Skip to content

83 days to go – Getting ready for venue training!

November 21, 2009

It’s gotten late again somehow… I’m not quite sure how it happens some days though I suspect that not finishing work until 9:30pm this evening may have had something to do with it.  And while it was a very lovely day in the Olympic Superstore it was an item in my email inbox that really got my attention.  Today I received my Vancouver Olympic and Paralympic Village Venue training booklet.  It talks about what most of the roles are within the village, including my role in “Plaza & Events”!  Sounds like there will be some welcoming ceremonies, maybe some concerts and fun, the gym and funnily enough, the retail shop (something tells me I’m likely to get shifts in the shop as I am already so familiar with the Vancouver 2010 retail merchandise!!).

A photo of the Athlete's Village taken during the summer.

 

I go for my Venue training on Thursday night this next week and I really can’t wait!  It’s going to be fantastic!

*     *     *     *     *

Too many things to mention tonight so I’ll keep them all brief!!

Pin contest – Comment on this post (or one from the last few days) and answer the following question before the evening of Sunday, November 22nd (my brother’s birthday!) and you could win an oversize Torch pin from me!!  They’re very cool!!  Curious?  Find more info here (there’s also a hint!).  And of course, the questions:

Where was the first Winter Olympics Torch lit, by whom, and in what year?

Drawing of the oversized Torch pin - it's nearly 10cm long!

 

*     *     *     *     *

Some bits and pieces:

I love Pique Newsmagazine from Whistler!!  They always have great, up-to-date information on Vancouver 2010 and what it means to the communities that are hosting!!  Please check them out!  (I think I’m too late for #followfriday but I don’t have a Twitter link for them anyway… Is there one??).  My most recent example of why I love them is that they covered some of the discussions of putting a zip-line across Robson Square (still nothing confirmed but it’s still in the works!  Wicked!).

*     *     *     *     *

Whistler has broken snowfall records for November!!  I’ve heard the ‘pow’ is fabulous (nearly 5m of cumulative snowfall this month!).  Me?  Well, I wouldn’t know… a slight skiff of snow and I get nervous.  Ok… well yes… I get nervous anytime I strap boards to my feet and head downhill, but there are a lot of excited people and it’s nice to have an early start to the season!

*     *     *     *     *

We’re going to have new neighbours!!  Seems like a floating fishing lodge is going to be moored under the north side of the Granville Street Bridge for the Olympics providing an additional 12 rooms for accommodation in town.  I think that means I’ll see it anytime I look out the windows!  Should be neat.  I’d like to say “Welcome to the neighbourhood!”.

Soon to be my neighbour!

 

*     *     *     *     *

Hmm… what else??  (There’s a lot so I’m trying to find the stuff I’m most excited about…).

Oh yeah!! Mitts for Kids!  There is a fundraising project going on right now to get the Red Mittens to every elementary school child in Vancouver!!  It’s a big job!  Sounds like so far they have the kindergarteners covered but they want to get all of the kids up to grade 7!!  If you’d like to help out with a donation click here!

*     *     *     *     *

Mascot’s Birthday!!!  I think I’ll finish off with this as some of it isn’t set in stone yet but I have some more specific ideas about what’s up so I wanted to pass them on!  The Mascot’s birthday is on Friday, November 27th, but we’ll be celebrating in the Olympic Superstore on Saturday, November 28th!  The Mascot’s will of course be there (they couldn’t resist the cake!) and will be appearing at 2pm, 3pm and 4pm for a half hour each time.  There will likely be balloons, goody-bags for kids, and face-painting, and of course birthday cake at 2pm!  The Mascot’s will probably also be set up for a photo shoot where you can buy your photo with the Mascot’s for a $2 donation to Canadian athletes.  Also at 2pm??  Kurt Browning will be signing autographs I think (hope!!) as well as a speed skater (sorry speed skater, I don’t have your name yet… I’m working on it!).  So really it’s going to be a fantastic and wonderful day!  I hope you’ll come down to check it out!

OK – Bed!!  I need sleep!  Thank you merci for reading and for sharing this journey with me!  Andrea – 2010vanfan blogger!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    November 25, 2009 10:51 am

    The oversized Torch Pin is one of the most beautiful pins so far released.

    The first Winter Olympic Torch was lit in Oslo, Norway in 1952 by Olav Tveiten.

    The red mittens … best idea ever for an Olympics!

    I am very much looking forward to the Mascots birthday party … it just seems like yesterday that they celebrated their last birthday! How time flies. And I am looking forward to seeing Kurt … he is still the best!

    Great website!

Trackbacks

  1. 81 days to go – Torch pin winner!! « 2010VanFan
  2. 16 days 5.5 hours to go – I’m going flying! « 2010VanFan
  3. 4 days 17 hours to go – Vancouver in the mist… « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

