Skip to content

88 days to go – Oh no!! I’m in trouble!!

November 16, 2009

I’m going to start first with the winners of my latest pin contest tonight, followed by a new contest, followed by my unfortunate realization that I am truly into pins and that there is a large number of new pins that I seriously dig coming out between now and the end of the Games.  Sigh.

OK!!  First, the happy news!  As some of you already know, I’m not very good about giving out only one pin in my pin contests, so tonight, besides the Coca-Cola 90 days to go pin, I’m also going to give away some extra pins!!  So, here are tonight’s winners!

First place – Coca-Cola 90 days to go pin – Eric V!!

2nd place – Petro-Canada Olympic pin – Joyce P!!

3rd place – RBC Olympic pin – Philip Lau

Consolation prize – (for those that entered themselves 🙂 ) – Air Canada pin – Que Banh

Plus, I have a Coca-Cola 90 days to go pin for Hardeep G from COLDFX2010 ’cause you so very kindly directed so many people to enter and had your name entered so many times that likely you would have won anyways!!  So this way there are more prizes for everyone!!

Thanks again to everyone that entered…  Check out below for your next chance to win!!

*      *      *      *      *

OK – Next Contest!!  Gosh I like giving away pins!!  It’s so much fun!  Once again, I haven’t actually got the pin in my hand quite yet, but should have by tomorrow night, but this one is pretty darned special!

088 - Oversized torch pin

New "Oversized" Torch Pin

You could win yourself an “oversized Torch pin” just by answering the following…

Where was the first Winter Olympics Torch lit, by whom, and in what year?  OK – not a small question, but this is no small pin either!  And somehow it seems fitting to me that a special Olympic Torch pin is won by answering an Olympic Torch question.  To enter, comment on this or any post before the evening of Sunday, November 22nd and include your answer to the question.  I look forward to hearing from you!!  And here is a hint!

088 - Bjaaland

*     *     *     *     *

So, while trying to decide what pin to put up for a contest today, I went to Artiss Aminco’s website (the pin company that make most of the Vancouver 2010 pins)… BIG MISTAKE!!  Oh my gosh!!  There are so many wonderful and interesting pins coming out in the next few weeks (just over 12 of them!!).  Here are the drawings of a few of the ones I won’t be able to resist!!

Pin - mascot snowboards

Mascots on snowboard shaped pins!

Pin - Hockey Jersey

Canada, USA and Russia Hockey Pins

Pin - Goalie Mask series

Hockey goalie helmet pins!

Pin - upcoming holidays

Super-sweet upcoming holiday pins! I hear that on the Christmas one the star that Miga is placing is actually a pretty crystal!

OK – that’s probably plenty of pins for tonight.  And don’t worry, I’ll do my best to let you know when we’re getting new pins in, both of these retail pins as well as corporate pins!

Need sleep, I’m a zombie!  Cheers, santé, Andrea.

PS – 7:20 am, Monday, November 16th – I meant to also mention that Herb, from the Olympic Superstore, brought the story of the Winter Olympics Torch to my attention.  I thought it was a lovely story and once the contest is done I will post up a link to it, which is where I got my answers and inspiration for the contest.  Thanks Herb!!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    November 16, 2009 1:31 am

    I know the answer to part of your new trivia question without having to look it up. After being chosen to run with the Torch (on February 12), I read everything I could find on the 2010 website and elsewhere and I thought it was only fitting that the first Winter Olympics Torch Relay was held in Oslo, Norway in 1952 – the year I was born!

    I didn’t know who or exactly where it was lit until I just looked it up now but I’ll leave those answers for others to figure out because I’m not entering the contest. I already have the pin you’re giving away. It’s 9.5cm long and beautiful. Good luck to all of you.

    Now I’m going to look at Artiss Aminco’s website…..also a BIG MISTAKE!!!

  2. Pifate permalink
    November 16, 2009 5:25 am

    The Olympic Flame from the ancient games was reintroduced during the 1928 Games. An employee of the Electric Utility of Amsterdam, lit the first Olympic flame in the Marathon Tower of the Olympic Stadium in Amsterdam.

  3. Pifate permalink
    November 16, 2009 5:52 am

    Sorry for my last answer, my english is bad.

    The good answer is:

    1952 Oslo Winter Games (Norway), Olav Bjaaland in the house to Sondre Norheim

    Regards, Victor

  4. Amy S. permalink
    November 16, 2009 9:12 am

    What a beautiful pin! And the snowboard ones are totally neat 🙂

    The first winter Olympic torch was lit in Norway (Oslo Winter Games) in 1952 by Olav Bjaaland in the fireplace of Norwegian telemark-skiing pioneer Sondre Norheim.

    Fun reading to get the answer!

