Skip to content

86 days to go – Red Mittens Update…

November 18, 2009

I have come to the conclusion that Canadians love, love, LOVE our Red Mittens!!  Is it ’cause they’re warm and fuzzy, or ’cause they’re red with a white maple leaf, or ’cause buying them helps to support athletes?  I think it is definitely some combination of all of them, and a powerful combination at that!  Every Torchbearer wears these Mittens and I’m starting to see just everyday folks on the street wearing them too!  We have a hard time keeping them in stock in the Olympic Superstore!  We got a shipment in tonight and had people arrive at opening today to fill up basketfuls!  So… the point of my story?  Buy your Mittens as soon as you can!  It won’t be long until there are no more available!  I’m pretty sure that they’re still planning on sticking to the one million pairs produced and, at a guess, I’d say that half of that number is sold already!!

Morning walk with Mittens, our dog and the Inukshuk at English Bay!

*     *     *     *     *

 

Now, some number of months ago I had a woman from the States send me a message about trying to find somewhere to park their RV/van thing so they could come up for the Games.  I had assumed that the RV parks around town were full, and had sort of enquired a bit of the few people who I know that actually own homes (and yards) to see if they would be willing to share some space, but a story in the Vancouver Sun today makes it look to me like there is still definitely some places to camper-van in Vancouver!  (Sorry to the woman in the States, I looked for your message to tell you directly but I’ve not had luck finding it so far!).  Anyhow, I had no idea that the Vancouver Parks Board had offered up the parking lots at Spanish Banks and Jericho Beach for RV sites!  There are no hook-ups (such as electricity) but it is a great view and I bet there will be a lot of Olympic Spirit around!!  The sites are $95 + GST per night (minimum four nights) and you can find more information here if you’re interested!!  Bonus –  if you’re a Vancouver 2010 volunteer or stay the entire 21 nights there are discounts!!

View from the beach at your potential camp site!! Wow!

 

*     *     *     *     *

Hey!  Do you read this blog on pincollectorssite?  If you do why not check it out on its original site at http://2010vanfan.ca!  I’d love to have you stop by and enter my contests or leave me a note!  Thanks!

*     *     *     *     *

Speaking of contests… don’t forget to enter my latest contest!  You could win an oversize Torch pin!!  It’s very special and pretty.  I like it and plan on wearing mine a lot for the next few months!  Anyhow… 🙂 to enter just comment on this post and answer the following questions:

Where was the first Winter Olympics Torch lit, by whom, and in what year?

I will draw a name at random Sunday evening (November 22nd) from all of those that answer correctly!  Find a clue here, as well as a bit more info!

*     *     *     *     *

Today’s Olympic experience – Sandy, a previous pin contest winner, came into the Olympic Superstore today to pick up her prize.  It was very nice to meet her!  She is also volunteering for Vancouver 2010 and is also assigned to the Vancouver Athlete’s Village!  I love getting to meet new people and it’s really very neat to have people come and say hi and have a chat about anything Vancouver 2010!  If you do find yourself in the neighbourhood, please stop by and say hi!  While I’m not always at the Olympic Superstore, I am there quite a bit, and do feel free to email me in advance at 2010vanfan@gmail.com to see if I’ll be around.

Actually, I’d like to add a few names to my visitors list today, besides Sandy (pin winner) there was also Rosemary (Vancouver 2010 enthusiast), Jim (enthusiast and pin fan), Fran & Jim (some of my family), and Radar (Ok, he was there for pins but said hi to me too, that counts doesn’t it 🙂 ).  A lot of the fun that I get out of the Olympics and Paralympics coming to Vancouver is getting to meet new people and to share stories!  And I would love to hear yours!

*     *     *     *     *

Right then, well, it’s gone and gotten late again, darn it all.  So that’s it for this evening, other than to say… “I’m going to Montreal for the Torch Relay and I’m really, really excited!!”  I can’t believe I’m doing it and I find every now and then I have to say it to remind myself how close that is!  I leave Vancouver on December 8th!  That’s only 20 days away!  Gosh!  And with direct Air Canada flights the trip will be a breeze!  (I’m still wondering if Air Canada is doing anything “Vancouver 2010” on their flights… does anyone know?).  OK, sleep time!  Thank you merci for reading and sharing!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    November 18, 2009 4:30 am

    Love the picture of you and your Mom in Red Mittens. Well I’m glad I already bought my 21 pairs (for my family members). I was in the Superstore today and saw a man with his arms full of mittens. He must have had at least 20 pairs. I saw you too at the Concierge desk but you were surrounded by people and I didn’t want to interrupt. I was buying a snack at the Happiness Cafe after finishing my Leading 2010 Volunteer training at 570 Dunsmuir. A woman in my class also had a shopping bag full of mittens and she said she had to wait for them to be in stock.

    Sidney Crosby runs with the Flame today in Nova Scotia. For anyone who wants to see him, there should be coverage on CTV News and Sportsnet.

  2. Jo-Anne permalink
    November 18, 2009 5:53 pm

    Hey, maybe we should bring a camper down for the Olympics, the beach looks absolutely beautiful and it will be even better should there be some snow around – RIGHT. We didn’t get any tickets on Phase 3. Unfortunatley we were away from home (darn) and even though I tried later that day, the events I wanted were gone. Guess my answer for the new pin may be way off, maybe it is 1952 (wonderful year, my year), but, good luck to all.
    Sleep tight.

  3. Patricia Duffy permalink
    November 18, 2009 7:26 pm

    The Red Mittens were hard to find for a while as they were sold out so quickly when they first came out. I thought I might get a pair for my Birthday so I waited for a time to get them and when I didnt’ get them for my Birthday I had to find some for myself.

    I got my Mittens at Zellers in Miramichi, NB. While I was there I took the opportunity to meet one of the two people running with the torch from the store. It turns out that they are running my hometown and the same day as me. It’s very exciting and it’s also very important for me to meet other Torchbearers and share my enthusiasm. When I bought my mittens I said that I will get mittens with my suit and she looked at me funny and asked what type of suit and I explained how excited I was to be a Torchbearer.

    I hope that I am lucky to win the Overgrown torch pin. Everything related to the relay is very exciting and I can’t wait until I get my turn but also help to keep the spirit going.

    I love this site. Thanks for sharing the stories and I will keep reading as we move closer to the games.

  4. December 16, 2009 11:15 pm

    You made some good points there. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog.

  5. September 21, 2010 2:20 am

    Love the picture of the van site, Vancouver is so spectuacular, seemingly from any angle! Just beautiful!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 86 days to go – Red Mittens Update… « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 85 days until the Opening Ceremonies – A new HBC pin!! « 2010VanFan
  3. 84 days to go – Robson Square Ice Rink opens Monday!! « 2010VanFan
  4. 78 days to go – Support our Athletes!! « 2010VanFan
  5. 1 day 1 hour to go – Torch Relay ride-along « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

