Skip to content

194 days to go – Nanaimo and harbour float planes

August 1, 2009

Woke up in beautiful Nanaimo this morning. Such a treat! It’s been quite a while since I’ve been to the island. We strolled around the downtown area (gorgeous), had breakfast at Modern Cafe (yummy!) and I could seriously see living here. Anyone know about jobs in Nanaimo?? I’m useful! I really am!

Then off to Ladysmith to visit my aunt, my cousins, the new baby and assorted others! It’s been pretty great so far! BBQ in the back yard (small wasp nest, but it will be gone soon). And generally just hanging out and chatting. It’s been lovely. However, this has resulted in not much in the way of Olympics stuff. Partly because the Olympics come to Ladysmith (on the 49th parallel!) tomorrow in the form of a video on the Olympic torch relay at Ladysmith days in the evening. I’m going to miss it, but Coral is going to try to make it and maybe take some pictures and tell me what it’s all about. But that’s tomorrow! So I don’t really have too much to say about it today.

I can say that Nanaimo is looking vibrant! And if you wanted to visit the Olympics and BC for a few days, Nanaimo would be a good place to be. There are float planes that leave from the downtown harbour, and ferries that don’t take long to get to! The flight across costs somewhere in the vicinity of $150 return, but I would guess that Nanaimo will be much quieter during the games than Vancouver!


Ack! I just remembered a horrible rumour! I have heard that there is going to be a no-fly zone around Vancouver and that this would include the small air providers, including float plane companies in and out of Vancouver, and even model airplanes! A recent story in the Province indicates some interesting restrictions (ex. paragliding) but not much information on the businesses that rely on inter-harbour or city flights for their income. Anywho… tonight, I’m not finding anything from VANOC on their restrictions, and I’m sleepy, so I think I will try to look tomorrow.

Sleep well Oly fans! Thanks for reading!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    July 4, 2010 3:08 am

    Gosh, I want to go to Nanaimo and Vancouver Island so much, and your entry was so great and positive, I just want to go even more!

Leave a Reply

