Skip to content

117 days to go – The Transportation Plan…

October 18, 2009

Alright, so I finally read the information released in the second phase of the transportation plan.  Yes, I did it.  I read what Vancouver 2010 put out as a news release.  And I read the Vancouver Sun‘s multi-page ‘analysis’ of the transportation plan.

Transportation plan... whaddya think??

Transportation plan... whaddya think??

Now, there’s a lotta stuff that is going to go on, with changes starting as early as November 1st (near the Olympic Village, and as far as I know already closed for construction).  We’ll be getting another SeaBus, more trips on the West Coast Express, more bus service and we have already got a second train trip to Seattle that just started recently.  They had already announced that the universities in town will have a two-week shut down over the Olympics versus their regular one-week shut down for reading break.  The biggest news is that VANOC would like a 30% plus decrease in traffic during the Games.

I guess this doesn’t surprise me, nor does it worry me.  I base this on speaking to quite a lot of Aussie’s that were in Sydney for the Summer Olympic Games in 2000.  Sydney is a city of over 4 million people, a lot of water and traffic that is at least as bad, if not worse than Vancouver.  Every person that I have met that was in Sydney during the Olympics says that traffic was never better!

Some people leave town, many take transit that don’t normally, and others choose to walk or cycle.  Yes, there are going to be parking restrictions that will ‘affect’ businesses in the area, however, their pedestrian traffic is likely to be way up.  And to my way of thinking, people walking are much more likely to stop than people driving.

Hmmm… I think it’s going to be a short post tonight.  Partly ’cause it’s late, and partly because even after I read the information on the Transportation Plan, and opinions on the Transportation Plan, I am unperturbed.  I do understand that this is largely due to where I work and live (only 8 blocks apart, though this does require gum boots in winter) but I do also believe that people on Dunbar that work downtown do not need to find a new home in order to keep their job downtown during the Olympics.  It is going to be busy in Vancouver, but fun busy!  Most people won’t have much more than one thing on their mind, and it will likely have to do with the Olympics.

Yes, I’m biased.  And yes, I’d like to hear your views and look forward to your comments.  I had been getting a little concerned about how much Olympic Spirit or Olympism was around in Vancouver, but I have to say, working in the Olympic Superstore nearly everyday really makes me aware that there are a lot of people that are excited about and looking forward to the Vancouver 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games!  And it’s so great to meet so many of them!!

Speaking of which… if you find yourself in the Olympic Superstore please do come say hello.  I’m normally not too far from the Canadian Olympic Committee section (coloured red, white, black and grey, unlike the Vancouver 2010 areas which are more blue, green and white) and can nearly always be reached by any staff member with a radio (think slightly chunky Madonna headset).  I’d be happy to say hello!  And don’t forget!  It’s only 5 days until the Olympic Torch is lit in Greece!!  Gosh!  That means only 13 days the Olympic Flame and the Olympic Torch will arrive in Victoria!  Do come see us in the Olympic Superstore (if you’re not already in Victoria) on October 30th (the day the Torch arrives) as we’re planning a few events (more details to come!).  I’m so excited about the start of the Torch Relay!!  It’s going to be amazing, and if you don’t have anything to wear all the more reason to come visit!  We’ve got a great selection of Torch Relay shirts in stock right now (I so so so want the orange one!).

Right, I’m off to bed, content that the traffic and transportation world is not going to fall apart during the Games.  Tomorrow I’ll be writing from Smithers, BC.  I’ve heard that there are quite a few cross-country ski teams that will be practicing up there so we’ll see what I can learn.  Until then, have a good night, bonsoir!  And don’t forget to enter my ‘100 days of 2010vanfan‘ contest!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bmwoods72 permalink
    October 18, 2009 7:36 am

    I found your blog about a week ago and have read it daily! I am volunteering in Whistler for the Olympics and am really excited about it. Keep up the great work.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      October 18, 2009 8:56 am

      Thanks bmwoods72!

      Volunteering in Whistler for the Olympics?? That sounds awesome!! Do you know where you’ll be working (Creekside, Athlete’s Village, Medal’s Plaza?)? I don’t have any tickets to anything in Whistler and I’ve heard that the buses are full, so no more mountain tickets for city folks, which is too bad but I know you’ll have a blast! Cheers and thanks for reading! Andrea

  2. bmwoods72 permalink
    October 20, 2009 3:41 am

    Hi Andrea,
    I will be working with the Men’s Alpine Crew as a Steward. I am staying in Creekside.
    If you are interested, I have a blog too. It is http://vancouver2010experience.blogspot.com/

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

