Skip to content

208 days to go – Meet the Mascots – Miga!

July 18, 2009

I suspect many people aren’t particularly familiar with the mascots of our games, or how they came about. Between now and the games I’ll cover all three of our mascots (and the ‘assistant’ type guy). I suspect it won’t take me that long to get to all of the mascots, ’cause they’re pretty cute, and I’m fascinated by them!

Anyhow, today starts with Miga! I am starting with her because she’s cute, small and on the Canada Day pin this year. And I love this year’s Canada Day pin! I volunteered at Canada Day at Canada Place and gave out tonnes of Canada Flag pins, Canada Flags, Canada Flag temporary tattoos and other swag but I was asked repeatedly where I got my Miga pin. Sadly (for everyone else) I got her from the Olympic Store Online before the day. The best part is that they only made 2010 of these pins! So they are relatively rare, and will make good traders (yup, that’s how “Van Fan” I am!!). I will discuss in a later post how you determine how limited your official Olympic pins are (there are several categories). Below is this year’s Canada Day pin.

Here is the official story behind the mascot:

Miga is a young sea bear who lives in the ocean with her family pod, beyond Vancouver Island, near Tofino, British Columbia. Sea bears are part killer whale and part bear. (Miga is part Kermode bear, a rare white bear that only lives in British Columbia.)”

“The sea bear is inspired by the legends of the Pacific Northwest First Nations, tales of orca whales that transform into bears when they arrive on land. The Kermode bear is a rare white or cream-coloured sub-species of the black bear that is unique to the central West Coast of British Columbia. According to First Nations’ legend, Kermode bears – also known as Spirit Bears – were turned white by Raven to remind people of the Ice Age. Orcas are also honoured in the art and stories of West Coast First Nations, as travellers and guardians of the sea.”

Home: On the coast of Vancouver Island
Hobbies: Surfing, snowboarding, anything exciting.
Favourite Food: Wild salmon (Salmon jerky, BC roll, smoked salmon, etc.)
Dream: To land a corked 720 on the half pipe.
Favourite colour: Forest Green

See more about Miga here!

I am pretty impressed at the characters they came up with. I recognise that some people are not thrilled with our mascots but they are really meant to appeal to young children, to interest them in sport and international cooperation, and I believe that they accomplish that admirably!

Leave a Reply

