Skip to content

184 days to go – Meet the Mascots: Quatchi!

August 11, 2009
tags: ,
I think Quatchi may be my favourite Mascot. He’s big and fluffy and a hockey playing sasquatch for goodness sake! What’s not to like??


Here is what Vancouver2010 has to say about him.

Quatchi is a young sasquatch who comes from the mysterious forests of Canada. Quatchi is shy, but loves to explore new places and meet new friends.”

“Although Quatchi loves all winter sports, he’s especially fond of hockey. He dreams of becoming a world-famous goalie. Because of his large size, he can be a little clumsy. But no one can question his passion. He knows that if he works hard and always does his best, he might one day achieve his dream. Quatchi is always encouraging his friends to join him on journeys across Canada. He is also often recruiting others to play hockey – or at least to take shots at him!”

“The sasquatch is a popular figure in local native legends of the Pacific West Coast. The sasquatch reminds us of the mystery and wonder that exist in the natural world, igniting our imagination about the possibility of undiscovered creatures in the great Canadian wilderness.”

His hobbies include hockey, photography and travel and he loves to try all kinds of foods.

And this pin demonstrates why I love Quatchi! He may be a hockey player but he’s a big suck too! Miga looks so happy and Quatchi looks like he may cry! I have seen the Mascots only once in person, on Canada Day, but not near enough for me to get a photo. Sigh. I guess I’ll have to wait until another event. Though I do feel more than a bit silly since it seems to be mostly six year olds that want to see the Mascots. Guess I’m just a kid at heart!

Have a good night. Thank you, merci.


7 Comments leave one →
  1. jasmine permalink
    February 1, 2010 5:07 pm

    our teacher
    was asking us a question by the feb.2

    what do youy look like

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 1, 2010 5:10 pm

      Hi Jasmine,
      There is a picture of me on the “About me” tab. Or you can look on my Montreal photo album for a few more photos. Or were you asking about Quatchi?? πŸ˜€

      Hope that helps,
      Andrea – 2010vanfan

  2. jasmine permalink
    February 1, 2010 5:09 pm

    IM SO EXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXCITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTEEEEEEEEEEEEEDDDDDDDDDDDDD

  3. July 4, 2010 4:10 am

    Ha! I share your ‘I’m a grown up but I love Quatchi’ stance. He’s adorable. I love that he has a tattoo, so he’s a little bit hardcore as well πŸ˜‰
    He also reminds me of Ludo from Labyrinth, it took me a week to figure out where that sense of the familiar came from, Jim Henson!

Trackbacks

  1. 172 days to go – Meet the Mascots’ designers! « 2010VanFan
  2. 50 days to go – Tickets and Mittens and pins oh my! « 2010VanFan
  3. 9 days 18 hours to the Paralympics – The Torch Relay has started! « 2010VanFan

Leave a Reply

