Skip to content

113 days to go – The Olympic Torch gets lit tonight!

October 21, 2009

Oh my gosh!  So exciting!  At 2am Pacific Time the Olympic Torch Ceremony will start in Olympia, Greece!  The Olympic Torch is lit from sunlight reflected in a parabolic mirror (fingers crossed that it’s sunny in Olympia!).  The Torch will then go on a week-long Relay through Greece before boarding a plane on October 29th to fly to Victoria for the beginning of the Torch Relay in Canada!!

Olympic Torch pin available exclusively to Olympic Torchbearers! (Image from http://weareallmukmuks.com)

Olympic Torch pin available exclusively to Olympic Torchbearers! (Image from http://weareallmukmuks.com)

If you happen to be awake at 2am you can watch the Torch Lighting Ceremony at www.olympic.org.  You can follow the Torch’s progress on Vancouver 2010 or on Twitter @followthetorch.

*     *     *     *     *

I found out today that Vancouver 2010 has linked to my blog through their “Best of the Web” tab.  Check it out here! I’m pretty excited about that!

Other things I’m excited about… Jo-Anne gave me a few pins today (and a Colouring Contest sheet with pencil crayons!  Weee hee!!).  She gave me a very cool Snowflake pin, a Spanish Banks pin, a CTV pin, a Teck Cominco logo pin and a Teck Cominco Sumi pin!!!  Yay for Sumi!!  Yay for Jo-Anne!!  Thanks sweetie!

Teck Cominco's Sumi pin - image from pincollectorssite.com

Teck Cominco's Sumi pin - image from pincollectorssite.com

Now all I need is the Teck Cominco Miga pin and the new Teck round pin with the Medal colours and I’ll have a full set of Teck/Teck Cominco pins!  Neat!  If you have one of these pins and would like to trade for the Halloween pin or a ‘100 days to go’ pin or maybe something else let me know!!

Alright folksies, it’s a short one tonight.  I’m planning on setting my alarm to watch the Olympic Torch Lighting Ceremony at 2am so I need to get to bed!  Goodnight, bonsoir!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

