Skip to content

121 days to go – Vancouver 2010 Workforce Uniforms (good thing I like blue)!

October 13, 2009

The Vancouver 2010 Workforce uniforms were revealed today.  I had thought that the group of ~700 volunteers that they had invited to see them would be essentially the first to see them, however everyday I learn more about the media and press.  Today I learned that I was somewhat unsurprised to receive a tweet (sorta like a Facebook status update) including a photo of the uniforms before I’d even arrived at the venue for the reveal!  I was rather disappointed at the time, however, I still had a really great time and learned a lot about the uniforms while I was there!

The Vancouver 2010 Workforce Uniform as modelled by two Vancouver 2010 volunteers (photo from @2010tweets)

The Vancouver 2010 Workforce Uniform as modelled by two Vancouver 2010 volunteers (photo from @2010tweets)

The Vancouver 2010 Workforce uniform will be worn by all staff and volunteers of the Games (yes, Olympic and Paralympic!).  The volunteer package will consist of a waterproof jacket, a warm vest (lots of layering!), two long-sleeve shirts (one plain and one patterned), a pair of pants (either “city” which are relatively light-weight, or “mountain” which are heavier) and a toque!  The jacket is hooded and we were told that the hood is big enough that it will fit over a ski helmet, for the safety of on-course workforce members in ski and snowboard venues.  Also, the jacket and a backpack (an optional extra, available for $50 when you pick up your uniform) convert from “Olympics” to “Paralympics” very quickly and easily!  The front lapel patch of the jacket is velcro-ed on so that you can display either the Olympic or Paralympic logo.  And the design on the back?  Your jacket will come with a snap-on patch to make it Paralympic!  The backpack is similar but you zip off the outer patch to reveal the Paralympic logo below.

@Nobase2010 posted a really great video showing the uniforms and the transition from Olympic to Paralympic design.  You can find it here! Thanks Nobase!  You had a much closer seat than I did!  And video to boot!  You rock!

Here are some more photos of the uniforms (just a reminder, my photos aren’t very good, I was much too far from the stage, but they’ll give you an idea of the fun we all had!).

Close-up of the design of the patterned shirt - photo from @2010tweets

Close-up of the design of the patterned shirt - photo from @2010tweets

Jacket, toque and mountain pants

Jacket, toque and mountain pants

Jacket, vest, toque, mountain pants and backpack.

Jacket, vest, toque, mountain pants and backpack.

Jumping for joy!

Jumping for joy!

Grand finale - including some uniforms of "Olympics Past"! From the left, in yellow - Montreal 1976, with the cowboy hat - Calgary 1988, t-shirt and hat - Atlanta 1996, purple jacket - Salt Lake City 2002 (I think...), in orange - Torino 2006, then Vancouver 2010 (except for the Aussie out of place on the right, from Sydney 2000 :) ).

Grand finale - including some uniforms of "Olympics Past"! From the left, in yellow - Montreal 1976, with the cowboy hat - Calgary 1988, t-shirt and hat - Atlanta 1996, purple jacket - Salt Lake City 2002 (I think...), in orange - Torino 2006, then Vancouver 2010 (except for the Aussie out of place on the right, from Sydney 2000 🙂 ).

The whole crew of models.

The whole crew of models.

The backpack, ready for the Paralympics!

The backpack, ready for the Paralympics!

Thanks so much to Doug and Maryanne (I’m sorry if I got Maryanne wrong… I think I’m close, but can’t quite be sure right now, my brain is getting fuzzy!) for saving me a seat!  Sorry I didn’t get to join you there, but I really appreciate your effort!  I look forward to seeing you in the Olympic Superstore again!  Remind me I owe you a pin for your thoughtfulness!

I met a lot of wonderful people tonight.  Including people volunteering at Pacific Coliseum, people in transport, and others at the Olympic Athlete’s Village.   I think everyone had a really great time and I know we’re all looking forward to wearing our Vancouver 2010 Workforce Uniforms with pride and a really big smile on our faces!  Sorry to the volunteer models for not remembering your names!  I tried but really should have written them down.  If you know someone in one of my photos, please comment and leave their name for everyone to see!

Less than four months until Vancouver 2010 officially begins (17 Mondays as they count at VANOC!).  Besides seeing the uniforms, I also got my volunteer schedule for the Vancouver Olympic and Paralympic Athlete’s Village!  And training is supposed to be coming soon!  Things are starting to happen.  I can feel the excitement starting to build!  I truly believe we’re about to have the time of our lives!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Beau permalink
    December 26, 2009 5:27 pm

    Hey there! I just found your blog and I think it’s great. I just got my assignment last week so I have a lot of steps to do before my position starts in just 4 weeks! What do the different colored sleeves mean? I see yellow, purple, green??

  2. bandgeek permalink
    January 4, 2010 11:18 pm

    hey, for 2010 tourch relay volunteers in the communities where the torch is visiting, what type of uniform do security people and ambassadors wear? or do they even get a uniform?

    Thanks

  3. Ivan permalink
    January 18, 2010 4:50 pm

    The Colors are for the different venues and jobs i do believe. I know the venue part is correct.

  4. Natty permalink
    February 13, 2010 11:00 am

    I love the blue/green backpacks! Is there anyway for non-volunteers to purchase them? They don’t seem to be online at the Vancouver Olympic Store.
    You’re so lucky to be a part of it all!

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 13, 2010 1:39 pm

      Hi Natty,
      Thanks for commenting! I’m afraid that the backpacks are only for sale to Vancouver 2010 volunteers and workforce, however if you have a friend that is volunteering you may be able to have them buy one for you.

      Cheers!
      Andrea

  5. Gold1 permalink
    February 13, 2010 7:09 pm

    Hey.

    I was wondering if it is possible to purchase those jackets from anywhere!
    They are very nice!

    Thanks

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 13, 2010 9:14 pm

      Sorry, the jackets are for Workforce only at this point, though after the Olympics some people may be willing to part with theirs.

      Happy Olympics!
      Andrea

  6. Andrew Perham permalink
    February 16, 2010 7:29 pm

    I like the hats.
    Is it possible for me to buy one?
    Email me please.

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 17, 2010 9:26 am

      Hi Andrew,
      I’m afraid that the workforce uniform hats are not available to the public at this point. However, if you know some volunteers or workforce members you may be able to trade for one.
      Hope that helps, and happy Olympics!
      Andrea

      • Andrew Perham permalink
        February 23, 2010 3:22 pm

        Is there anyway I can unofficially purchase one from you though?

  7. Rick permalink
    February 25, 2010 2:13 pm

    I have a men’s large OBSV uniform I’d like to trade for a volunteer’s full men’s large uniform and backpack. Any takers??

    • 2010vanfan permalink
      February 25, 2010 9:35 pm

      I don’t have what you’re looking for, but maybe someone will… Hmm…

      I’m hoping to trade a Province of BC jacket for a Team Uniform. Hope I have some luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for 121 days to go – Vancouver 2010 Workforce Uniforms (good thing I like blue)! « 2010VanFan [2010vanfan.ca] on Topsy.com
  2. 4 days 17 hours to go – Vancouver in the mist… « 2010VanFan
  3. 8 hours to go – Patti’s Run « 2010VanFan

Leave a comment