Skip to content

153 days to go – a peek into the world of Vancouver

September 12, 2009

I have a very nifty program on my phone that fetches an image from some webcam from somewhere in the world and makes it my background for about half an hour before a new photo arrives.  I am terribly fond of this program and am really enjoying seeing the world through my phone.  Anyhow, it got me thinking that since not everyone who reads this blog is in Vancouver, then some links to some webcams would be pretty cool.  You’ll be able to click and see what is happening here in this fair city I call home!

Science World from the Olympic Village seawall - this is a photo I took, not a webcam image.

Science World from the Olympic Village seawall - this is a photo I took, not a webcam image.

There are a few that I really like.  Try Kat Kam which looks out over English Bay and the mouth of False Creek.  This is my favourite webcam because I have a silly superstition.  I count the number of ocean liners in the harbour and the higher the number the happier the day will be (bonus point for ferries and cruise ships!).  Of course, I tend to think most days are pretty good, but I do count the ships, every time I’m near the harbour.  Kat Kam can be your way to count ships if you can’t see them from where you are.

Room with a View is photographed from the Westin Bayshore and shows Coal Harbour and Burrard Inlet.  Very pretty location and the site has links to webcams from other hotels around the world.

Vancouver.com has a few live webcams.  “North” looks over Canada Place and Seabus. “South-East”  looks out towards False Creek.  The building with the pale green roof is the Sun Tower and the big, white, marshmallow-y thing is BC Place.  Their website also has some neat information on Vancouver.  Worth a look!

And since I like ships… the Port Metro Vancouver has 14 webcams that you can check out as well.

I hope you enjoy taking a look at Vancouver.  Today was gorgeous, sunny and hot (in September?? fantastic!).  If you know of another webcam that should be added to my list, please comment or email (2010vanfan@gmail.com).  If you know of a webcam widget thing-a-ma-jig that I could put on my blog please let me know too!  ‘Cause that would be rather cool!

This is the image of Mukmuk that is on my new fleece blanket.  So cute!

This is the image of Mukmuk that is on my new fleece blanket. So cute!

My day was a bit light on Vancouver 2010.  I did buy a Mukmuk fleece blanket (so adorable, and yes, Miga, Sumi, and Quatchi all have their own blankets too!  Apparently only from the Olympic Shop in the Bay though as I can’t find them on the Vancouver 2010 shop website).  Oh, and we went to the Great Big Sea concert tonight (with guests from the Skydiggers) at Malkin Bowl in Stanley Park and it sounds like they’ll be around for the Olympics!  Yay!

Hope that you had a lovely sunny day as well!  Thank you! Merci!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. elspeth permalink
    September 12, 2009 7:47 am

    Hi there,

    Whistler Blackcomb also has a good webcam

    http://www.whistlerblackcomb.com/weather/cams/whistler/index.htm

    and it look beautiful up there today!

    Have a good weekend.

  2. February 5, 2010 9:56 am

    Looking at buying one of those blankets and was wondering if you could tell me the dimensions of the one you bought? Haven’t been able to find them on any of the sites that are selling them!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 5, 2010 10:10 am

      Hi Alyson,
      They are about 3′ wide and 4′ long, and they’re super snuggly. I love my Mukmuk blanket!
      Happy Olympics!
      Andrea

Trackbacks

  1. Links updated « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

