Skip to content

80 days to go – GE Plaza at Robson Square is open!!

November 24, 2009

Wow!  The opening of the GE Plaza at Robson Square was pretty special!  I’m very glad that I got to be there for it.  Catriona Le May Doan was the emcee.  Premier Gordon Campbell, VANOC CEO John Furlong, GE Canada President and CEO Elyse Allan, and GE President of Olympic Sponsorship and Corporate Sales Peter Foss were all there to present the new rink to Vancouver.  For me it was already wonderful at that point, but then Jeffrey Buttle came out to skate!  It was beautiful!

Jeffrey Buttle skating at the opening of the GE Plaza.

 

The opening was fairly brief, but there were some great opportunities for photos, so I’ll mostly share those:

Jeffrey getting Red Mittens from Premier Gordon Campbell

Opening the rink to kids from the Vancouver Skating Club.

The Vancouver 2010 Mascots skating at the GE Plaza - I even got a hug from Miga!!

Hey! I found the Vancouver 2010 Ticket Box Office!

Apparently the Main Ticket Box Office just opened last Wednesday in the UBC Robson Square Bookstore.  I will be adding it to my Vancouver 2010 Venue map.  I will also add the Whistler Box Office which I’ve been told is due to open on Thursday this week.

 

Kids and the Mascots at GE Plaza

The GE Plaza orca zamboni! So cute!

 

It was a great morning!  And I have to admit is was made even better when I had a chance to grab the Monday Metro and found that I had been quoted on the front page!  Eeek!  I hadn’t been expecting anything like that, it was awfully neat 🙂 .

I had meant to go skating on the Opening Day at the new rink, but the place was jam-packed!!  So I’ll try for it another day.  Did you go skating on the Opening Day??  Post a comment and let everyone know how it went!  It looks like a heckuva lotta fun!

*     *     *     *     *

One last bit, if you’re interested in winning a Visa Mascot pin, click here for details on how to enter!

Thank you merci for reading!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie Ng permalink
    November 24, 2009 7:32 am

    Hi Andrea, that is really cool that you were quoted on the front page of the Metro!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      November 24, 2009 12:56 pm

      Hi Stephanie!
      I’m so sorry I haven’t gotten your pin to you yet! I’ve been carrying it around for weeks. I will try very hard to get it to Steve tomorrow!
      Thanks for reading, I’m very happy you’re involved!
      Cheers,
      Amdrea

  2. Katie permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:11 am

    Ooooh you were quoted!!! (this calls for three exclamation points) 🙂

  3. November 24, 2009 5:14 pm

    Ooh, there’s an evening to plan for…skating at the new rink, and then Olympic themed drinks at the Four Seasons.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      November 25, 2009 10:20 am

      That sounds like a fabulous idea Rachael!! I’d love to do that some night. 🙂

  4. Bob permalink
    November 25, 2009 3:14 pm

    Great to see the outdoor skating rink back in operation. I think it is going to be a very popular site in the months to come.

    However, I wish the opening had been better advertised. I am really ticked that I missed Jeffrey Buttle!!! GRRRRR!!!

    The answer to your VISA pin contest is …

    Amik … the beaver … 1976 Montreal Summer Olympics
    Hidi & Howdy … brother & sister polar bears … 1988 Calgary Winter Olympics

    My friend Nini Gabriel would love to win that pin to add to her collection!

  5. November 25, 2009 3:37 pm

    Congrat’s on making Front Page news :o)

    Your enthusiasm is contagious!!!

  6. Gail Anderson permalink
    November 25, 2009 11:02 pm

    My sister, Sharon Snider, in Ontario wishes to have her name entered into your VISA Mascot Pin contest.

    Amik – 1976 Montreal Olympics Mascot
    Hidy & Howdy – 1988 Calgary Olympics Mascots

  7. Ron Anderson permalink
    November 25, 2009 11:09 pm

    As usual my wife, Gail Anderson, is nagging me to enter her name into your contest for a pin!

    She informs me that Amik is the mascot for the 1976 Montreal Olympics and Hidy & Howdy are the mascots for the 1988 Calgary Olympics!

    No worries, she’s even shown me the pins for each of these mascots and she is collecting a pin for each of the Olympic mascots since the first informal mascot at the 1968 Mexico Olympics! I really do think that she is becoming a ‘Pinhead’………..Is there a cure?

  8. Rob Sims permalink
    November 29, 2009 8:17 am

    Great blog! Amik wa sthe Montreal 76 Olympic mascot, Hidy & Howdy the 88 Calgary Olympic mascots. My brother Dave Sims asked me to have his anme entered for the pin. Keep up the good work!

  9. Judith Foss permalink
    January 29, 2010 5:38 am

    Hi, Peter it was nice to see the images of you in Vancouver.

    Judy,
    Peter Jr.,
    and Christie Foss

Trackbacks

  1. 51 days to go – My Olympic walkabout, what a great day! « 2010VanFan
  2. 46 days to go – Volunteering at the GE Plaza « 2010VanFan
  3. 37 days to go – Oh! New Tickets! « 2010VanFan
  4. 31 days to go – One month to go!! « 2010VanFan
  5. 9 days 18 hours to the Paralympics – The Torch Relay has started! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

