Skip to content

110 days to go – 100 days of 2010vanfan!!

October 25, 2009

Woohoo!  100 days of blogging about the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Games!  It has gone by fast and even though some nights it’s hard to write I am so glad that I am doing this!  I certainly feel like I’m experiencing everything I can with regards to Vancouver 2010!  I can incorporate it everywhere!  Tonight’s example?   I was invited to a costume party and the costume had to be something that starts with the letter “C”.  I went as a Canadian Olympic athlete!  Yes, I am a nerd 🙂 .

I’m not going to write much tonight, more just savour the past 100 days, and anticipate the coming 110 before the Opening Ceremonies.  There will be a lot to do between now and then!  There will be temporary structures going up all over town for venues like the LiveCity sites and Molson Canadian Hockey House.  The National Houses and Pavilions, such as Canada House, US House and Austria House will begin to come together.  The decorations will really get underway, not just the Bay Downtown or the Hotel Georgia, but lots of buildings!  And banners!  And the bridges (both the Granville Street Bridge and the Cambie Bridge will be lit up!).

Gigantic Canada Flag on the construction scaffolding on the Hotel Georgia!

Gigantic Canada Flag on the construction scaffolding on the Hotel Georgia!

I had set myself the challenge to write everyday until the Games begin, however I would like to revise this, as I am pretty sure I’ll be writing everyday during the Olympic and Paralympic Games as well.  It will never be as much as I’d like, as I will be working and volunteering something around 60-70% of my total time during this period (I am hoping sleep accounts for something around 25-30%) but work and volunteering are going to be great and I’ll want to share them!  I’m volunteering in the Vancouver Athlete’s Village for crying out loud!  It’s going to be spectacular!  Then there’s always the actual events… I’ll be going to the Olympic Opening Ceremonies with my Mom.  My Mom, step-Dad, brother and I are going to Molson Canadian Hockey House, and we’ll also be going to the Women’s Gold Medal Hockey Game!  So I have to squeeze those things in too!

And of course… I’m going to want to hear from all of you!  What you’re attending.  What you’re enjoying.  Any photos you may have to share.  I think Games-time this blog will be a lot more collaborative as I’d love for everyone to share their experiences!

Until tomorrow, good night, bonsoir, good luck, bonne chance, and if you happen to be downtown you may want to pick up your ‘100 days to go’ pin (I believe Hudson House in Gastown still has some available) as that happens on November 4th!  Only 10 days away!  Or come and trade me, I have a few to part with!  (I won’t be in store Tuesday or Wednesday).  Cheers!  Santé!

Pin 100 days to go

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 9:04 am

    I really enjoy your blog! I had my final training session for the Games yesterday. I’m a team lead in uniform distribution, so I start working mid-December. Games-times I’ve got tickets for ladies 5000m speed skating, ladies aerials final, women’s gold medal hockey, ladies long program figure skating, short track 500m/ladies 1000m/men’s 5000m relay, men’s curling gold and men’s hockey gold! I have 10 relatives coming out, so I might try to grab some Victory Ceremony tickets for the same night their city pack has them.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      October 25, 2009 9:57 am

      You did wonderfully for tickets!! Wow! Including men’s hockey gold! That’s fantastic (I’m sooo jealous!).

      Sounds like it is going to be busy around your house during the Games, but I’m sure you’ll all have an absolute blast!

      Uniform distribution! Well hopefully I’ll see you there when I go get mine. I’m looking forward to getting started, though I still have to sort out my work/volunteer /event schedule so that I can try to make everything fit!

      Thanks for reading Jawnbc. I really appreciate it and your comments! Let me know if there is anything to do with Vancouver 2010 that you’d like more information on and I’ll see if I can’t post something up!

      Regards,
      Andrea – 2010vanfan

  2. Patti Jackson permalink
    October 25, 2009 9:43 pm

    It was nice seeing you at The Bay last night (I was in a Canucks jersey & had just come from the game). As for my Games time activities, like you I’m a Volunteer in the Village, I’m running with the Torch on February 12 and have tickets for 21 events – the Opening & Closing Ceremonies, 10 Victory Ceremonies and 9 Hockey Games – Ladies Gold Medal, Mens Bronze Medal, Canada Ladies on Feb. 13 & 17 and Canada Mens on Feb. 16, 18 & 21 (my birthday!). I also have the Canada Mens first 2 playoff games at 4:30PM on Feb. 23 & 24.

    I’m going to be very busy but also very excited and happy and I’m already anticipating my ‘Post Games Withdrawal’ but it will be worth it to be able to make so many great memories.

    Please let me know if there will be anything special at the Olympic Superstore for the start of the Torch Relay on October 30. I will probably come if there is. Thanks.

  3. 2010vanfan permalink
    October 25, 2009 10:42 pm

    Hi Patti! It was so nice of you to visit last night. You have scads of tickets! Congrats! So exciting!

    Yes, ‘Post Games Withdrawal’ may be quite bad, but I’m with you in worrying about the experience first and that part later! It’s too good of an opportunity to miss!

    I’m still not sure what will be happening in store on the 30th, but I will try to find out tomorrow and hopefully be able to post a schedule tomorrow evening. Torchbearer and bearer of many tickets! You are a lucky one! Do come visit anytime, I am around quite a lot!

    Cheers!
    Andrea – 2010vanfan blogger

Leave a Reply

