Skip to content

116 days to go – Aboriginal Art Show!

October 19, 2009

Ah… Sunday’s.  They’re generally a very lovely day.  And for the most part this Sunday was very lovely.  I had meant to be writing this from Smithers tonight, a little side-trip I need to do, but life doesn’t like to cooperate with plans and I am at home tonight with a sick dog (she’s already getting better).  I did manage to make it to the Aboriginal Art Show at Canada Place today, but only for a short time (again related to sick doggy).  The show was quite interesting, with a lot of different art forms.

There were a lot of talented artists at the show, many of whose works will be on display at Olympic venues across Vancouver and the other Venue Cities.  These artists will also be featured in the coffee table book O Siyam which is to be released in early November and is available for pre-sale now.

Corinne Hunt, one of the artist’s behind the design of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Medals was there.  Unfortunately (for me) she had a constant crowd of admirers,and I not enough time.  So I did not get to meet Corinne, but I did get to see some of her work up close, and it is truly beautiful.

Human Portrait figure candle wrap by Corrine Hunt

Human Portrait figure candle wrap by Corrine Hunt (please see note below about the images).

Debra Sparrow, the artist that designed the emblem that is on the Olympic Hockey jersey was there as was Jody Broomfield, the artist that designed the emblem of the Four Host First Nations.

Coast Salish woven blanket by Debra Sparrow

Coast Salish woven blanket by Debra Sparrow

Sea Raven mask by Jody Broomfield

Sea Raven mask by Jody Broomfield

It’s getting late again (yes, it always seems to be getting late, it’s ’cause I try to write after 7pm, when the Olympic clock ticks over, however I’m not very good at starting at 7pm!).  So I’m going to leave you with a few more images of the work of some of the other artists there that I haven’t had a chance to talk about before.  I will hopefully be able to share more with you about these artists, and others with works at Olympic venues, in the future.

'Four caribou on the march' by Alan Syliboy

'Four caribou on the march' by Alan Syliboy

Roaming Walruses by Andrew Qappik

Roaming Walruses by Andrew Qappik

Seal bowl by Dean Heron

Seal bowl by Dean Heron

Good night, bonsoir.

*     *     *     *     *

Note on the images: The photos above are from the artist’s websites, or other sites as I did not feel comfortable taking photos of their work without permission and I really didn’t stay long enough to get to talk to anyone.  Plus, I think many of these images do the work better justice than my point-and-shoot in an oddly lit ballroom.  If you click on the image it should bring you to where I found it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

