Skip to content

96 days to go – Another busy weekend of wins for Canadian Athletes!

November 8, 2009

Where to start??  ‘Cause really there has been a lot going on!  Well, since I’m a pretty big hockey fan I think I’ll start there, then go on to speed skating and then some non-competition stuff after that!

*    *    *    *    *

096 - 4 nations cup

Meghan Agosta celebrating her goal.

Hockey – The Canadian Women’s Hockey Team won the Gold Medal at the 4 Nations Cup in Finland today!  They beat the American Team 5-1 with goals from Carla MacLeod, Meghan Agosta, Tessa Bonhomme, Cherie Piper, and Jayna Hefford!  The win went to goalie Szabados.  While I was looking up some info on this I came across this Hockey Canada page.  What’s great about it?  It tells you when and where the team will be landing so that family, friends and supporters can be there to welcome them home!!  How cool!  Unfortunately none of them are coming to Vancouver (I’d likely be at work anyway), but if you live in Calgary, Montreal, Toronto, Halifax, Windsor, Winnipeg or Thunder Bay then check out the times to see when the team arrives in your neck of the woods!

 

*     *     *     *     *

Christine Nesbitt

Christine Nesbitt

 

 

Long track speed skating – Christine Nesbitt won gold in the 1,000m World Cup competition in Berlin today!  Woohoo!  She is doing a wonderful job along with the rest of our women’s team!  Good luck to everyone!

*    *    *    *    *

Charles Hamelin

Charles Hamelin

 

 

Short track speed skating – Congratulations to Charles Hamelin, who won gold in both the 500m and 1,500m World Cup competitions in Montreal today!  Wow, great work!  On the women’s side, Kalyna Roberge got silver in the 500m race!  Very exciting!

*     *     *     *     *

Tickets mascots

Miga and Quatchi with Olympic Tickets!

 

 

Olympic tickets – well, today was a little frustrating… Phase 3, the final phase, of ticketing was due to start at 10am today, but just as the site was turned on, it crashed.  Big time.  My mom and I tried for a while, I even got into a sort of half-site and had been able to select tickets but then got booted out as the site continued to stay down.  Drat!!  But as annoying as it is, these things happen!  Phase 2 went quite smoothly and as much as I have heard some people complain and mock, I’m not all that fussed about a site crash.  They happen!  I am appreciative though that the sales date got postponed until Saturday, November 14th now, as I had to go to work today and I was worried that I’d miss my chance at tickets, but I’ll have another chance at Men’s Hockey Gold!!  Woohoo!  So don’t forget, if you don’t already have a ticketing account, you have another chance!  Sign up at Vancouver 2010 now!

*     *     *     *     *

Royals Visit 20091107

Prince Charles and Camilla were in town and visited the Olympic Athlete’s Village.  Neat, especially since they wore some Red Mittens and got to meet the Mascots!

*     *     *     *     *

Let’s see, interesting bits and pieces to tell you today… I signed up to attend my Venue Training as a Vancouver 2010 volunteer!  I’ve been assigned to Plaza and Events at the Vancouver Athlete’s Village and am totally, extremely excited!  However, with work and volunteering and attending a few events I am going to be a very busy girl so I’m currently in the process of trying to sort out my entire work/volunteer/event schedule now which should be interesting, but I’m sure I’ll be able to make it work!

Lastly, both of the contest winners from my last pin competition, Patti and Vicki, stopped in today to pick up their winnings!  It was so nice to have them stop by!  Please do take some time and comment today, and answer the following question to have your chance to win a Mascot Birthday pin!!

Question: What word is Mukmuk’s name derived from?  And what was the original language?  I will put your name into the draw a second time if you can tell me what sports equipment is in Mukmuk’s burrow in his intro video on the Vancouver 2010 website!

Now, I had originally set the deadline as 5pm, Sunday, November 8th, but as I still don’t have a picture up and currently only have 6 entries, I’m going to draw for this pin on Thursday, November 12th (3 months to go!!) and I promise to get a pin and post a picture tomorrow night!  It is really cute but I think everyone would be more excited if you’ve seen it!

*     *     *     *     *

Right then… I think that’s enough for tonight! 🙂 Thank you merci for reading!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vicki Yehl permalink
    November 8, 2009 8:55 am

    Thanks so much for the pin Andrea! Its great…what fun…I am still prepping for my torch carry — It seems so far away (Jan 24th). Keep up the great work on the blog.

Leave a Reply