  5. Mihnea Cirica permalink
    November 16, 2009 9:36 am

    The answer to the last questions is:

    Olav Bjaaland, 1952, Norway

  6. Eric V. permalink
    November 16, 2009 10:48 am

    I am loving all the Olympic quizzes, helping to brush up on some olympic history. The answer to your trivia question is 1952 Oslo Winter Games. (Norway) The torch was lit by Olav Bjaaland in a cabin belonging to Sondre Norheim a Norwegian skiing pioneer. Thanks again.

  7. Jo-Anne permalink
    November 16, 2009 12:00 pm

    Ok, here goes, I spent an hour looking this stuff up when I was supposed to grocery shopping. But, it’s for a good cause, me winning a pin! 1st Olympic torch was lit in Olympia, Greece (City of the Olympics) by Paavo Nurmi in 1928, although it states that the torch was reintroduced at this games, I couldn’t find any other answer so got a bit frustrated and am going shopping now. Someone will have all the right answers by the closing date of the contest. Good luck to all.
    I really did have fun though looking up all of this info – learnt alot more about the Olympics too.

  8. November 16, 2009 2:16 pm

    For the first time, the lighting of a flame becomes part of Olympic symbolism was Amsterdam 1928.

    For the first time, a symbolic fire was lit during the Games. The fire was lit in a cauldron that was placed at the top of a tower in the stadium, which had been designed by Jan Wils, a celebrated Dutch architect.

    The torch relay of modern times which transports the flame from Greece to the various designated sites of the games was introduced by Carl Diem at the controversial 1936 Berlin Olympics

    • November 22, 2009 1:44 pm

      Ooops this was the summer Olympics — and the question is winter games specific :o) Good Luck everyone!

  9. Patricia Duffy permalink
    November 16, 2009 3:21 pm

    Wow – I love the contests!!!

    I can’t wait to be a Torchbearer but just found out that my community had Coke commemerative Torch pins and I missed them.. I have other memories other won’t have but I am a crazy pin collector.

    I was picked by Coca-cola and they have been awesome so far. The suit is beautiful and my new runnign program is great. When I started I thought I would only run until my torch day but it may now be part of my life forever.

    The answer to your trivia question is Norway in 1952. I believe it was Oslo.

    Love your blogs.

  10. November 16, 2009 6:52 pm

    Hey Andrea
    I am so excited about the Olympics that is a beautiful pin! I’ve been following all your fun updates on twitter.
    I think it was in Oslo Norway in 1952 with Olav Bjaaland. The only way i remember that is that Penticton is one of the stops for the torch and they did a story on its history. I remembered Oslo Norway but had to look up how to spell the person who lit it.

    Awesome job keep all the fun tweets coming!

    Cheers
    Crystal Froese

  11. Irene Muntz permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:03 pm

    1952 Oslo Winter Games to light the Olympic torch in the fireplace of Norwegian telemark-skiing pioneer Sondre Norheim

    Olav Bjaaland, lighting the first Winter Olympics torch

  12. Sarah Poirier permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:23 pm

    Haha, a fitting contest answer, as it was the Lillehammer Games that made me crazy about the Olympics and it was in Oslo two years ago that I became pin crazy! The answer is that the first winter Olympics torch was lit in Oslo, Norway by Olav Bjaaland in 1952.

  13. Stephanie Ng permalink
    November 16, 2009 10:37 pm

    After over an hour of searching, and with dry tired eyes I was able to find the correct answer -and knew it was right based on your hint! The first Winter Olympics Torch was lit by Olav Bjaaland in Oslo, Norway in 1952. He lit it from a fireplace inside the Sondre cottage.

  14. Pat Lam permalink
    November 16, 2009 11:25 pm

    I love your site. I just came across your site and I just love all the updates that you are kindly sharing with us.

    So, answer to your contest, the first Winter Olympics Torch was lit in 1952 Olav Bjaaland in Oslo, Norway.

  15. Vicki Yehl permalink
    November 17, 2009 11:07 am

    Okay, also being a torch bearer, as you know already
    The flame was re-introduced in 1928 in Amsterdam
    The torch relay itself is controversial as it was part of Hitler’s 1936 games
    St. Moritz’s game after WWII were hastily organized and such things didn’t happen
    BUT your questions was first Winter Olympic torch lit and by whom in what year:
    So, for the 1952 Oslo, Norway games…the first torch was lit in the village of Morgedal, Norway. It was a 2 day relay covering 225 km to Oslo with 94 torchbearers. Eigil Nansen light the flame in Oslo BUT the Olympic flame itself (ie. the torch) was not lit in Olympia, but in the hearth of the cabin belonging to Sondre Norheim (1825-1897), the Norwegian skiing pioneer, in Morgedal in the province of Telemark, Norway!!!!
    I REALLY REALLY REALLY WANT TO WIN THE PIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. Bill verboom permalink
    November 17, 2009 5:46 pm

    Wow that IS a pretty cool pin. Gee thanks for that site…looks like everyone is getting pins for Christmas now…hmmmm or I could just forgo the whole giving thing and keep them all myself. :))

    “Win the Pin”…sounds like a pretty cool contest..its a wonder none of the big companies have come with this.?!

