Skip to content

145 days to go – Royal Canadian Mint “Olympic Moments” coins, plus more on USA House!!

September 20, 2009

I have spent sometime tonight looking for more information on some of the Olympic Houses and Pavilions but am not having luck confirming some clues that I have, so I’m afraid some of them will have to continue to wait.  However… I can say with a high level of confidence that my guess that the Team USA House will be in the new condo building (currently called ‘Living Level’) at the corner of Seymour Street and Nelson Street is correct!  I can’t name my source as of yet but it was awfully gratifying to find some confirmation today of my sleuthing yesterday!

Alright!  Enough patting myself on the back, because my main story today amuses me as I just mentioned the FREE Collector Coin Cards available at Petro-Canada yesterday, and today??  The Royal Canadian Mint announces the three “Olympic Moments” coins that had been kept under wraps (talk about my timing being off… sigh).  Anyhow, the three coins are: 1) Men’s Ice Hockey – commemorating their Gold medal in 2002, 2) Women’s Ice Hockey – commemorating their Gold medal in 2002, and 3) Cyndi Klassen – commemorating the 5 medals she won in long track speed skating in 2006!!  Now comes the tricky part… the mint is making 22 million of each of these coins in the plain metal used for quarters, however, only 3 million of the 22 million will be in colour!  They will be hidden in random rolls of quarters throughout Canada.  So, if you have to have yours in colour (see the photos below) you can order a collector’s set from the Mint.  If you’re going to be brave and try to find them, well I’m with you!!  (I really hope this doesn’t mean I go and buy rolls of quarters until I find them…).

Olympic Moments - #1 Men's Hockey Gold 2002 Coin

Olympic Moments - #1 Men's Hockey Gold 2002 Coin

Olympic Moments - Women's Hockey Gold 2002 Coin

Olympic Moments - #2 Women's Hockey Gold 2002 Coin

Olympic Moments - #3 Cyndi Klassen's 5 medals in 2006

Olympic Moments - #3 Cyndi Klassen's 5 medals in 2006

Olympic Moments coloured coins in a collector's set

Olympic Moments coloured coins in a collector's set

The dates for these coins (and the remaining coins to be released) are:

So keep an eye out, or visit your local RBC branch to try to get yours!  September 29th is coming up fast so don’t forget!!

It’s late, so tonight will be short.  I hope you’re all well and happy, wherever you may be.  Thank you merci for reading.  Until tomorrow…

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Krystal permalink
    September 20, 2009 2:54 pm

    Ohh.. I need to get my hands on those quarters before my boyfriend finds out about them!

  2. Margaret Mashford permalink
    November 6, 2009 6:56 am

    Could you please e-mail release dates of new coins (Olympic) released by the royal bank
    Looking forward to it, have not missed one roll yet.
    Great Job
    Congrats on having the games in your city
    Margaret

  3. Sharon Isbill permalink
    November 26, 2009 10:11 am

    I would like five holders for the olympic coins.,for my five gandkids.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      November 27, 2009 1:29 am

      Hi Sharon,

      I’m afraid that you’ll have to visit the Royal Canadian Mint website to order the coin cards. There is a link on this page. Thanks for reading!

      Andrea – 2010vanfan blogger

  4. Mary permalink
    March 11, 2010 6:46 pm

    How does one obtain Cyndi Klassen,s quarter with the red?

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      March 15, 2010 6:11 pm

      Hi Mary,

      You can check in your change, or ask at a Royal Bank branch if they have any available. If that doesn’t work email me your address and I can send you one. I just can’t do this for everyone as I only have a few myself 🙂 2010vanfan@gmail.com

      Happy Paralympics to you!
      Andrea

  5. tess scott fan permalink
    May 23, 2010 7:27 am

    how can i find the women hocky without rbc?

  6. tess scott fan permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:34 am

    do you have to be a member to trade coins with RBC?

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      May 24, 2010 12:46 pm

      Thanks for your question.

      I do not believe that you have to be a RBC customer to exchange coins at any of their branches but I am also not sure that they will have many coins left. Your best bet is really just to go through your change, or if you are really interested in getting a hold of a specific coin then you may want to try ebay.ca.

      Hope that helps!
      Andrea

  7. wanda locke permalink
    October 5, 2010 1:20 pm

    i am looking for the coin collector cards ….cant find them anywhere ……does anyone know where i can find them …..

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      October 19, 2010 5:45 pm

      Sorry everyone. I haven’t heard of anywhere to find cards for a long time now. Maybe pester your neighbours?? Some people may have grabbed some and put them to the side.

Trackbacks

  1. 87 days to go – More than 12,000 views of 2010vanfan!! « 2010VanFan
  2. 45 days to go – Quick Christmas visit to Kamloops « 2010VanFan
  3. 39 days to go – 2010vanfan goes to Hawaii « 2010VanFan
  4. 29 days to go – Vancouver Walkabout Round 2 « 2010VanFan
  5. Olympics Day 3 – Adventures in Speed Skating! « 2010VanFan
  6. 6 days 10 hours to go – A bit of a cold « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

