Skip to content

137 days until the Opening Ceremonies – A weekend of wins for Canada!!

September 27, 2009

Wow!  I’d like to congratulate all of our athletes, all of whom did such a wonderful job this weekend!

In Short Track Speed Skating congrats to Charles Hamelin Gold in Men’s 500m, Kalyna Roberge Bronze in Women’s 500m, and to the Canadian teams for Silver in Men’s 5000m relay and Bronze in Women’s 3000m relay!  Great work!

Men's ISU World Cup 500m race in Seoul, South Korea

Men's ISU World Cup 500m race in Seoul, South Korea (photo from CTV)

The Jennifer Jones’ team won the first bonspiel of the season, the Radisson SAS Oslo Cup in Norway.  A great way to start the season.  We had one men’s team in the bonspiel as well skipped by Mike McEwan, they came in 5th!  So with Brad Gushue’s rink winning both of their first two competitions of the season we’re looking good for the Olympics!

In hockey, the Women’s team was playing in the Icebreaker tournament, a beat their local AAA midget competition 4 games to 0!  There was some fierce competition (and great training) for our women!  I can’t wait to see them play in the Olympics!!

__________________________________________________________

My day did not involve a heckuva lot that I would say felt particularly Olympic, but I did spend an overtime shift in the Olympic Superstore today to help to make sure that we’re ready for the Grand Opening on Thursday, October 1st.  It almost doesn’t feel ‘Olympic’ in there sometimes because we’re stressed and focussed on making things perfect.  But then, I hear a laugh, or see a new item, or hear a story, or about an upcoming event and it once again becomes something much larger than a regular ol’ store opening.  I know that companies are making money off of the items that we have for sale, but for me some of those items mean so much more than that.  I guess the first thing that comes to mind is the Red Mittens and the urging of the Canadian Olympic Committee to ‘Wear your heart on your hands’.  It’s huge.  Could you imagine skating across a rink or skiing into a stadium and seeing a sea of Red Mittens?  It is more than a mitten, it’s a declaration to our Olympic and Paralympic athletes of our support and admiration!

There are also the items that focus on Ilanaaq, the Inukshuk that is the emblem of the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics and Man-becomes-Mountain, the emblem of the Vancouver 2010 Paralympic Games!

Or how about the Olympic Torch Relay that starts in 32 days?  We have more than 10,000 Canadians that are going to carry the Olympic Flame across our Nation!  I’m so proud to say that I know two of them: Robyn and Vicki!  For goodness sake, I cried holding a replica Torch, which is 1/3 of the actual Torch size, I’m going to cry like a baby when I get to hold an actual Torch!  (Thanks Vicki for offering! I am really looking forward to it, though I may need lots of tissues!).

Replica Olympic Torch

Replica Olympic Torch

OK, so I’m waxing poetic a bit tonight, which I’m not all that inclined to do on such an extensive scale normally, but somehow I’m just feeling the Olympic Spirit this evening.  It comes from offers to hold an Olympic Torch.  From a crew of people working together to make something perfect.  From a great pin trade (thanks Krystal, totally love my Omega pin!).  From writing an interview email to an Olympic athlete.  And also from my own hopes and dreams that we, that Canada, will make this a Games to remember for all of our athletes in the Olympics and the Paralympics!  These people train, practice and push themselves in ways most of us never experience.  I admire that.  I also am proud that the World will be looking at us.  I want to do all that I can to make them all feel welcome, and hope that you do to.

And of course, I stand behind our Canadian Olympians and Paralympians with my Red Mittens, and cheer them to be the best that they can be!  Go Canada Go!!

139 - Red Mittens

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicki Yehl permalink
    September 28, 2009 8:12 pm

    Andrea — I’m totally serious…I will let you hold my torch; and maybe some of the other torchbearer paraphenalia (sp?). I am so stoked…I cannot wait…did you know that there are special torchbearer pins? I will try to get one for you! Cheers, Vicki

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      September 28, 2009 11:19 pm

      You rock!! I’m so excited! I’m not even a Torchbearer! I can’t imagine how excited you must be!! Do you know where you’re carrying the Torch? I should start making plans now to be in the area!! Would you be willing to do an interview of some sort? Things like “How did you get to be a Torchbearer?” “What are you looking forward to most?” Whaddya think? 😀

      • Vicki Yehl permalink
        September 29, 2009 2:44 pm

        I am running on January 24th in SE BC near Trail, well between Nelson and Osooyoos.
        Still waiting to get more details…I’d be happy to tell you about how I got the torchbearer spot…it was through work (as Teck is providing the metals for the medals)…cool eh?

Leave a Reply

