Skip to content

103 days to go – Happy Halloween!

November 1, 2009

I am officially a nerd.  This is what my evening consisted of:

103 - Jack o lantern

My 'jack o'lantern' and the Granville Street Bridge.

OK – you caught me.  I was already officially a nerd but I think I may get some sort of badge for this (or a pin?  she says hopefully! a Vancouver 2010 pumpkin carving pin maybe?).  Anyhow, I hope you all had a wonderful Halloween and had beautiful dry weather like we did in Vancouver (they’re promising rain for tomorrow, sigh).  If you’ve been reading along you’ll know that I already have a Halloween pin!  And I know it’s a bit late, but if you’d like a Halloween pin of your own I’ve got a contest for you!  I will randomly draw a name from all those correctly answer the following question will win a Vancouver 2010 Halloween pin featuring Quatchi and  plus… a ‘100 days to go’ pin!  Oh la la!  That’s a good prize!  The question:

What two animals is Miga derived/composed of?

Answer by commenting on this post!  Only comments will be entered in the draw, not emails or tweets.  Pass this along to your friends.  I will draw a name on Wednesday, November 4th (also known as 100 days until the Olympic Opening Ceremony!!).

Pin Halloween

This very cute pin could be yours!!

Pin 100 days to go

And this one too! The '100 days to go' pin!

In other news: Today was Day 2 of the Olympic Torch Relay!  The Torch traveled through Sooke, Duncan, Ladysmith and many other communities before spending the night in Nanaimo.  Did you have a chance to see it go by?  If so, comment on your experience or better yet, send me photos of the event at 2010vanfan@gmail.com!

OK… really… How does it get to be so late?!  I’m off to bed.  I will endeavour to write earlier tomorrow night so that I may write a longer post!  Hope you all had a Happy and Haunting Halloween!

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Henry permalink
    November 1, 2009 1:40 am

    Keep up the great work, Andrea!!!!!
    The start of the torch relay in Victoria was super…… Carol and I had a chance to go. I am sooooo looking forward to my torch day on Feb. 4.
    Oh yeah, the answer to Ur question is that Miga is a sea bear…… part killer whale and part Kermode (spirit) bear.
    I’ll be in Whistler on the 4th….. have fun at the store.
    ……..Henry

  2. Patti Jackson permalink
    November 1, 2009 2:55 am

    Great pumpkin, Andrea. You should win a prize for that!

    I know the answer to the the contest. Miga is a Sea Bear and she’s part Orca and part Kermode Bear. See you’re not the only nerd! The first 2010 souvenir I bought was the book entitled “The Story of the Vancouver 2010 Mascots” because my dream Olympic job was to be Sumi. That didn’t happen but I’m really happy to be working in the Athletes’ Village.

    P.S. For the draw date I think you mean Wednesday, November 4 (not October).

  3. 2010vanfan permalink
    November 1, 2009 8:18 am

    If you read this post really early, please note that I messed up the date. I`ll be making the draw for the winner on Wednesday, November 4th, not October! Sorry! 🙂

  4. November 1, 2009 9:29 am

    spirit bear and orca!!!!

  5. Vicki Yehl permalink
    November 1, 2009 9:35 am

    Miga is a sea bear. Sea bears are part killer whale and part bear — in Miga’s case Miga is part Kermode bear only found in BC. Keep up the great work Andrea! Love the blog…

  6. November 1, 2009 9:36 am

    Came across you on twitter and now I am following your blog. I also started a blog to document my journey for Vancouver 2010. Its been so exciting so far and will only get better. I’m so envious that your in Vancouver and get to see everything firsthand. I’ll be there soon!
    Keep up the great work.
    Christina

  7. Stephanie Ng permalink
    November 1, 2009 10:00 am

    Hi Andrea, what an amazing jack o’lantern! I really enjoy reading your blog.

    I’m glad it was a nice dry day for all the trick-or-treaters!

    Miga is so cute. She is a sea bear – part killer whale and part Kermode bear.

  8. Nobase2010 permalink
    November 1, 2009 11:52 am

    Miga is a sea bear who got stuck inbetween two forms of animals while trying to transformed from an orca whale to kermode bear.

  9. bmwoods72 permalink
    November 1, 2009 2:56 pm

    Miga is a sea bear- part whale part bear.
    Love the blog.

  10. Brent permalink
    November 1, 2009 5:02 pm

    Awesome blog! I love the Olympics and reading your blog is allowing me to enjoy the excitement leading up the games in Vancouver! I believe that Miga is a “Sea Bear”…part Orca and part Kermode Bear.

  11. Diana permalink
    November 1, 2009 5:12 pm

    Miga is part bear and part whale. Muk Muk is my fave though! My hubby loves your site! Keep on posting!

  12. carol permalink
    November 2, 2009 9:35 am

    Miga is a young sea bear who lives in the ocean with her family pod, beyond Vancouver Island, near Tofino, British Columbia. Sea bears are part killer whale and part bear. (Miga is part Kermode bear, a rare white bear that only lives in British Columbia !!!!!!!!!!

  13. Jo-Anne permalink
    November 2, 2009 12:42 pm

    Guess I should have jumped on this sooner, but. Miga is a sea bear – part Kermode and part Orca. Still looking for that Miga/Teck pin. Have Wade on it too.

  14. Sandy permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:27 pm

    The two animals that Miga is derived/composed of are Orca and Kermode Bear.

    Miga is my favourite!! ❤ Miga

    BTW, awesome blog with great information, keep it up!!

  15. Aaron Philipson permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:35 pm

    Miga: Part Orca and part Kermode bear

  16. November 2, 2009 3:30 pm

    Miga is a sea bear (so cute!) – she’s part Orca and part Kermode bear.

    I just discovered your blog through the Pacific Pin Club. I just got my first pins as an early birthday present – so excited about the Olympics; can’t believe it’s just over 100 days.

    Really enjoying your blog!

  17. keith77cdn permalink
    November 3, 2009 9:30 pm

    miga is . She is a sea bear – part killer whale and part Kermode bear

  18. Alan Christensen permalink
    November 4, 2009 4:25 pm

    Miga is composed of both the Killer Whale and the Bear! That is quite the combination and has made for a cute little mascot! Nice creation Vancouver!! 🙂 I came across your blog searching for Vancouver Olympic pins! I am following you on my blog list and will continue to do so! Here is a “Shout Out” to all you fellow pin collectors!!

  19. Sarah permalink
    September 11, 2010 2:59 am

    Fabulous pumpkin Andrea! Girl got skillz! I must get a Halloween pin, it’s too adorable!

Trackbacks

  1. 102 days to go – Gosh it`s November!! « 2010VanFan
  2. 101 days to go – New Contests!! « 2010VanFan
  3. 100 days to go – The Torch is relay-ing and we’re only 13 Mondays from the Games! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

