Skip to content

104 days to go – The Olympic Torch has begun its Canadian Journey!

October 31, 2009

I don’t have a lot to say today, partly because so many wonderful people have said so many inspiring things already.  The Olympic Flame landed in Victoria after its trip across the Atlantic.  The Flame was transferred from the miner’s lantern that it crossed the ocean in to a small cauldron by Darlene Poole, the widow of VANOC Chairman Jack Poole.  Then the first two Canadian Olympic Torchbearers, Simon Whitfield and Catriona Le May Doan, lit their torch and started the 45,000+km journey.  I didn’t get to watch the Flame land or the Torch Relay begin in person, nor even live on television, but I was so happy to hear the news and watched the replays in wonder.  I do feel particularly privileged to be involved in Vancouver 2010.  Even just to live in this amazing city, province and country as we welcome the world to the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.

So tonight, I will leave it to those more skilled with words than I, and to the photographers that were present for the arrival of the Olympic Flame and the lighting of the Torch.  I do think I missed out by not going to Victoria today, but I think that maybe it will spur me to make some trips to see the Torch along its journey…

OLYMPICS/TORCH

Canadian First Nations Chiefs bringing the Olympic Flame to Victoria's inner harbour.

Torch

Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson and BC Premier Gordon Campbell with the Olympic Flame.

OLYMPICS/TORCH

The second Torchbearers Alexandre Despatie and Silken Laumann with the first Torchbearers Catriona Le May Doan and Simon Whitfield.

 

Links:

Vancouver Sun – Torch Relay; Arrival of the Olympic Flame.

CTV – With Glowing Hearts; videos of the Torch in Victoria.

Vancouver 2010 – Torch Relay, Torch Relay Interactive Map.

I’m looking forward to the next 104 days!  And even more to the weeks after that!  I hope you are too!  Good night, bonsoir!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    October 31, 2009 11:39 pm

    Had the flight not been delayed over an hour, I would have been standing at Songhee’s cradle rock taking pictures of that harbour procession.
    Wade and I saw the road convoy on our drive to Swartz Bay, and there were many folks standing to watch them alongside the highway.

Leave a Reply

