great weekend.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 77 days to go – Venue training! « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 51 days to go – My Olympic walkabout, what a great day! « 2010VanFan
  3. Olympics Day 12 – Two hockey Games and some craft hour « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

