Skip to content

94 days to go – My Vancouver 2010 Venue map is public!!

November 9, 2009

Thank you so much to Kate T for sending me the instructions on how to make the map public and to kk+ for sending me the file back (nearly lost the work I’d done a few weeks ago!).  Anyhow, click on the link  * Vancouver 2010 Venue Map on the right sidebar under “Blogroll” to access the map anytime!  Or you can add it to your maps in Google Maps!

094 - Venue map

A portion of my Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Venue Map!!

 

This map is a work in progress.  I will be trying to update it regularly as more venues are announced!  So if you don’t see something you’re looking for, or you hear about something I haven’t posted yet please comment or email me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com and I will do my best to add it in!  I really hope everyone finds this useful and interesting.  I’m pretty happy with it so far but am looking forward to improving it and hearing from you!

*     *     *     *     *

And finally… the photo we’ve all been waiting for… the Mascot Birthday Pin and possibly your prize if you leave me a comment answering this question:

Question: What word is Mukmuk’s name derived from and what was the original language?  I will put your name into the draw a second time if you can tell me what sports equipment is in Mukmuk’s burrow in his intro video on the Vancouver 2010 website!

094 - Mascot birthday pin

Miga and Quatchi with their birthday cake - the Mascots are two years old!!

 

Oh!  And of course, birthday’s need parties and we are planning on having a birthday party for the Mascots at the Olympic Superstore on Saturday, November 28th!  So far I can only confirm that the Mascots will be attending their birthday party but we are working on getting some other activities going as well!  So hopefully I’ll see you around that day!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. elspeth permalink
    November 9, 2009 8:56 pm

    that map is so cool! You are amazing…very quiet….but amazing!:~)

  2. November 9, 2009 11:04 pm

    Yay, great stuff, Andrea!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      November 10, 2009 1:26 pm

      Thanks again Kate! I really appreciate it. Now I need to find more time to work on the map 🙂 Ah well!
      Cheers, Andrea

  3. bmwoods72 permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:04 pm

    Hi!
    Muk Muk name is derived from a Chinook word meaning food.
    Keep up the great work!

  4. November 10, 2009 8:11 pm

    Mukmuk’s name comes from the Squamish word for food (‘muckamuck’) because he loves to eat.

    Inside his burrow is both a snowboard and a hockey stick and sweater, like any good Canadian.

  5. keith77cdn permalink
    November 11, 2009 1:56 am

    that is right location for Games Preparation Centre its beside bc lions training centre in brand new building and also surrey holland park will have concerts and few big screens of olympics and its free

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      November 11, 2009 9:25 am

      Thanks Keith!! I was hoping it was right, and I still haven’t had a chance to make it out there yet. Rats!

      Where would I find more information on the activities at Surrey’s Holland Park?? Thanks so much – Andrea

  6. Jane Kim permalink
    December 21, 2009 3:29 pm

    Where can I get the 2nd Birthday Pin? The theme for my son’s 2nd birthday is the Winter Olympics in Cananda (since I was born there). The Pin on your page would be a perfect giveaway….Can you please let me know where I can order some?

  7. January 8, 2010 3:21 pm

    You’re missing the official art installation in our Main floor event and coworking space, which the Olympics has dubbed “BOB’s Gallery”. It’s free and open to the public every day for over a month. The artist is Trimpin.

    http://www.vancouver2010.com/more-2010-information/cultural-festivals-and-events/event-listings/trimpin–sheng-high_131960nR.html

    163 East Pender, Main floor

    Good work!

  8. January 8, 2010 4:31 pm

    An addition:

    Canada’s Northern House (Yukon, NT, Nunavut) is at 602 West Hastings

    http://canadasnorth.com

  9. Cynde Russell permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:41 pm

    We need more folks with your kind of spirit! We share your joy..and are very excited about the flame passing thru our area tomorrow…Salmon Arm.

    Will keep an eye on your blog!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      January 26, 2010 11:23 pm

      Oh my gosh Cynde, have a wonderful time! The Torch Relay is an experience you’ll never forget! Thanks for reading! – Andrea

Trackbacks

  1. Vancouver 2010 Concerts and Live Performances » Vancouver Blog Miss 604 by Rebecca Bollwitt
  2. Fresh From Twitter today | zu-web.de
  3. 2010 Olympic Games Free Attractions Guide | Vancouver Access 2010
  4. Vancouver's Olympics ~ Creating the People's History of 2010 | Singapore Access 2010 – Youth Olympics

Leave a Reply

