Skip to content

128 days to go – Molson Canadian Hockey House update!!

October 6, 2009

I got to go to the announcement of the activities that will be going on at Molson Canadian Hockey House today!!  It was a very nifty event to be at!  It was held down at the display suite at Concord Place (I’ve written about the area before!).  Now, Miss 604 (local blogger and podcaster) has already written about it brilliantly, so really I can only add my own personal experiences for the day.

Artist's sketch of the feature bar in Molson Canadian Hockey House

Artist's sketch of the feature bar in Molson Canadian Hockey House

Now, remember, I’m a newbie when it comes to reporter- or press-type things, so right off the bat I was sort of enthralled that the press kit came on a 1GB memory stick that says “Molson Canadian Hockey House”.  Sweet!!  Next up there were appies being offered (very tasty!! – food in the MCHH will be taken care of by Wolfgang Puck Catering) as well as beverages.  Yup, that’s right Molson Canadian!  The 3D model that Concord Pacific has in their display suite had the new features of Concord Place during the Olympics on display; which at 81,000 square feet, MCHH is the main feature of the exposition area.  Vision Co, the execution and PR people behind MCHH say that this is going to be the largest free-standing, temporary structure ever built in Canada!  It is about the equivalent of 5 hockey rinks!

Concord Pacific's 3D model of Concord Place including Molson Canadian Hockey House!

Concord Pacific's 3D model of Concord Place including Molson Canadian Hockey House!

Now, not all of it will be public access.  As I’ve mentioned before, a portion of the tent will be devoted to the International Ice Hockey Federation as well as a portion to Hockey Canada.  For the Hockey Canada part, this is where all of the teams can go to hang out with their families and friends.  Cool!!  (Note to self – get more Team Canada friends!! 😉 ).

But for the public part, this is the area for hockey fans.  It won’t matter where you’re from or who you’re cheering for (though I imagine Canada will always be the favourite).  Unlike the National Houses, this House is about the sport of Hockey!!  And I think that’s a pretty wonderful thing!!  Doesn’t hurt that they will have 40′ HD screens to watch the games on!  (As well as other sports, wouldn’t want to miss the other activities just ’cause hockey’s on).

They are planning hockey trivia, hockey karaoke and other hockey related activities.  And for entertainment, the theme is along the lines of “free-style”.  Tyler Stewart of the Barenaked Ladies has been made the “Executive Director of Entertainment”!!  There will be bands!  There will be comedians!!  There will be hockey legends of past and present (got to see Stan Smyl today!!)!!  There will be a lot going on.  If you’d like to find out more, check out Molson Canadian Hockey House here.  Passes are predominantly sold in 4-day blocks (or waves as they called them today) and while they’re not cheap ($1700 – $2000 per person, depending on the days) they do guarantee you access from 11am to 2am for your four days, with unlimited food and beverages (I’m sure there are some rules on this somehow… if nothing else BC liquor laws, but I’d rather think of it all in a fun and happy way!!).  It does seat about 2,000 people at any time, so it’s big!  It’s also going to need a big staff, in the range of 1,000 to 1,200 people (I don’t know where you can apply yet, but I’ll try to find out).

Tyler Stewart - Executive Director of Entertainment for MCHH and a vital part Barenaked Ladies

Tyler Stewart - Executive Director of Entertainment for MCHH and a vital part Barenaked Ladies

Anyhow, what it all boils down to is that this is going to be a happening and wonderful place to be!  Something to think about when it comes to Olympic hockey… there is only one nation that has ever won gold while hosting the Winter Games, and that’s the USA.  I’d say that’s about to change!  Go Canada Go!!

(And yes, I’m going to investigate our icemaking, and how lucky it may be ;P ).

__________________________________________________________

Other news –

I got a tweet from Birks (jewellery) today that Jennifer Heil has designed a line of jewellery for them but can’t find any of the designs yet.  I will post them when I find them.  Can anyone help??

*     *     *     *     *

A random question… Where is all the Vancouver 2010 in Vancouver??  Odd question I know, but seeing as I work predominantly in the Canadian Olympic Committee section of the Olympic Superstore in the Bay Downtown, I see a lot of Team Canada uniform gear everyday.  But I also see it on the streets already!!  People love this stuff (I even have customers that recognise me when I’m strolling in my sweater!!).  I really do think this is great, but I also wonder if maybe because the first thing people see when they enter the Olympic Superstore is the Team Canada uniform gear that maybe they’re missing the Vancouver 2010 gear…?  Could it be?  ‘Cause I’d be sad if people are missing out on Ilanaaq, the Inukshuk, or Quatchi, Miga, and Sumi (and of course Mukmuk!!).

Have you seen people wearing Vancouver 2010 gear?  Do you have Vancouver 2010 gear??  If you do, send me a photo to post on an upcoming blog!  I will send  an Air Canada Olympic lapel pin to the first five readers that send me a photo where they’re wearing their Vancouver 2010 with pride!!  (oohhh…. contests, I like contests!!).  Email me your picture at 2010vanfan@gmail.com!!

Olympic logo

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Deb permalink
    October 15, 2009 7:18 pm

    Is there an age limit for this event?

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      October 15, 2009 9:48 pm

      Hi Deb,

      Thanks for your question. I haven’t found something that particularly says an age limit but as the venue is licenced I believe it will be a 19+ age restriction. I will try to find out for sure though, as I know a lot of kids that would think it’s a great place.

      Cheers,
      Andrea – 2010vanfan blogger

      • Deb permalink
        October 16, 2009 3:01 pm

        I just got a message from the Hockey House reps indicating that minors would be allowed until 9 pm daily. I have now asked whether the all inclusive food and beverages start at that time also…

  2. richard waller permalink
    November 5, 2009 12:13 pm

    where do i get tickets.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      November 6, 2009 1:35 am

      Hi Richard,

      The ‘last’ and best chance to get tickets is on Saturday, November 7th at 10am. If you already have a http://vancouver2010.com ticketing account then you can log in before 10am and hope that you’re taken early out of the ‘waiting room’ and hopefully get the tickets you want! I have my fingers crossed for you!! I hope to get a few myself! I’d love to be able to take some readers with me to an event!

      Cheers,
      Andrea – 2010vanfan blogger

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      November 10, 2009 1:32 pm

      Hi Richard,

      Sorry I’m slow in replying. There is one round of ticketing left, it will be this Saturday, November 14th at 10am online at http://www.vancouver2010.com. There are also apparently tickets available through a company called Co-Sport if you live outside of Canada. I believe that VANOC is still working on a plan for reselling tickets during the Games, but I anticipate that there will be some available then.

      Hope that helps!
      Andrea

Trackbacks

  1. 127 days to go – Photo Contest!! « 2010VanFan
  2. 120 days to go – I love Vancouver in autumn!! « 2010VanFan
  3. 95 days to go – Would like to post my map! « 2010VanFan
  4. 33 days to go – More places to explore! « 2010VanFan
  5. 29 days to go – Vancouver Walkabout Round 2 « 2010VanFan
  6. 20 days 2.5 hours to go – Updates to Venue map and False Creek « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

