Skip to content

112 days to go – The Olympic Torch is lit! The Relay has begun!

October 22, 2009

Did you watch the lighting of the Olympic Torch at 2am Pacific today?  I did!  My brain was certainly unsure as to why my alarm was going off at 1:55 in the morning but I managed to pry my eyes open and watch the lighting on my computer.  It was really special (I cried)!  I am very envious of the folks that got to be there like Jeff Lee from the Vancouver Sun and Bob Mackin from 24hours.  If it was good over the internet I can only imagine how great it would have been in person!

'High Priestess'/actress Maria Nafpliotou lighting the Olympic Torch from the sun's rays in a parabolic mirror

'High Priestess'/actress Maria Nafpliotou lighting the Olympic Torch from the sun's rays in a parabolic mirror.

There had been some concern about getting the torch lit as the day started overcast, but everything went according to plan!

The first Vancouver 2010 Torch being lit in Olympia!

The first Vancouver 2010 Torch being lit in Olympia!

So now the Olympic Torch is touring around Greece for seven days before being transferred to lanterns like the one below for the Flame’s trip across the Atlantic to Victoria for the start of the Canadian Torch Relay.  Several of these lanterns will be used to ensure that the Flame is not extinguished during its journey, both across the ocean and around Canada.  If you’d like to see the lighting of the Torch, check it out here.

Vancouver 2010 Olympic Flame lantern

Vancouver 2010 Olympic Flame lantern

I wish I could be in Victoria for the beginning of the Torch Relay but I have to work, so I’ll be at the Olympic Superstore that day.  I will post up what’s happening at the Olympic Superstore as soon as I hear what it is!

*     *     *     *     *

I would like to pass on my positive thoughts to Jack Poole, the Chairman of the Vancouver Olympic Committee. and  to his family. He is very ill with pancreatic cancer and may not make it until the Opening Ceremonies on February 12, 2010.  His efforts really paved the way to where we are today.  Thanks Jack!

*     *     *     *     *

6:30am Friday, October 23rd – I woke this morning to news that Jack Poole has passed away around the time I was writing the above sentences.  I would like to pass on my condolences to his family, friends and to thank him again for all of his hard work in bringing the 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games to Vancouver and Canada.  Thank you Jack, you will be missed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

