Skip to content

87 days to go – More than 12,000 views of 2010vanfan!!

November 17, 2009

Wow!!  I can’t quite believe that the numbers have added up so quickly!  Thanks to everyone reading and commenting and participating with the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games and with 2010vanfan!!  It’s really great to be involved with so many people excited, happy and participatory in the Games!!  I really do believe this is a once in a lifetime experience and am so glad that you’re all along for the ride with me!!

Now, speaking of the ride… I know I talk about pins a lot, but somehow they’ve become an integral part of my Vancouver 2010 experience.  I did get a few pins today (ok, a ‘few’ may be a mis-representation, maybe closer to ‘scads’).  And my pin purchases today of course included the new oversized Torch pin!!

Me with my new Oversized Torch pin!

The pin is really huge!  I’ve heard 9.5cm!  (I have not measured it to confirm this myself, but that seems about right!).  So this is the pin that you can win in my latest contest (check it out and enter here!) but I also got some of the other new pins out like this year’s Mascot Christmas pin… and maybe a few others :o).  I’ll take some photos and put them up soon, but you can bet on the Mascot Christmas pin being in a contest sometime soon!  So keep checking in to enter for that!

(Oh, and in case you’re wondering, no, at this point we do not have the Oversized Torch Pin in at the Olympic Superstore, but I’m hoping soon.  I got mine from Hudson House Trading in Gastown ’cause I’m impatient and needed at least one for my contest and they always get new pins first!!).

*     *     *     *     *

Next up… Coins!!  The second “Olympic Moments” coin will be released today, Tuesday, November 17th through your local Royal Bank Branch!  It’s the ‘Women’s Hockey Gold 2010’ coin! I plan on stopping by and getting some for myself.  I’ve written about them a few weeks ago so you can check out that post here, but do also try to get yourself a few of the coloured coins, they’re pretty darned neat!

The Maple Leaf is coloured red on some of these circulation coins!

*     *     *     *     *

I’m afraid I’ve run up against sleepiness again.  But I will endeavour to get out and do something Vancouver 2010 related that has nothing to do with pins tomorrow to tell you all about!  Any thoughts or suggestions?  I will have a tiny bit of time outside the Olympic Superstore (I work through the day) but maybe something nearby, or maybe you could stop by and say hi and share your Olympic story!!  Thank you merci, goodnight, bonsoir!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2009 8:07 pm

    Great Picture Andrea! You and the pin both look great :o)

    This pin looks quite dressy – can definitely be worn on a night out!

    Cheers,
    H’

  2. Rachael permalink
    November 18, 2009 12:57 am

    Woohoo Congratulations!

  3. January 12, 2010 8:34 pm

    This pin makes also a spectacular kilt pin.

Leave a Reply

