Skip to content

99 days to go – Contest winners and a new light show!!

November 5, 2009

I would like to start by saying thank you merci to everyone that posted a comment to enter my latest pin contest!  It was really exciting to hear from so many people!  The winner of the ‘100 days to go’ and 2009 Halloween pins is Patti J!!  Thanks Patti!  And, ’cause I was pretty excited about so many entries I also drew for a second prize… an RBC pin, which will be going to Vicki Y!  Yay!  I like giving away prizes!  In fact… if you read a bit further into this post I will put up another pin contest!

But, as a lot of today (November 4th) was 100 days to go there are definitely some activities to cover about the day…  First off, my Mom Sharon and Amanda from Australia were strolling through downtown Vancouver today, and they very sweetly thought of me near the Vancouver Art Gallery and even took a picture for me!!

099 - Countdown Clock

Amanda the Aussie with the Olympic Countdown Clock - on 100 days to go!!

 

This is so sweet!  I couldn’t believe it when they told me they’d taken pictures specifically for me!  What a wonderful thing to be surrounded by people feeling the Olympic Spirit!  This may be a ‘little thing’ in the ‘grand scheme’ of things… but to me it is the little things that light up my day!  I hadn’t even thought of stopping by the Olympic Countdown Clock yet they thought of me while walking past it!  I feel very privileged to have so many wonderful people in my life!

*     *     *     *     *

OK, had enough sappiness out of me yet?  Probably!  🙂  There were definitely things going on today.  The Mascots were in Whistler (sounds like Gregor Robertson and Ross Rebagliati were too) and people everywhere were wishing each other “Happy 100 days to go” (OK, well, I was wished this at least twice today by Robyn and Krystal, so that is nearly ‘people everywhere’ right?).  Something I hadn’t heard anything about until a Tweet today, was the lighting of a set of Olympic Rings in Coal Harbour!  Apparently they lit them up at 5:45pm tonight!  And yes, I had to work (rats) but I’m a little sad that there hadn’t been a bigger deal made of this!  If I had known a few days ahead of time I probably could have sorted out having my break then and made an effort to scurry down to see the lighting!  But I found out a bit too late!  Request – if you know of an upcoming event, or know of people that know these things… please let me know!!  I’m all about experiencing the Olympics and I’m sad when I miss cool things like this!  Anyhow, here’s what they look like (and yes, I’m going to try to see them tomorrow night!).

SUN1104N-Rings2

Premier Gordon Campbell (I love how many Team Canada uniform pieces he wears!) and VANOC CEO John Furlong with the newly lit Olympic Rings in Coal Harbour!

 

*     *     *     *     *

Oh, and did you know I’m an Olympic nerd??  Of course you did!  I recently did something very silly, which I regret…  I didn’t go to Victoria for the arrival of the Olympic Torch in Canada.  Honestly, it hadn’t occurred to me at all to go over, but on the day, and on the days since then, I’ve felt like I really missed out on something.  Now, I had been thinking for a while that it would be neat to see the Torch Relay as it passes through Calgary or Montreal, our previous Olympic Host Cities, so when the pang of missing Victoria really set in the other night, I made the decision that I will go and see the Torch Relay as it passes through Montreal!

I visited Calgary already for the Red & White Game in August, so I feel that I’ve already done some tribute at least to Calgary.  But Montreal… I’ve never been to Montreal… and I’ve not seen the Torch in person yet… and plane tickets on Air Canada were pretty darn cheap!  So I decided to buy my Air Canada tickets to Montreal and go be involved in this historic event!  I am so very, very excited!  I am so very, very grateful that we are hosting an event of this magnitude that gives me the opportunity to go and explore my own country!

I will leave Vancouver on December 8th, spending the 9th exploring and the 10th following the Torch, and returning on the 11th (with some more exploring time).  I am so excited!  But I’m looking for help/ideas!  I have not been to Montreal, I don’t know where to stay or what to do (besides the Torch Relay) while I’m there and I’m looking for your help!  Send me some suggestions or thoughts!  I look forward to hearing from you!

*     *     *     *     *

And finally, a new contest!  The Mascots will be celebrating their 2nd birthday this month (November 27th!) and I have a pin for you!  (Though I don’t have a photo tonight! I will tomorrow night!).  It is the Mascot Birthday pin, which is also the HBC pin of the month and is limited to 1,200 pins (I think, please correct me if I’m wrong).  Anyhow, it’s super cute!  If you’d like to win one of your very own post a comment answering the following questions before 5pm on Sunday, November 8th!

Question: What word is Mukmuk’s name derived from?  And what was the original language?  I will put your name into the draw twice if you can tell me what sports equipment is in Mukmuk’s burrow in his intro video on the Vancouver 2010 website!

With that little bit of excitement… bonsoir, goodnight!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti Jackson permalink
    November 5, 2009 3:17 am

    YEAH!!! I’m so happy I won this contest. I was going to buy these pins but now they have a much more special meaning. Thank you, thank you, thankyou Andrea….. for everything you do to bring excitment and information to others. I’m so glad I met you on October 13 and found out about your blog. I wish I had met you sooner because I had a lot of catching up to do when it came to reading previous posts but I started at the beginning on July 16 and I”m almost to the end of August.

    I knew about the Rings because I watch CTV news every day now so I can keep track of all that’s going on. I’ll try to give you a heads up of future happenings but I just assumed you knew everything when it came to Olympics!