    Olav Bjaaland
    1952 Norway

    Thanks!!!

  17. November 17, 2009 7:49 pm

    The first winter Olympic torch was lit in Norway (Oslo Winter Games) in 1952 by Olav Bjaaland in the fireplace of Norwegian telemark-skiing pioneer Sondre Norheim.

  18. Sandy W permalink
    November 17, 2009 8:02 pm

    The first Winter Olympic Torch was lit in Norway at the Oslo Winter Games in 1952, by Olav Bjaaland.

  19. Joyce Poyton permalink
    November 18, 2009 2:25 pm

    First of all, thanks for selecting me as a pin winner in your previous contest. I love the snowboard pin and hockey jersey pins. They are really beautifully crafted.

    Olympic torch was lit in Norway (Oslo Winter Games) in 1952 by Olav Bjaaland in the fireplace of Norwegian telemark-skiing pioneer Sondre Norheim.

  20. Katie W permalink
    November 18, 2009 7:04 pm

    The first Winter Olympics Torch was lit in 1952 by Olav Bjaaland in Norway, for the Oslo Winter Games!

  21. Gail Anderson permalink
    November 18, 2009 11:26 pm

    Hi Andrea

    I’ve been doing your contests on the Pin Collector’s Site – Your Blog and have now discovered your main Blog site! My sister, 9-year old nephew and myself love reading all of the great news in your column.

    We drool everytime we see the gorgeous pins that you have for prizes. Our only source of great pins in Alberta is through the VANOC store. Even the HBC in the infamous West Edmonton Mall does not carry the Limited Edition HBC pins.

    Certainly I’m sure that any of us out of town winners would gladly forward a stamped self-addressed bubble envelope in which you can send our pin. Or in our case, we will be attending the Olympics in February and could pick the pin up.

    So here goes, for the next prize winning pin – If we go back to the ‘Ancient Games’ in Greece they kept a fire burning throughout the ceremony! It commemorated the theft of fire from the Greek God Zues by Prometheus – good old Greek Mythology! This fire was reintroduced at the 1928 Summer Olympics in Amsterdam and has been part of the modern Olympics ever since. But the Torch Relay of today which transports the flame from Greece to the various designated sites of the games was introduced by Carl Diem at the 1936 Berlin Olympics! What a wonderful bit of history to keep us all on our toes!

  22. Louri K permalink
    November 18, 2009 11:47 pm

    Torch Relay races started in ancient Greece as religious rituals in honour of the goddess Athena.. Sacred flames started by the rays of the sun always burned in Olympia, in an altar dedicated to Hestia. The head priestess touched that point with the Torch and the Flame was lighted.

    Then the Ancient Greeks held a “lampadedromia” (the Greek word for Torch Relay) where athletes competed by passing on the Flame in a relay race to the finish line. The Torch Relay carried the Flame from the altar of Prometheus to the altar of the goddess Athena on the Acropolis.

    My 9-year old son and myself wore our red mittens, red shirts and lots of Torch Relay pins to the Torch Relay Celebration in Fort McMurray, Alberta. A 92-year old native lady was the last to carry the torch and light the cauldron. We loved the celebration, atmosphere and fun provided by RBC and Coca-coal! Don’t miss this wonderful event in your area even if you aren’t attending the olympics! It is a once-in-a-lifetime event!

  23. Ron A permalink
    November 18, 2009 11:10 pm

    If we are to use your hint then in 1952, at Morgedal in Norway the Norwegian ski champion from Telemark, Olav Bjaaland, lit the torch for the 1952 Winter Olympics.

  24. Michael K permalink
    November 18, 2009 11:23 pm

    The Torch Relay, as the opening of the Olympic celebration, was revived in the Berlin Olympiad in 1936. Starting from Olympia in Greece and lighted by a high priestess the torch was carried by the first runner, the young athlete Konstantinos Kondylis. The Flame traveled for the first time hand to hand until it reached the Berlin Olympic Stadium in Germany. Since then the Torch Relay has preceded every Olympic Summer Games.

