Skip to content

91 days to go – Mascots’ birthday wonderfulness and a new contest winner!!

November 12, 2009

Not to delay… but just scroll down a bit if you’re impatient to find out my latest pin contest winner!  However… I found out some exciting and wonderful news today that I cannot wait to share!!  It is about the Mascot’s birthday!!  Now… their birthday is officially on November 27th, however we’ll be having their party on Saturday, November 28th in the Olympic Superstore!!  I have an unofficial list of events, so you shouldn’t hold me to any of it… but… it’s really great so far and I’m beside myself (and probably even beside other people!) with excitement!!

091 - Mascot birthday

Yes, Miga, Quatchi and Sumi will be celebrating their 2nd birthday in store!!

So what’s happening??  Well, of course the Mascots will be in store (when I know their appearance times I’ll let you know… and I seriously need a picture taken of me with them this time around!!!), there will also be face painting (am I allowed to do this at work?),  a dj, CAKE (I like cake!!), and, wait for it… athletes… including… oh my gosh… I’ll need a box of kleenex ’cause I’m so excited that I’ll cry like mad!… Kurt Browning!!!!  Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh!!!  I jumped and jumped and made crazy noises when I found out!  (Yes, I do that.)  And oh my gosh!!  It’s Kurt Browning!!  And the Mascots!!  And cake!!  I don’t really think it gets better than that!  Ok, maybe just a little bit… I have heard that there will be give-aways that day, but I’m not sure what they will be yet, nor when… so I will be sure to let you all know this information as soon as I get it!!  But seriously!!  Kurt Browning!!  I used to hate skating (stupid toe picks!) but  I have always loved Kurt Browning!

*     *     *     *     *

OK, I’m calming myself, but time for you to get even more excited!!  Now my Mascot Birthday Pin winner!!!  (Drum roll please!!!)  And the winner is Sandy(wps1015)!!  Thanks so much for entering Sandy!  Email me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com with your address so that I may send you your prize, or if you’re in the Vancouver area, let me know if you’d like to stop by the Olympic Superstore to pick up your exceptionally cute pin!!  You’re not Sandy?  Don’t fret!  I seem to be unable to give only one pin away lately!  I added Kate T‘s name to the draw, since she so kindly helped me get my map online and available to everyone and she is the second name I drew!!  So Kate T, I have a Petro-Canada Olympic Pin for you (just got them the other night from  John, a lovely Petro-Canada employee!).  And another!  Just for fun!  Henry!  For his entry that included the sports equipment in Mukmuk’s burrow (you’re all more clever than I, I saw the hockey stick and snowboard, but there was also the jersey and the curling rock!!)!  A Royal Bank Olympic pin for you Henry!  Yay!!  Thanks to everyone that entered!!  You all curling rock!  (Yes, lame puns… it’s getting late at night 😉 ).  Same deal for Kate T and Henry as for Sandy, stop by and see me in the Olympic Superstore to get your pin (just let me know first so I bring it with me) or email me your address at 2010vanfan@gmail.com to get your pin mailed to you!  Congrats and thanks-merci for reading and sharing!!

*     *     *     *     *

And of course… winners also mean that I am contest-free, and I can’t have that!  So, while I don’t have one in hand quite yet… I am assuming I’ll be able to get at least one Coca-Cola 90-days-to-go pins on  Saturday, November 14th, and that is what you could win!  This is a very quick contest… I will draw the winner’s name on Sunday evening (November 15th)… but to enter, you need to get someone you know (or don’t know if you’re particularly cunning and devious) to post a comment answering this question: What sort of creature is Quatchi? And get them to include your name! The names posted in the comments with the answer will be entered to win this pin!  I’ve heard that this pin is very limited, and I’m banking on my being there early in the morning to work as my odds of getting one to give away!  And I did manage to get one of the Coca-Cola Torch pins so I’m very hopeful about this new one!

091 - Quatchi Coke Torch pin

Very cool Coca-Cola Torch Relay Pin with Quatchi!! I've not been particularly convinced of the Coca-Cola pins before I saw this one!

And… on a Coca-Cola note… I had better link to the Open Happiness song, or Herb, my co-worker, and self-proclaimed “Herb of the Happiness Cafe” fanatic (aka ‘Herbalicious’ or ’24 Herbs and spices’), will likely beat me with a Coke bottle (ok, that’s an exaggeration, he’d never use a ‘happy’ Coke bottle 😉 ).  So here it is!  It is very happy and I like that in a song.

