Skip to content

84 days to go – Robson Square Ice Rink opens Monday!!

November 20, 2009

I had a lovely day today… first in the Olympic Superstore and then volunteering in the evening at the BC Showcase.  The best part about volunteering this evening??  The ice is being made for the GE Ice Plaza at Robson Square right now!!  With the opening planned for Monday!!  Woohoo!!  I will certainly be there to catch the festivities!  Here’s what it looks like now!

This is a beautiful outdoor rink!! The ice is just being built now for the opening on Monday, November 23rd!! On the ice (heck! making the ice) are Ron and Aaron Fell from Smart Ice.

I even got to talk to the guys making the ice for a while tonight.  Ron and Aaron Fell are father and son and work for Smart Ice Consulting.  They are layering the ice up, one flood at a time (usually about 4 per day).  And yes, apparently there is a lucky loonie in the ice!!  Actually, it sounds like a ‘lucky frozen water fountain’!  I guess when they first started building the ice up lots of people were keen for there to be lucky loonies so there may be quite a few coins frozen into the ice now!  I of course also had to ask if there is going to be a Zamboni for this little ice rink (it isn’t quite as big as a regulation hockey rink) and apparently there is!!  A 3/4 size Zamboni to clean the ice (I’m counting on you Ron and Aaron to comment and correct any mistakes I make here! 🙂 ).

There is going to be a little café at the rink, and of course a place to rent skates!  Skating is free if you bring your own skates!!  That’s just way too cool!!  (I gotta go get my skates from storage!).  If you need to rent skates they’re only $3!!  And if you’re smart you’ll also rent a helmet for an additional $3.  But… children 12 and under get free rentals as far as I can tell (don’t hold me to that, but I’ll confirm soon!).  Skating will be open to the public on Tuesday, November 24th.  It sounds like there are festivities planned for Monday but I haven’t managed to get a schedule for it yet (email me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com if you know what it is please!  I don’t want to miss anything!).  Here are a few more pictures!

The Skate Rental shop... still in progress.

The Café, also in progress.

The "boards". And Ron and Aaron making the ice.

I may be a little excited to go skating soon! Thanks Erina for taking the photo!

I’m sure I’ll have a whole lot more to report in the next few days so stay tuned to 2010vanfan for all your GE Ice Plaza needs!!

*     *     *     *     *

Just a reminder… only a few days left to enter to win an oversize Torch pin from me!  All you have to do is comment with the answer to the following questions before Sunday evening when I post!  The questions?

Where was the first Winter Olympics Torch lit, by whom, and in what year?

See this previous post if you would like a hint!

*     *     *     *     *

One last thing before I’m done for tonight… Welcome to readers from pincollectorssite.com!  And thanks to pincollectorssite.com for the link!  Wow, just looked at his New Additions and I am boggled!  There are way, way too many fantastic pins out there!!  This, dear readers, is why it’s best to have a preferred type of pin (for example ‘must have Mascots’ or ‘only media pins’ as there is a dizzying array of pins out there!  And I’m only going to make it worse with mine!  Sigh.  Ah well, it is too fun to stop now!

Good night, bonsoir!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    November 20, 2009 12:39 pm

    I love your blog! Thanks for all the effort and enthusiasm you’re putting into this, it’s awesome.

    And your photographs are great. That top one with the blue is lovely!

    (here via the @UBCWinter Games twitter)

  2. Erina permalink
    November 20, 2009 2:03 pm

    It was nice to meet you last night:) I am glad you had a chance to talk with the ice makers. Now I know a little Zamboni will be there!
    I will keep on reading your blog to lean more fun and exciting news and events!!!

  3. Pam permalink
    November 20, 2009 11:12 pm

    Thanks for sharing the great pictures and information! I’m one of the lucky ones that gets to work at the rink this Winter and through the Games. Keep up the great blog, I’ll come back for updates.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 84 days to go – Robson Square Ice Rink opens Monday!! « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 46 days to go – Volunteering at the GE Plaza « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

