Skip to content

129 days until the Opening Ceremonies – Go Team Canada!!

October 6, 2009

Well, the Canadian women’s hockey team took down the American team 3-1 in Victoria tonight.  It was the first of a six-game exhibition series between the two teams leading up to the Vancouver 2010 Olympics.  Meghan Agosta got two goals, one in the first and one in the third, and Sarah Vaillancourt also got a goal in the third.  The American goal was scored by Erika Lawler.  Anyhow, good work team!!  Hope you had a very enjoyable evening!!

Meghan Agosta going for a goal - photo by Arnold Lim, the Canadian Press

Meghan Agosta going for a goal - photo by Arnold Lim, the Canadian Press

Other than that exciting bit of news, I mostly just worked today.  It’s still busy in the Olympic Superstore, and I’m really surprised at the things that we’re nearly sold out of, most notably the lovely warm Cowichan-style sweater that I’ve been talking about!  It’s very popular!  We have a waiting list!  I also came across a request today that I am still unsure about…  A customer asked about a sheep-skin, or shearling, trapper-style hat with Canada written on it.  Apparently they’re being advertised in some of the national-level papers as the hottest thing.  Now, I’m sure they would be if we had them, but I don’t know that they exist.  They were part of the Torino 2006 Team Canada Uniform, but apparently people have seen them advertised recently, and I can’t find any information on them.  Let me know by commenting, tweeting (@2010vanfan) or emailing me (2010vanfan@gmail.com) if you’ve seen an ad recently.  I’d love to see one and sort this out!  I think this is what they would look like:

Torino 2006 Team Canada Shearling Trapper Hat

Torino 2006 Team Canada Shearling Trapper Hat

Alright, I’m off for some shut-eye.  I’ve got work relatively early tomorrow, but I’m also hoping to squeeze in the Molson Canadian Hockey House update that is scheduled for tomorrow.  So hopefully, I’ll have a wonderful story to tell you tomorrow night about how exciting and fabulous it will all be!!  Cheers, santé!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    July 25, 2010 3:29 am

    When I think about those hand knitted jumpers, I keep getting flashes of a retirement home sweatshop set up in the mountains somewhere. Lol.
    And now knowing that there was a waiting list, I wonder if they were denied bingo in order to work to satisfy demand. *facepalm*

Trackbacks

  1. 115 days to go – Another weekend of great achievements! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