  25. mook permalink
    November 19, 2009 1:23 am

    The first Winter Olympics torch –
    For the Oslo Games, the Olympic flame was not lit in Olympia, but in the hearth of the cabin belonging to Sondre Norheim (1825-1897), the Norwegian skiing pioneer, in Morgedal in the province of Telemark.
    Do I get Bonus points for having been there? : D

  26. Darryl permalink
    November 19, 2009 7:34 am

    1952 Oslo Winter Games (Norway), Olav Bjaaland in the house to Sondre Norheim

    • Alina Ilie permalink
      November 19, 2009 11:13 am

      1952 Oslo Winter Games (Norway), Olav Bjaaland.

  27. Vivian L permalink
    November 19, 2009 8:50 am

    Olav Bjaaland lit the first Winter Olympics Torch in 1952 in Norway (Oslo Winter Games)

  28. Brent permalink
    November 19, 2009 1:13 pm

    I love the new pins that you previewed on the site. I hope they post it on the online shop soon (or maybe I’ll win a contest one of these times)!

    I believe the correct answer is Olav Bjaaland who was a famous Norwegian ski champ. It was for the 1952 Olympics in Norway and the flame came from the fireplace of Norwegian telemark-skiing pioneer Sondre Norheim.

  29. November 22, 2009 4:26 pm

    Whew … this one was tricky – all those Norwegian names 🙂

    The first torch for the first torch relay during the Winter Olympics took place in Morgedal, Norway (about 200km out of Oslo) on February 13, 1952. The pinewood torch was lit by Olav Bjaaland, a ski veteran who also participated in the Roald Amundsen South Pole Expedition. It was lit from the fireplace inside Sondre Norheim’s cottage (Sondre was the Skiing Pioneer of Telemark).

    As Olav Bjaaland left the cottage with the torch, the chairman of the Morgedal Sports Club, Øystein Strandi waited outside with the special Olympic Torch holder. The fire was lit from Olav’s pinewood torch, and Øystein handed it over to Olav Hemmestveit, son of famous Morgedal skier Mikkel Hemmestveit. Olav then started a skiing relay that saw 94 skiers participate!

    Something that is really neat is that the Olympic Torch has been lit in Morgedal three times, for the Winter Olympics in 1952, 1960 and 1994. And that each lighting in the cottage of Sondre has been attended by one ski veteran and one representative for the younger generation, both from Morgedal.

    Love stories like this – thanks, Andrea!

    Cheers .. Kate

  30. Patricia Duffy permalink
    November 22, 2009 6:04 pm

    I already answered Olso for the question for the pin draw.

    I thought I would share a personal accomplishment today. I wasnt’ a runner or much of a walker after recovering from surgery but I had determined that I was going to run with the torch and found the Couch to 5 Km run. I have spent almost 6 weeks preparing and my goal was to run our “Three Bridges” before the run. The run is a little over 3 KM and with the beautiful weather I ran over 4 km and it took 25 minutes. I know now that I am ready and a more committed person than ever.

    The pride that being selected and honor that I feel is almost overwhelming. November 28th I run with the sacred flame of peace and unity. I am so fortunate to be one of the Torchbearers and I will never forget this special time.

    I am glad I got to blog about my day. What a rush.. 5 days and I will attend the Celebration in Bathurst, NB and then on Saturday I get to run.

    Good luck to all the Torchbearers. I am so fortunate to be amongst you.

    • Patti permalink
      November 23, 2009 1:52 am

      Hi Patricia,
      Congratulations on your success in getting ready to run with the Torch. I can empathsize with your joy and excitement since I will also be a Torchbearer. My turn isn’t until February 12 and it seems so far away right now but every day when I watch the coverage, I get chills just like I got when I read your comments above.

      Do you know what time you run on Nov. 28? I would like to try and watch you online if I’m home when you run. Have a great time making memories that will last forever.

      Patti

      • Patricia Duffy permalink
        November 23, 2009 6:36 am

        Hey Patti

        I am running at 7:50 AM Atlantic time. The run will be on the live olympic eye I guess.

        I can’t believe it is coming so quickly for me.

        I am almost too excited and too proud.

        P

      • Patti permalink
        November 23, 2009 11:33 am

        That wil be 3:50AM Pacific Time so I’m going to watch (I’m usually up at that time). I’ve been to the CTV website a few times but so far I haven’t seen anyone running. The first few times I was too late and it was all over for the day. I just went there now before writing this and they’re taking a 20 minute break. However, I did notice the update that includes the name of the person running so I will know for sure when it’s your turn and I will be cheering you on from the other side of the country. Enjoy every second of it!

        P.S. Thanks Andrea for starting this blog and giving us the opportunity to connect from Coast to Coast. Hopefully I’ll get to see you run on the live cam when you’re in Montreal.

  31. Bill V permalink
    December 22, 2009 3:20 pm

    Received my Pin today in perfect condition!!!!!!

    Thanks SO much.
    Merry Christmas!!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 88 days to go – Oh no!! I’m in trouble!! « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 87 days to go – More than 12,000 views of 2010vanfan!! « 2010VanFan
  3. 86 days to go – Red Mittens Update… « 2010VanFan
  4. 82 days to go – House of Switzerland! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

