Skip to content

114 days to go – Some of my new pins and my contest winner!!

October 20, 2009

Yes, it is that bad!  And no, I didn’t buy all of these pins today, I’m trying to spread it out some.  But there were a few today!

Hee hee!  I think I have mostly found my pin calling... Mascots!

Hee hee! I think I have mostly found my pin calling... Mascots!

Yes, I have gotten quite a few pins recently 😀  The top row are the Mascot Venue pins, there are 6 of them: BC Place, Richmond Olympic Oval, Pacific Coliseum, Canada Hockey Place, Vancouver Olympic/Paralympic Centre, and Thunderbird Stadium.  The row below is the Mascot Environment Series on the left and a hockey puck pin on the right.  Here’s what the Environment Pins look like closer up (not my image!).

Quatchi, Sumi, Miga and Mukmuk

Quatchi, Sumi, Miga and Mukmuk (pictures from Artiss Aminco).

Then there are some of today’s treasures!!  Quatchi, Miga and Red Mitten Torch Relay pins!!  So neat!  They just became available today, along with this year’s Halloween pin!  Vampire Quatchi with Miga in a jack-o-lantern!  I’ve heard the Halloween pin is very limited, only 1000 made!  And it is sooo cute!

The Torch Relay pins (apparently one more to come) and this year's Halloween Pin (I'm going to set up somewhere to take better pin photos soon :) ).

The Torch Relay pins (apparently one more to come) and this year's Halloween Pin (I'm going to set up somewhere to take better pin photos soon 🙂 ).

And the last row is an Orca pin which has been out for a while and new pins: fleur-de-lis and maple leaf enamelled pins which are both so pretty!

Orca, fleur-de-lis, and maple leaf pins!

Orca, fleur-de-lis, and maple leaf pins!

Yay for new pins!!

*     *     *     *     *

Now… for the entries for my ‘100 days of 2010vanfan’ contest!  Here are the entries:

Heidi A: “100 years of port to celebrate 100 days of blogging! You (and I) go out and share one glass of port that’s 10 years old… then one that’s 20 years old… then one that’s 30 years old… and finally we top it all off with the 40 year old port! With wine and charcuterie of course!”

Carol L: “To have a mini Olympics !!!!!!!!!either at the Olympic Super Store or at a venue , or maybe somewhere the Mascots might be that day, tying in another event that is already planned ,choosing a few Olympic events ,participants  can win pins maybe hold one the Olympic flames ,as a florist I can make some bouquets ,maybe we can ask Visa ,HBC  .CTV ,Panasonic ,Birks,Coke etc to send a team  either 1 or 4 make a relay !!!!!”

Stephanie N: “Hi Andrea, since you said that no one has given you any suggestions yet how about doing something with a Halloween theme since Oct. 25 is right before Halloween.  People could dress up if they wanted to.
There’s something inexpensive at Metrotown…a haunted house.  I’m not sure what it looks like but it sounds interesting.  Here’s the details and the website: Metropolis at Metrotown – Metropolis Mystery Manor
Or for something a little more expensive and intimate how about a haunted Vancouver trolley tour.  If you have 34 people it would be approximately $13.50 per person.  Here’s the details from the website and the link:  2 hour Haunted Trolley Tours will depart every night at 5:30pm or 8:00pm from your location of choice in the downtown core of Vancouver.”

Krystal L: She had a variety of fun ideas, including getting dressed up in Olympic gear and taking photos all over downtown!

Mo: Also some fun ideas, including going for drinks (never a bad idea!).  Sorry Mo, I know you had more specific suggestions, I should have written some of it down!  I’m a dolt!

Thanks to everyone for their great ideas and enthusiasm!  I think we’ll have to do something with a few of these in the upcoming months, but for my ‘100 days of 2010vanfan’ I think I’m going to go with Heidi A‘s non-costumed (and lower work-required by me 🙂 ) idea of 100 years of port!  Sounds like a heck of a good time.  I will confer with Heidi, set a date, time and location and everyone will be invited to come and join us!  If you don’t like port, no worries, I’m sure we’ll be somewhere that will cater to many tastes!  And of course, yes please wear some Olympic gear (Red Mittens and 100 years of port!) or some pins!  I’ll be sure to bring something to decorate our area with!  Congrats Heidi on winning a Vancouver 2010 Pin Album (and my wine-loving heart)!!  I can’t wait!

I do have some pins from RBC and maybe a few others around that I will be putting up for a new contest soon, stay tuned for details!!

Thank you merci for reading and participating!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. carol permalink
    October 21, 2009 10:12 am

    Pacfic Pin Club Meeting in Vancouver B.C.(Burnaby)
    Sunday, October 25,

    Meeting….The Pacfic Pin Club ..holds its regular monthly meeting on the last Sunday of each month except where there are scheduling conflicts at the Communty Hall. Location:
    Capital Hill Community Hall
    361 South Howard Avenue, North Burnaby
    (Located in the 5500 Block of East Hastings Street)Time:
    9:00 AM to 12:00 Noon-ishAdmission:
    Admission and trading tables are free for Club members. For non-members, the first visit is free and subsequent visits are $10.00 each. The best value is to become a Club member !!Upcoming Meeting Dates:Sunday, October 25, 2009

    http://www.pacificpinclub.org/ for more club info

  2. Jo-Anne permalink
    October 21, 2009 10:16 am

    I’m with you on Heidi’s idea. If it happens to fall around Nov. 3-4 it will be so much fun to join you guys. I’m sure we could have a pretty good crowd. I have many PORT-LOVING fiends that will be in Van. then.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      October 21, 2009 9:00 pm

      We’ll see what we can do! It would be great to have you along! Mmm…. port!

  3. Vicki Yehl permalink
    October 21, 2009 1:25 pm

    Where can these new Torch Relay Pins be found? I went to the Bay today but no luck.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      October 21, 2009 8:59 pm

      Sorry! I should have mentioned, no, we don’t have these new pins in the Olympic Superstore yet. You can get the Torch Relay Pins from Hudson House in Gastown, right beside the Steam Clock. They are really great about getting new pins in! I believe there’s at least one more Torch Relay pin to come. I’ve heard something about a three dimensional Torch pin! Yay! Can’t wait!

  4. wendy permalink
    April 17, 2010 7:00 pm

    such a great pins collection you have, proud of you. Among the olympic mascots, I in fact like mukmuk the fan!! very cute with big belly…LOL

Trackbacks

  1. Twitted by 2010VanFan
  2. 93 days to go – I’m getting pins made!! « 2010VanFan
  3. Olympics Day 8 – Lanny McDonald and lots of other fun! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

