Skip to content

122 days until the Opening Ceremonies – Which means… 4 months to go!

October 12, 2009

It’s coming up so fast!  Only 4 months until I’ll be sitting with my Mom at BC Place watching the Opening Ceremonies!!  So very, very exciting!  Sadly, your 2010vanfan blogger is more than a little sleepy tonight, so I’m going to make it a quick one, even though we’re passing a major countdown date!  So tonight I’ll let you know about a few more contests!

122 - What are you made of

First up – HBC is having a contest called “What are you made of?”  Click the link and upload a story, video, or photo telling what makes you uniquely Canadian! Vote for your favourites (one vote per person per day) and promote your own story!  The top 30 voted entries will make it to the finals where a panel of judges will select the winner.  The prize??  Flights for two to Vancouver, three nights accommodation, transportation and spending money, a package of official 2010 Olympic Team apparel, two tickets to watch a snowboarding event, AND two tickets to the Olympic Gold Medal Men’s  Hockey Game!!!  So wicked!  (Something tells me that I won’t be able to enter this contest, darn employee-not-eligible-type contests anyway! Yup, just read the fine print, no contest for me, but get your name in!! unless you’re closely related to me… sorry!).

Journalism contest

Next – The Globe and Mail’s Journalism Dream Contest.  The Globe and Mail is asking wannabe journalists to submit a story about a sporting event that you’ve attended (500 words or less) or if you’re more photographically inclined, you can submit a photo essay with 3 – 5 photos also of a sporting event.  This is another voting contest, and one voter will win a package too!  The top writer and top photographer will get to attend Vancouver 2010 as part of the Globe and Mail team!!  This means going to events and reporting on them!!  As well as your flights, accommodation, spending money and an Acer Aspire 8935 laptop for the writer and a Panasonic DMC-L10 Lumix digital SLR camera for the photog.  There are also going to be 9 runner-up prizes for both writing and photography.  The 9 runner-up writers will also win an Acer Aspire 8935 laptop and the photos a Panasonic DMC-L10 Lumix digital SLR camera.  And the “voter” prize?  A laptop and a camera!  Vote daily to increase your chances of winning!

*     *     *     *     *

OK, I know that’s only two contests but I need sleep!!  So I will find you some more soon.  I would do it tomorrow, but I will have a very exciting topic tomorrow night!  I am going to the unveiling of the Vancouver 2010 workforce uniforms!!  I’m so happy to be going!  I’ll have to race from work, but I’m happy to do it.  I’ll post pictures as quick as I can!  Good night.  Bonsoir!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

