Skip to content

93 days to go – I’m getting pins made!!

November 11, 2009

Yes, it’s true, after some fanangling I’m very happy to announce that there will be a limited (very limited) run of 201vanfan.ca pins made and available in the next few weeks! Here’s about what they’ll look like!

093 - 2010vanfan pin

My pin design!!

I am still working out how I will make these pins available, but as they will be very limited they will be very hard to get a hold of as well!  I wish that I could afford to give one to everyone!  But so far I’m paying for these babies myself (I seem to have some illness… I like to call it Olympisitis) so these pins will have to be earned!!  But that’s okay!  ‘Cause I know 2010vanfan fans are up for it!!  You’ve all been doing a great job on my current contest for a Mascot Birthday pin!  Just as a reminder the contest ends Thursday evening, so if you don’t have your answer for the following question in, just comment now for your chance to win!!

Question: What word is Mukmuk’s name derived from and what was the original language?  I will put your name into the draw a second time if you can tell me what sports equipment is in Mukmuk’s burrow in his intro video on the Vancouver 2010 website!

And here’s a picture of the pin you could win!!

094 - Mascot birthday pin

Mascot birthday pin - it could be yours if you answer the above question!

*     *     *     *     *

I went out with Heidi tonight, the winner of my ‘100 days of 2010vanfan’ contest!  We had a great time but were not successful in finding a restaurant in Vancouver where we could have a 10-, 20-, 30- and 40-year old port to make 100 years of port to celebrate 100 days of 2010vanfan!  However, we did have a great evening, and between us, with wine and some 20 year old port each, I think we nearly made 60 years of wine/port-type beverage!  And, as I said before, we had a great time!!  We’ll have to finish off the remaining 40 years another night!  Thanks Heidi for your wonderful suggestion!! (And I just remembered… we should have taken pictures! Drat!  Well, it will have to be of the remaining 40 years!).

*     *     *     *     *

I’m gonna end early tonight (early-ish anyway).  Hope you all had a wonderful day!!  Things to think about… Thursday is ‘3 months to go’!!  Friday is 90 days to go!!  And of course, Saturday is ticket day!!  Phase three of ticketing will be open at 10am on November 14th and I have my fingers crossed that I’ll get some Men’s Hockey Gold tickets!!!  Thank you merci!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Alan Christensen permalink
    November 11, 2009 6:51 pm

    Mukmuk gets his name from ‘muckamuck’ which is Chinook jargon for food and he loves to eat. He really likes berries and mountain flowers! It looks like hey may be wearing some sort of hocky head gear! I always enjoy the looks of the mascots and where they derive!!

  2. Vicki Yehl permalink
    November 12, 2009 10:21 am

    Andrea — I would happily make a donation towards the cost of your pins, to help.

    Vicki

  3. Michelle permalink
    November 12, 2009 3:30 pm

    Hi Andrea,

    Alan is correct that Mukmuk’s name comes from the Chinook Jargon word for muckamuck meaning food.

    Michelle

  4. robyn permalink
    November 14, 2009 11:06 pm

    to win your pin
    muk mum comes from muckamuck,’ Chinook jargon for ‘food,’ because he loves to eat! (Interestingly, Chinook

  5. robyn permalink
    November 14, 2009 11:06 pm

    oops muk muk

Leave a Reply

