Skip to content

Packing it up and putting it away – the city winds down (the blue jackets plot)

March 25, 2010

David Lam park is looking more like David Lam park and less like LiveCity Yaletown every day.

Science World is no long Sochi Russky Dom.

Scrim (the pretty decorative fence cover) has been removed from all of the fencing.  Heck, most of the fencing has been removed.

Yesterday a big crane/boat thing was pushed into False Creek to remove the buoys holding the barrier across the water in place.

The crane being pushed into False Creek.

Things are going back to normal in Vancouver.  Well, as normal as they possibly could be after hosting a very successful Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.  Some things will never be the same.  We have the Canada Line, improvements to the Sea-to-Sky highway, new sports facilities (I hear that you’ll be able to try bobsledding with a pro-driver next year!).  But it isn’t just the infrastructure that’s changed, I really believe it is a lot of hearts that have too.  Writing this, I have some confused  combination of Dr.Seuss’s Grinch blending with the Vancouver 2010 motto in my head.  Let’s see…

“And what happened then? Well, in Vancouver they say that everyone’s heart glowed three times brighter that day. And then – the true meaning of the Olympics came through, and our athletes found the strength of *all*Canadians , plus two!”

Ah dear… my PODS (post-Olympic depression syndrome) must really be bad!  I’m turning to children’s books for comfort.  Thank goodness for Dr. Seuss!

*     *     *     *     *

Besides watching the city slowly be transformed from Olympic and Paralympic Games host to regular city, today was the first day I’ve had a chance to look at the blogs that I used to read every day.  It is wonderful to get to read posts from Christina, Joyce, Rachael and all the rest on my ‘Daily Read Sheet‘, even if it is after the fact.  We had similar experiences and we each had unique experiences, but all in all it looks like everyone had an amazing time, and we’re all quite sad that it is over.

And yet, somehow, there is something afoot…

I hear murmurs from all directions… from people volunteering for Vancouver 2010… from people working for VANOC, contracting companies or the Olympic Superstore… and from fans of the Games…  I am hearing ‘See you in London‘ often in a slightly hushed voice but I am hearing it a lot.  We’re going.  And we’re planning already.  Many of us have already registered to volunteer (you can do so by visiting the London 2012 site here) and a few are even looking for jobs (yes, I’m one of those).  As John Furlong said to us in his speech at the Closing Ceremonies of the Paralympic Winter Games – “Once a blue jacket, always a blue jacket”.  And there are going to be ‘blue jackets’ showing up at Olympic and Paralympic Games around the world for a very long time.  (Some of us are already planning further than London – on to SochiRioAnnecy/Munich/Pyeongchang…).  Oh! And if you are interested in London, you may want to consider registering for ticketing.  You don’t have to buy any tickets yet but they’ll add you to the list so that you don’t miss out on ticketing updates!

*     *     *     *     *

I am working on getting my new blog site set up, however as I am going to be hosting the site myself instead of using an online host it is a bit more complicated than I am familiar with.  It is taking a little longer than I had hoped, especially as I have post ideas stirring in my brain.  I think I may be launching it anyhow, with improvements to come as I learn how to do the things I’d like to do.  So keep your eyes peeled over the next few days and I’ll see what I can do!

As always, thank you merci for your continued support and your friendship and enthusiasm.  It has been a great ride made all the better having shared it with you.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 10:07 pm

    Again, great reading Andrea. Sad to hear that Vancouver is not looking like an Olympic city but if is stunning place anyway without all the bunting.

    Don’t forget about Glasgow in 2014.

    The Commonwealth Games will be in Scotland and I encourage all Blue Jackets and others to consider signing up to volunteer. The ‘Friendly Games’ are just that and I guarantee we will welcome the Commonwealth with open arms and Glasgow will put on a fantastic event.

    Glasgow 2014 – http://www.glasgow2014.com/

  2. March 25, 2010 10:20 pm

    Looking forward to the new blog surprises! Cheers!!

  3. Norman Zeer permalink
    March 26, 2010 12:11 am

    Woo Hoo! Vancouver 2010 will live on in many-a-heart, to be remembered as 1 country, a nation & a city that embraced people from all corners of the World to enjoy!

    Congratulations to all of the ‘blue jackets’ on a great job!

    Now to await the new blog,

    Norman

  4. March 26, 2010 5:35 am

    Its been a bit like Christmas these last few months; opening up your blog each day and finding new writing gifts and wonderful pictures to view. We can all hardly wait for the new blog to start. As usual, thank you so much for sharing with us.

  5. Eric P permalink
    March 26, 2010 8:20 am

    Headline 2012;
    Spirit of Vancouver 2010 takes hold in the UK!
    Blue Jackets suspected!

  6. Elaine permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:52 am

    Thanks for sharing all your adventures before and during the games..
    Looking forward to your new blog too!!

  7. March 26, 2010 1:49 pm

    Hey Andrea,

    Thanks Andrea for all your insight and stories…it was great!
    Thanks too for helping promote the Pacific Pin club and hoping I didn’t create a monster with your pin collecting venture…
    For many that are going thru PODS in regards to Pin Collecting and trading come and join us at the Capital Hill Community hall this coming weekend March 27th and 28th…East Hastings at Howard Ave. in North Burnaby from 10 am till 4 pm both days. All are welcome to come Trade, Buy and even Sell….Hope to see you Andrea too!!!

  8. Lisa permalink
    March 26, 2010 10:02 pm

    Hi Andrea! I thought I would share with you a couple of things I have done/plan on doing to commemorate my Olympic experience. During the Games, I tied red and white ribbons on branches of our front yard maple tree – one for each athlete. They are now stuffed into a glass jar on my kitchen window sill with a label attached, explaining their history. I topped it off with a frill from a small piece of loose scrim that I managed to coax off a security guard at Thunderbird Arena. I’m also planning to make a huge collage of our favorite Olympic photos, draped with my red mittens on a string on one side, and my “You Gotta Be Here” lanyard full of pins on the other side.
    I look forward to your continued blogging – keep up the great work!

  9. May 7, 2010 6:14 pm

    Still great to read your blog after so much time has passed after the Olympics. I was the same as you, getting caught up on everyone’s blogs after the Olympics were over. I’m still so sad that it is all done however I’m confident there will be more Olympic memories coming. I miss all of you, Vancouver and the Olympics.
    Hope to see you all again sometime in the future. I for one would be very happy to get a 2012 full time or volunteer position. 😉

  10. Sarah permalink
    January 23, 2011 12:28 am

    I have been so happy to read your blog, after the fact, for the past half a year and that’s wonderful that you plan to be in London too!
    I understand about the sadness you felt in seeing everything be taken down (Love your Dr Suess tribute btw) but the memory goes on and I think it will live in the hearts of everyone who experienced it.
    I’m aware I’m on the last page and halfway through it, so it’s my turn to be sad!
    You have given me the best account of how it was during Vancouver 2010, and for that I’m very grateful. You’ve also given me great info and links for me to see when I get over there, so thankyou for that too!
    Thanks Andrea!

Leave a comment