Skip to content

157 days to go – Win a medal, get a free tattoo??

September 7, 2009

I was walking along Davie Street today when I saw a sign that caught my eye…

Free Olympic Tattoos for medallists

Free Olympic Tattoos for medallists?!

West Coast Tattoos is offering free Olympic tattoos for Olympic medallists (don’t know about Paralympic tattoos for Paralympic Medallists).  I am also unsure about their use of the logos, but then, I didn’t know that West Coast Tattoos had moved either!  It was a whole bunch of surprises all at once.  However, I do think it’s a pretty sweet offer.  I am not a tattoo sort of girl, but I have always said that if I was involved in a huge, bigger-than-me sort of event, I would get it tattooed on me.  My example was always “Say, if I went to the Olympics”.  Now, I am not likely to ever get to the Olympics as an athlete.  But I certainly get why you would get a tattoo if you were.  So, Olympic athletes, if you want a tattoo, I’d say take them up on the offer (I have always heard good things about them).  Oh, and West Coast Tattoos have moved off of Davie Street.  Check the link above if you’re interested.

I also spent some time today learning about Concord Place.  Real estate developer Concord Pacific has a large plot of so far undeveloped land on the north side of False Creek.  They are going to be leasing out their land for Vancouver 2010 to be a “community exposition site”.  Sounds intriguing.  The Concord Pacific showroom will remain, but will be joined by others.  So far, the released list of tenants includes Hockey Canada, the International Ice Hockey Federation, Molson Canadian Hockey House and the Government of Saskatchewan.  I have previously reported on Molson Canadian Hockey House (don’t forget to sign up with them if you want to get up-to-date news and info on access!).

Schematic of Concord Place's layout on the north side of False Creek.

Schematic of Concord Place's layout on the north side of False Creek.

The Government of Saskatchewan’s area will consist of two structures, a business centre and an entertainment venue featuring Saskatchewan hospitality, entertainment and food.  They’re also going to have a pavilion in Whistler for the Paralympic Games!  It sounds like they’re really going to put a lot into this and I’m looking forward to getting to Concord Place and checking out the exhibitions we already know will be there, as well as the exhibitions that are going to be announced in the near future (and yes, I will be announcing them as I hear about them!).

Gotta get to work early in the morning so I’m going to say goodnight and bonne nuit!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 8:34 am

    You could have at least mentioned where WestCoast Tattoo moved to. That would be
    2108 E Hastings………. just west of Nanaimo St. Good article though.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      September 8, 2009 3:05 pm

      Sorry! This is the problem with writing at night, sometimes my brain has fallen out of my ear and I forget the obvious 🙂 Thanks for the comment though. I’m looking forward to hearing who takes you up on your generous offer!

Trackbacks

  1. 51 days to go – My Olympic walkabout, what a great day! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

