Skip to content

204 and counting – YVR airport

July 22, 2009

I went through YVR fairly early this morning on my way to visit my aunt Melinda in Lake Havasu City, Arizona. The differences between YVR and the Las Vegas airport are astounding! But really, YVR is really its own airport, and improving everyday.

There has been a plethora of Native Canadian art within the airport for years but there seems to be more lately, and I’m sure I’m not imagining that. There doesn’t seem to be much on the YVR Airport website past much of the art that has been there for years, such as The Spirit of Haida Gwaii, The Jade Canoe by Bill Reed. It is the second bronze casting of the sculpture, the first is known as The Spirit of the Haida Gwaii, The Black Canoe, which is installed at the Canadian Chancery in Washington, DC.


Next time you find yourself in YVR, take some time to look around. There is art everywhere, the windows, or hanging from the ceiling or in more obvious display cases. I am impressed with the commitment to the arts that YVR obviously has and can only hope that other venues throughout the Lower Mainland follow suit.

Besides the art, YVR unveiled their Public Observation Area on July 16th. It is pretty special that we have a beautiful place to observe the workings of the airport from. It is equipped with electronic information booths and telescopes, as well as the BC Explorer, a flight simulator over BC that the user can control. I didn’t have a chance to get up to the Observation Area this time though I will make sure to go soon.

Other interesting tidbits… there are six Olympic Stores throughout the airport now. Six! Crazy, but always filled with interesting things, no YVR Olympic pins though 😦 And not much longer until the Canada Line is done! That will be great!


Two asides – while looking for info on the Canada Line I discovered that there will be a “Granville Showcase” this Saturday, July 25th from 2 – 7pm. Most interestingly they’re going to have the City Centre Station open for viewing! Go, take a look! I won’t be able to make it so I need reports!!

My second aside, because Melinda thinks it’s fabulous, is that I got ID’d at the restaurant tonight in Lake Havasu City. Rather flattering. I didn’t even know he’d asked the first time. He had to ask again before I figured out that he was IDing me. Fancy.

OK, off to sleep for me. Lots to do tomorrow (scout online for pins, read up on Olympic news stories, bask in 45+ Celsius degree heat, you know, the usual). ‘Night!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. alisa permalink
    July 23, 2009 11:48 am

    Hi Andrea,

    Glad to head you like our airport! If you want more photos of the art in and around YVR, check out the Vancouver International Airport Art Foundation's website: http://www.yvraf.com

    Cheers,
    Alisa
    YVR Communications

  2. Andrea - 2010 Van Fan permalink
    July 25, 2009 7:45 am

    Thanks Alisa. Cool – YVR has seen my blog!

Leave a Reply