*     *     *     *     *

And speaking of happy!!!  Wow, did our athletes ever do well in Skeleton today!  Especially the women!  Amy Gough got the silver medal in the first World Cup Skeleton race of the season in Park City, Utah!!  Followed closely (only one one-hundreth of a second back) by Mellisa Hollingsworth for the bronze!!  And then by Michelle Kelly in fifth!!  The men did very well also, coming: Jeff Pain 6th, Jon Montgomery 9th and Mike Douglas 15th!  Wow!!  Go Skeleton Team!!  Oh, and if you’re interested in Skeleton, read this article from CTV about how hockey and Canadians changed Skeleton!  I really loved this article!  I had no idea that Canadians revolutionized Skeleton, let alone were devious and sneaky about when to expose their new technique!  Eh! O! Canada Go!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 11:42 pm

    Quatchi is a young sasquatch! And Katherine T. is a little bit in love with Quatchi, so I’m entering for her. Yay Quatchi!

  2. November 12, 2009 11:43 pm

    LOVE that torch pin!

    Quatchi is a sasquatch. He comes from the mysterious forests of Canada (where are these “mysterious forests”) and dreams of being a hockey goalie. Go, Quatchi!!

    Rosemary Rowe is not a sasquatch, but she too has Olympic dreams – of being a tester for the luge track. Go, Rosemary!

  3. keith77cdn permalink
    November 13, 2009 1:04 am

    Quatchi is a sasquatch. Its one of mystery creatures we have in bc. They were trying pick creatures in bc area.

    • keith77cdn permalink
      November 14, 2009 4:05 am

      i forgot its me keith e. ( volunteer who saw ya at north van for one of community events. I was wonder are ya going to next one in richmond. I got 11 days in my volunteer schedule 2 of them is not during olympics.

  4. Pifate permalink
    November 13, 2009 10:54 am

    Quatchi is a young sasquatch. thank to Mihnea Cirica,
    Mihnea Cirica

    Regards to all people to Spain.

  5. Melody H. permalink
    November 13, 2009 3:05 pm

    Hi…Quatchi is a super cute sasquatch. I’m entering for Michelle Matias

  6. Sandy permalink
    November 13, 2009 4:37 pm

    Yay for my birthday pin! Thanks Andrea!
    Quatchi is a sasquatch…and I’ll put Katie in for this one =)

  7. November 14, 2009 10:22 am

    Quatchi is an adorable young Sasquatch

  8. Will permalink
    November 14, 2009 12:41 pm

    Quatchi is a sasquatch, a legendary creature in Aboriginal myth. Quatchi is devoted to hockey and dreams of becoming a famous goalie.

    This one is for Philip Lai

  9. November 14, 2009 1:49 pm

    Quatchi is a young Sasquatch .. entered on behalf of: L. Tastard

  10. November 14, 2009 1:59 pm

    Quatchi is a young Sasquatch .. entered on behalf of: Henry M.

  11. November 14, 2009 2:00 pm

    Quatchi is a young sasquatch on behalf of Irene M.

  12. November 14, 2009 2:01 pm

    Quatchi is a young sasquatch on behalf of Elizabeth V.

  13. November 14, 2009 2:02 pm

    Quatchi is a young sasquatch on behalf of Bob L.

  14. Sarah Poirier permalink
    November 14, 2009 10:52 pm

    Quatchi is a sasquatch. An awesome one at that. Met someone in Tofino who was telling me about the sasquatch in First Nations’ beliefs, and her main emphasis was on how sasquatches are covered in hair, not fur! 🙂

  15. Katie W permalink
    November 15, 2009 3:25 pm

    Quatchi is a sasquatch! This is for Sandy W.

  16. Vicentpins permalink
    November 16, 2009 5:14 am

    Quatchi is a young sasquatch. for my friend Victor J.

  17. September 21, 2010 2:00 am

    Just jumping in to say I love your enthusiasm for mascot/athlete/cake combo. Hilarious!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention 91 days to go – Mascots’ birthday wonderfulness and a new contest winner!! « 2010VanFan -- Topsy.com
  2. 90 days to go – Another countdown milestone! « 2010VanFan
  3. 89 days to go – People like pins! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