    Congratulations on your plans to go to Montreal. That’s fantastic. I haven’t been so I can’t give you suggestions about where to stay or visit but I do have a suggestion about the Torch Relay. If you can, try to be at the start because already in the first few days of it, a couple of people haven’t shown up for their leg and the organizers have had to find replacements. Wouldn’t that be great if they needed someone on the day you’re in Montreal and they picked you. You deserve it if they do.

  2. Brent permalink
    November 5, 2009 4:54 am

    Muk Muk is my favorite mascot (or sidekick depending on how the Olympic committee feels at the time). His name comes from the Chinook word “muckamuck” which means food.

    Your trip to Montreal sounds exciting, safe travels!

  3. Patti Jackson permalink
    November 5, 2009 5:18 am

    Not sure if I’m ineligible since I’ve already won a contest so disqualify me if I am.

    Mukmuk gets his name from the Squamish First Nation word for ‘muckamuck’ which means food because he loves to eat, especially berries and mountain flowers.

    As for Part Deux (I’m trying to incorporate more French into my vocabulary :o), there are 4 pieces of sports equipment – a skateboard, a hockey stick, a Team Canada Hockey Jersey and a curling rock. There’s also a foamy #1 finger and I think that’s a horn lying on the floor, and they’re what Mukmuk uses when he supports and cheers for others because he is a big fan.

    Happy Birthday #2 to the Mascots.

    • Patti permalink
      November 7, 2009 11:03 pm

      Oops!I mean SNOWboard.

  4. Vicki Yehl permalink
    November 5, 2009 11:21 am

    I am also stoked re: the consolation draw!!!
    Muk muk in general is my fave…I’ve seen a ‘we are all muk muk’s’ stuff which is just an awesome sentiment.

  5. Diana permalink
    November 5, 2009 2:05 pm

    I was sooooo psyched that they upgraded MukMuk’s status so he doesnt just exist online! He is the CUTEST! His name comes from the Chinook word for food. You gotta eat when you spectate!

  6. November 5, 2009 10:47 pm

    Montréal is amazing–once you’ve been you’ll be telling yourself (as the famous song goes) «je reviendrai à Montréal» (I will come back to Montréal).

    The Plaza is about 100/night plus taxes: http://www.grandplazamontreal.com/index.shtml

    L”Hotel Saint-André is about 88/night plus taxes: http://www.hotelsaintandre.ca/

    Plaza ia a big hotel in the Plateau; St-André a smaller hotel between the Village and Old Montréal. Plaza is nicer but gets a lot of younger Americans coming up for the lower drinking age. But with earplugs it’s fine.

  7. Stephanie Ng permalink
    November 6, 2009 1:42 pm

    Hi Andrea, keep up the great work with your blog! Mukmuk is so cute. His name is derived from the Chinook word for food.

    I went to Montreal in 2003 and stayed with a friend. What struck me the most was there were a lot of old grayish buildings. I’m not religious but since there were so many old churches there I had to see a few of them: Notre-Dame Basilica and the huge St. Joseph’s Oratory. I also went and checked out the view from Mont Royal which had a great view of Olympic Park which I subsequently went on a tour of. My hubby and I always like to eat in the Chinatown of cities we visit and I felt less homesick when we went to the one in Montreal. I really missed seeing the mountains, greenery and newer buildings from Vancouver and Burnaby so going to Chinatown at least helped remind me of some aspect of home. Crescent Street has a lot of cool restaurants and nightlife. Elsewhere there were a lot of crepe places with crepes of all types and combos imaginable. I got a kick out of seeing a woman on a cruiser bike with a baguette sticking out of her paper bag.

    Enjoy your short visit to Montreal!

  8. Jo-Anne permalink
    November 7, 2009 7:57 pm

    Mukmuk is a Chinook jargon for food, he likes to eat – just like me!!It is the 1st Nations language for trading and he (Mukmuk) obviously loves all winter sports, but mostly snowboarding and hockey- he even has his own stick and board. I would love to see everyone win a pin. That would be the greatest reward.

  9. November 8, 2009 9:28 am

    I like Mukmuk because he is passionate about food (like me!!). Consequently, his name is derived from from the word ‘muckamuck’ which is Chinook jargon for food. Chinook was a First Nations trading language.

    Mukmuk certainly likes his winter sports 🙂 He has a snowboard, a curling rock and a hockey stick. He also has a hockey jersey, a foam finger and a horn (not sure if the last two are technically sports equipment but he does seem to like that foam finger a LOT :).

  10. Sandy permalink
    November 9, 2009 12:45 pm

    Mukmuk’s name is derived from the Chinook word “muckamuck”, meaning food.

    Mukmuk’s sports equipment includes a hockey jersey, hockey stick, snowboard, and curling rock.

  11. November 15, 2009 6:53 am

    Awesome news about Montreal! Its a great city. If you want to shop you must hit St. Catharines St downtown, Simons is a great store, Montreal’s own version of H & M. Old Montreal is really nice and historic, cobblestone streets and quaint shops and restaurants. St. Laurent St. is also great for shopping and eating.
    Montreal is much colder than Vancouver in December so make sure you have warm clothes!
    I was going to try to fly into Vancouver just for the Opening Ceremony and then leave the next day but I couldn’t afford the tickets, $725! Yikes! We will arrive in Vancouver on Feb. 19th for all our regularly planned stuff.
    I admire you for making the trek to Montreal. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

