Skip to content

123 days to go – How do you show your Olympic Spirit??

October 12, 2009

Wow, time is going so fast!  By the time I post this it will only be four months until the Opening Ceremonies of the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic Games and five months until the Winter Paralympic Games!  Crazy!  Anyhow, I got to go to a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner tonight at my best friend Katie’s parent’s house (Thanksgiving dinner was last night at my house).  Thanks so much to Linda and Paul for having me over!  I had a wonderful time!

Conversation topics came and went as they do, but for this blog, Linda asked a wonderful question, intended for all of Canada I believe.  “How do you show your Olympic Spirit?”  Linda and Paul want to follow the Canadian Olympic Committee‘s request that all Canadians “Paint the town red!“.  They are planning on doing this by getting red christmas lights to decorate with and by buying their Red Mittens!

123 - Paint the town red

It sounds like June and John (also Thanksgiving dinner guests) are onboard with the Christmas light idea!  And I really think a lot of folks will be.  (Though it does make me wonder if Christmas light suppliers, such as Vancouver 2010 sponsor Rona, have thought to order extra stock of red Christmas lights??  I hope so! ) It would be amazing to not only paint the town red, but to have it glow red too!

The Canadian Olympic Committee suggests flying a flag, painting your face, wearing red and making noise to “Paint the town Red” but I know we can come up with more than that!  And I want to hear about it!!  Post your idea as a comment so that Canadians everywhere will hear what you have to say!

*     *     *     *     *

Unsurprisingly, I’m getting in on the Red Mitten action, and even got my Mom in too!  We just got some Red Mittens in our house yesterday and they got worn on our walk this morning (it was chilly out!).

My Mom and I with Red Mittens and the English Bay Inukshuk (and our dog Kelsey!)

My Mom and I with Red Mittens and the English Bay Inukshuk (and our dog Kelsey!)

How do you show your Olympic Spirit?

How do you plan to paint the town red?

Let me know!!

*     *     *     *     *

PS – Red Mittens are available at the Bay and Zellers stores across Canada.  I have heard that there are only one million pairs available, and with how fast they’re selling!  Don’t wait too long before getting yours!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2009 8:33 am

    The red Xmas lights is a great idea! I have Canadian flags for each window in our apartment. I’ve got my mittens. And I’ve been trying to acquire more Canadawear each month, so I don’t have to wear the same clothes every day! So far I’ve got one of the new Hockey Canada jerseys, two older HC ones, one generic jersey. I’ve also got my maple leaf tuque with matching scarf and gloves!

    I was hoping the new team Canada gear the the Bay would have a nice big red jacket :(.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      October 12, 2009 9:18 am

      Thanks for the comment Jawnbc! Sounds like you’re really ready to cheer for Canada!! And you’re right, no red jacket in the Team Canada uniform, but at least there are red t-shirts, hoodies, and lumberjack shirts!
      Cheers, Andrea – 2010vanfan

  2. Sarah permalink
    July 28, 2010 3:00 am

    That’s a fantastic shot of you and your Mum! What a great ‘this is 2010’ keepsake! The morning light is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

