Skip to content

127 days to go – Photo Contest!!

October 7, 2009

Well, I got one photo that sort of counts today for my photo contest, but only sort of as I’m not allowed to post it!!  So I’ll start with it tonight…

I want to see your spirit!!  Take a photo of you (or a family member or friend) wearing Vancouver 2010 gear and email it to me at 2010vanfan@gmail.com, the first five people that do will win an Air Canada Olympics pinAir Canada very kindly sent me these pins for you guys!  But there are more than 10 of you now, so this is my first contest to give them away and I want you to win!  So take a photo, show me your “Vancouver 2010”!!  I want to give all five of these pins away tomorrow!!

Here’s an example:

See - it isn't so hard, and I even have a cold and look terrible (except for my lovely Team Canada sweater, Vancouver 2010 hat, and Vancouver 2010 ColdFX pins!).

See - it isn't so hard, and I even have a cold and look terrible (except for my lovely Team Canada sweater, Vancouver 2010 hat, and Vancouver 2010 ColdFX pins!).

So send in your photo and you could win a pin!  (I will even pay postage, can’t get much better than that!).  And thanks to Air Canada for the pins!

___________________________________________________________

Other news – there was lots today!

LiveCity Sites Vancouver – A whole bunch more information was released about LiveCity Yaletown (alcohol-free, family-friendly) and LiveCity Downtown (wine and beer will be available).  Both of these locations will be free to enter and feature very big screens to watch all the goings-on!  They’ll be different from each other, but a lot of fun.  I was working on another project tonight (more in a moment) so I haven’t really got much time to discuss the LiveCity sites tonight, but I will try to do so more thoroughly tomorrow!  If you can’t wait, check it out here.

Artist's rendering of the entrance to the LiveCity Yaletown Venue

Artist's rendering of the entrance to the LiveCity Yaletown Venue

*     *     *     *     *

Our Paralympic Wheelchair Curling Team has been selected!  Congratulations to skip John Armstrong from Richmond, along with his teammates – third Darryl Neighbour, second Ina Forrest, and lead Sonja Gaudet and coach Joe Rea all from BC.  The Team’s alternate is Bruno Yizek from Calgary.  Good Work!!  We’ll be cheering for you!!

Team Canada's Paralympic Curling Team, winner's of the first-ever World Wheelchair Curling championship - photo by Darryl Dyck, The Canadian Press.

Team Canada's Paralympic Curling Team, winner's of the first-ever World Wheelchair Curling championship - photo by Darryl Dyck, The Canadian Press.

*     *     *     *     *

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) unveiled the uniforms that they will be wearing at the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Games.  They are dark grey and come with a ski jacket, a polar fleece jacket, and an ear-flap hat.  I’ve also heard that they’ll be buying Red Mittens for all 115 members attending the Games!  So far I can’t find any photos, but I will post them if I do.

*     *     *     *     *

And the project that is keeping me up late??  I’m working on a Google Earth map of all the Vancouver 2010 venues, official and non-official (such as National Houses etc).  I’ll be posting the link up for it once I figure out how to do that!  (I know how to email it, but not sure on the posting… can you help??).  However, if you’re curious, and are interested in helping me get it together/corrected, send me an email and I’ll send it to you (2010vanfan@gmail.com, send your photo for my contest at the same time!! 😉 ).

OK, I’m going to sleep.  Gotta work tomorrow and I prefer happy, smiley me to cranky, tired me!  Goodnight, bonsoir!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jo-Anne permalink
    October 8, 2009 9:24 am

    Ok, you can post my picture, if that is what it takes to win a pin. Guess I can be more positive after seeing your photo – so sorry that you have a cold, good old ColdFX works every time. Never did buy a bottle with an Olympic pin on it. Maybe I should. Oh yea, got my red mittens, love them. I have actually used them for walking Smudge in the early morning, air is nippy now down by the river.
    Jo-Anne

  2. October 14, 2009 4:51 pm

    a google earth layer with all the venues and houses would be awesome. can i get a copy?! 🙂

    kk@kriskrug.com

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      October 14, 2009 6:37 pm

      Thanks for your interest Kris. I will email you the file. I’m still working on figuring out how to post it on my site!
      Cheers,
      Andrea

Trackbacks

  1. 126 days to go – First photo contest winner (and a half :) )!! « 2010VanFan
  2. 2010VanFan
  3. 110 days to go – 100 days of 2010vanfan!! « 2010VanFan
  4. 51 days to go – My Olympic walkabout, what a great day! « 2010VanFan
  5. 29 days to go – Vancouver Walkabout Round 2 « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

